New Game Mechanics (Expansion 5)
An Infantry unit with two or more blocks that occupies any building, walled garden or walled farm hex at the start of the turn, and is ordered to move out of that hex, may leave a Garrison in the hex. One infantry block is taken from the pool of blocks not deployed in the scenario, and is placed on the building hex along with a Garrison marker showing the proper side face up, either French or Coalition. The departing Infantry unit does not lose a block in order to create the Garrison.
A qualifying Infantry unit may form multiple Garrisons during the course of a scenario.
A Garrison block is treated like an Infantry unit for all game purposes with the following exceptions:
• A Garrison block may not move.
• A Garrison block will battle with 1 die. Command and Tactician cards, however, can modify its battle dice.
• A Garrison block does not receive any National modifiers.
• A Garrison block is eliminated if forced to retreat.
• A Garrison block, when eliminated, does not count as a Victory Banner.
• A friendly unit may enter a Garrison hex. When the unit enters, the Garrison marker and Infantry block are removed.
The entering unit does not gain a block when the Garrison is removed.
Important Note: A Garrison marker and Infantry block, by definition, will occupy a hex. Therefore, a Garrison marker and Infantry block occupying a hex will fulfill a victory objective condition that requires a building, walled garden or walled farm to be occupied by an army.
NOTE: Additional rules clarifications from Richard Borg, 2015-05-21:
• A Garrison marker can not move, but it need a corresponding command card order to battle
• Basic terrain rules do apply (in- and outside) to determine the number of battledice, when a Garrison block is battling and when a Garrison block is being attacked
• A Garrison marker is hit on range with INF and FLG symbol and in melee additional with the XSW symbol. Note, also units which usual don´t hit in melee with XSW, hits a Garrison marker with XSW.
• A Garrison marker can never ignore a flag result of any reason
• A friendly Leader can attached to a Garrison marker
• A Garrison Marker can´t provide support other units (to ignore flags for those units)
Q: "An Infantry unit with two or more blocks that occupies any building, walled garden or walled farm hex....."
Whats the meaning of building, include this all kinds of town hexes? And what´s about fieldworks?
A: Buildings include all kind of town hexes, but not fieldworks.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - November - 18)
Q: Can a unit retreat or retire&reform onto a hex which is occupied by a friendly garrison?
A: A friendly unit may not retreat or retire and reform onto a hex with a Garrison Marker. A Garrison Marker occupies a hex and therefore will block a unit’s retreat.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 05- 16)
When an army has two or more Artillery units in adjacent contiguous hexes, the units may be ordered to battle as a Grand Battery. The Artillery units in a Grand Battery may target the same enemy unit in ranged combat and will roll all their battle dice at the same.
• Each ordered Artillery unit, in the Grand Battery, determines the number of battle dice it will roll in the range combat including any terrain reductions.
• An Artillery unit must have range and have a clear line of sight to the enemy unit that is being targeted.
• An Artillery unit, on a hill, may not fire as part of a Grand Battery, if it must fire over the heads of a friendly unit on a lower adjacent hex.
• An ordered Horse Artillery unit that moves may not fire as part of a Grand Battery.
After the battle dice are determined for each Artillery unit in the Grand Battery, the dice are added together, and all the dice are rolled together at the same time. If the number of allowed dice exceeds the number of dice you have, roll the dice and record the
number of hits and flags. Then roll for the remaining number of allowed dice. Add the number of hits and flags to the first dice roll and apply all to the targeted enemy unit.
Leader Casualty Check—Addition to Core Game Rule
With the Generals, Marshals &Tactician rules, a Leader alone in a hex, may now be targeted in ranged combat (targeting in melee combat has always been allowed). When a Leader is alone in a hex, the attacking enemy unit rolls its normal ranged battle dice. Two saber symbols rolled will score a hit and eliminate the Leader. If the Leader is not hit, the Leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes. Flags rolled against the Leader have no effect on the unattached Leader.
Generals, Marshals & Tacticians—Command Cards
The new deck of 90 Generals, Marshals & Tacticians Command cards has not gone through any major changes. For the most part, players will be very familiar with the Command cards. Updates to the deck mainly focus on how the Command cards work in conjunction with the new deck of Tactician cards.
- A Scout card, instructs a player, at the end of his turn, to draw one Tactician card.
- An Elan card, instructs both players, at the end of the turn, to draw one Tactician card.
- The Elan card also instructs players to shuffle both decks, the Command cards and Tactician cards with their discard piles to form new decks.
- The Give Them Cold Steel card, instructs a player, at the end of his turn, to draw one Tactician card.
- A La Grande Manoeuvre card, instructs a player, at the end of his turn, to draw one Tactician card.
- A Leadership card, instructs a player, at the end of his turn, to draw one Tactician card.
- A Rally card, instructs a player, at the end of his turn, to draw one Tactician card.
- The “First Strike” and “Short Supply” cards formerly in the Command deck have now been moved to the Tactician deck.
NOTE: Rules/FAQ for First Strike and Short Supply (which are now a part of the tactician deck) remain the same, no changes. It is just a reminder.
Richard Borg, June, 11 - 2015
Take Command (New Cards)
Take Command Any Section, Left, Center, and Right, are six new Command cards.
When a Take Command card is played, the card will issue orders to units under one Leader’s command. The Leader and units on up to 3 adjacent, linked, contiguous hexes to the Leader are ordered. When a Leader is attached to a unit, the unit is also ordered as long as the Leader remains with the unit. A Leader may move away from a unit he is attached with, but the unit would not be ordered.
Take Command Left, will order a Leader on the left flank.
Take Command Center, will order a Leader in the center.
Take Command Right, will order a Leader on the right flank.
Take Command Any Section, will order a Leader in any section.
Units that are ordered in adjacent, linked contiguous hexes may be in different sections of the battlefield, as long as each ordered unit is adjacent to at least one other ordered unit, and at least one of the ordered units is adjacent to the designated Leader.
Command Card Future Concepts
The Leader of Honor concept, found in the text of all Take Command cards, is a concept reserved for a later expansion. Likewise, the Corps Command star symbols, printed on some Command cards is a concept reserved for La Grande Battle scenarios.
Tactician cards add an element of suspense and will challenge players to coordinate their use in a timely manner. Players may soon realize that Tactician cards, and how they relate to the battlefield Leaders, are going to be some of their most precious assets. In terms of game play, Tactician cards represent Leader actions and Napoleonic happenings or unit abilities. These cards may hinder the opposing army, enhance a player’s units, or may instantly change the course of a battle.
The number of Tactician cards, each player will take at the start of a battle, is indicated in the scenario notes. For official scenarios created prior to this expansion, players must refer to the Commander Tactician Rating Reference Card. The reference card has a comprehensive listing of all Commands & Colors Napoleonic scenarios released to date. Each scenario has the Army Commander’s Tactician rating which is equal to the number of Tactician cards a player’s Army starts with in the battle.
At the end of the player’s turn, the player will draw one Tactician card, when the Command card played instructs a player to draw a Tactician card. There is no limit to the number of Tactician cards a player may hold.
NOTE: A player, who plays a Tactician card during his or the opponent’s turn, does not immediately replenish his Tactician card hand. Replenishment of Tactician cards is only done at the end of a player’s turn when the Command card played instructs a player to draw a Tactician card.
Players must observe a number of simple, but critically important rules when bringing a Tactician card into play.
• A Tactician card must always be played when indicated. Some cards may be played out of turn, during the opponent’s game turn, or in reaction to one of his actions or card play.
• When playing a Tactician card, place it in front of you at the appropriate time (possibly in reaction to one of your opponent’s actions), and read it aloud.
• A player may play as many Tactician cards during a turn as desired, but only one card may be played on any given lone Leader, unit with an attached Leader or unit during a turn.
• In case of contradiction, between the effects of two Tactician cards played in succession, the second card trumps the effect of the first one.
• In case of conflict, between the basic rules in this book and a Tactician card, the rules of the card take precedence.
• Terrain movement and battle restrictions will always apply, unless stated otherwise on the Tactician card.
• During a player’s turn, when a Command card containing the words ‘Equal to Command’ is played, the player counts only Command cards. Tactician cards are not counted.
Tactician card Default Action
All Tactician cards have a default action. Instead of using the text on the Tactician card, the default action of a Tactician card allows a player to discard a Tactician card after all combat is completed, but before drawing a new Command card, and reposition a Leader up to 3 hexes. Terrain restrictions still apply when the Leader is moved.
Tactician Card Additional Notes
Charge if Charged
Play this card after your opponent declares a Cavalry melee against your Cavalry unit, but before the dice are rolled. Both units roll their melee dice and battle at the same time. Resolve hits simultaneously and then retreats simultaneously. If the ordered attacking unit is not eliminated or retreats it may breakthrough, if eligible.
NOTES: A Charge if Charged Tactician card may be played any time your opponent declares a Cavalry melee against one of your Cavalry units, not just when an enemy Cavalry unit is ordered by a Cavalry Charge card. The words ‘Charge if Charged’ in the title of the Tactician card are for historical effect only.
In the possible situation, where one of the Cavalry units must retreat, but its path is occupied by units (friend or foe), an enemy Leader, impassable terrain or the edge of the battlefield and the unit cannot retreat, one block is removed for each hex the unit cannot retreat.
In the possible situation, where, both Cavalry units must retreat, but one unit’s path is occupied, preventing the unit from retreating, one block is removed for each hex a unit cannot retreat, prior to either unit actually completing any of its retreat movement.
In the possible situation, where, both Cavalry units must retreat, and both units’ paths are occupied, preventing these units from retreating, one block is removed for each hex the unit cannot retreat, prior to either unit actually completing any of its retreat movement.
Infantry Forward Leader
An ordered Infantry unit with an attached Leader, may move 1 additional hex more than its ordered movement. The unit may still battle, if eligible.
An ordered Infantry unit may normally move 1 hex and battle, but when an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is played on the unit with an attached Leader, the unit may move 2 hexes and battle. When an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is played on a light Infantry unit with an attached Leader, the unit may move 2 hexes and battle or has the option to move 3 hexes and not battle.
An ordered Infantry unit, with an attached Leader, when ordered by a “Bayonet Charge” Command card may normally move up to 2 hexes and melee, but when an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is played on the unit with an attached Leader, the unit may move up to 3 hexes and melee.
An ordered Infantry unit, with an attached Leader, when ordered by a “Force March” Command card may normally move up to 2 hexes and battle, but when an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is played on the Infantry unit with an attached Leader, the Infantry unit may move up to 3 hexes and battle.
An ordered Light, Grenadier or Guard Infantry unit, with or without an attached Leader, when ordered by a “Force March” Command card may normally move up to 2 hexes and battle, but when an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is played on a Light, Grenadier or Guard Infantry unit with an attached Leader, the unit may move up to 3 hexes and battle.
An ordered Infantry unit, with an attached Leader, when ordered by a “La Grande Manoeuver” Command card may normally move 4 hexes and not battle, but when an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is played on the unit with an attached Leader, the unit may move 5 hexes and not battle.
An ordered Austrian Line infantry or Militia Infantry unit is limited to only move 1 hex and battle when ordered by a “Bayonet Charge” or a “Force March” Command card, but when an “Infantry Forward Leader” Tactician card is also played on an Austrian Line infantry or Militia Infantry unit with an attached Leader, the unit may move 2 hexes and battle.
Leader Unit Reform
A unit in an adjacent hex to a friendly Leader, or a unit with an attached Leader that has lost one or more blocks, may attempt to reform before any units are ordered. Roll 2 die, a flag or unit symbol rallies 1 block back to the unit. Unit may not gain more blocks than it had originally.
NOTES: It is important to note that the Leader Unit Reform action takes place before any units are ordered. A unit may therefore reform, but the unit does not have to be ordered on the turn.
Light Infantry Skirmish
An ordered Light Infantry unit, may move up to 3 hexes through friendly units and non-impassable terrain. Unit may perform ranged combat. Terrain battle restrictions still apply. Immediately after conducting ranged combat, the unit may either move back to the unit’s original hex or remain in its current hex.
NOTE: A light Infantry unit that moves will battle with one-half the number of blocks, rounding up or down, depending on the National army. The light Infantry unit may not melee. Other units may battle before and/or after the skirmishing light Infantry unit in the combat phase. However, immediately after the skirmishing light Infantry unit’s ranged combat is completed, the unit must either move back to the unit’s original hex or remain in its current hex.
An ordered Infantry unit, battling an enemy unit or Leader on any non-clear terrain hex, will ignore all terrain combat reductions in melee.
NOTE: An ordered Infantry unit ignores all terrain hex combat reductions, when a “Sapper” Tactician card is played on the unit in melee.
At the end of your turn, discard this card and draw one Tactician card of your choice from the discard pile. The card selected may not be played this turn.
NOTE: A player may look through the Tactician card discard pile prior to playing the “Capable Tactician” card to see what Tactician cards are available. When an Elan card was played, the card decks are reshuffled before the player draws cards. Drawing cards ends a player’s turn.