ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar   tricorne  medieval Support Us

Basic & Battle

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 4.50 (1 Vote)

Battle Back

If you use a First Strike card: "Your defending unit will battle first." Does this mean that the defending unit will not Battle Back, even if eligible to do so?

The defending unit that plays a first strike is not eligible to battle back when it has used a First Strike card to battle first. Each unit may battle only once in same battle, only the order of battle may change because of any special rule or special card.
Note: If a attacker forces to retreat a defender and battle again against the same defender (with a Cavalry Breakthrough e.g.), it´s a “new” battle.

Combined Attack

Can a Combined Arms Combat be declared with a Bonus Attack?

Yes, a Combined Arms Combat may be declared with a Bonus Attack.
It´s possible, to save the battle dice of any ordered Artillery, to support a Cavalry in any attack (initial or breakthrough bonus attack)!

Example: You may support a CAV attack in their first attack with a first ordered ART and support the CAV in their bonus attack with a second ordered ART, or you support only one of this attacks.

Guerilla Marker

If a French player’s command card is canceled with a successful Guerrilla Marker, may the canceled Command card be counter attacked by the Spanish player?

The Spanish player may play a Counter Attack Command card and use the canceled Command card.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - July - 16)

If the spanish player uses a successful guerilla action on one Command Card, which allows a player also to draw a tactician card, can the player(s) still draw a TC at the end of turn or are this also canceled?.

When a guerrilla action is successful, the French player’s Command card is discarded along with the drawing of a Tactician card.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - November - 11)

 A successful Guerrilla Marker cancels the (french) players turn, but how affect a successful GM marker any TC`s?
Especially TC´s which can be played "additional" or "at the turn end" as
Call Forward Reserves, Capable Tactician, Leader Bonus Orders, Leader Unit Reform, Short Supply e.g.
Can i play/use these cards, also if the normal command card is canceled with a Guerrilla Marker?

Actually the way the Spanish Guerrilla Action rules are written, a successful action will nullify all French orders being issues on a given turn after the French player plays a Command card, but before the French player orders units.
It may seem that some of the Tactician cards, you are asking about, when read literally, could still be played even after a successful Guerrilla Action. For simplicity sake, I feel it is better to not allow any Tactician cards to be played on the turn after a successful Guerrilla Action.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - December- 16)

Garrison Marker

"An Infantry unit with two or more blocks that occupies any building, walled garden or walled farm hex....."
Whats the meaning of building, include this all kinds of town hexes? And what´s about fieldworks?

Buildings include all kind of town hexes, but not fieldworks.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - November - 18)

Can a unit retreat or retire&reform onto a hex which is occupied by a friendly garrison?

A friendly unit may not retreat or retire and reform onto a hex with a Garrison Marker. A Garrison Marker occupies a hex and therefore will block a unit’s retreat.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 05- 16)

Grand Battery

Does a Grand Battery need only 1 order for the complete GB or an order for each single ART in the GB?

Each Artillery unit in a Grand Battery needs to be given order. One or more artillery units, when ordered as a Grand Battery, may only engage in ranged combat. For simplicity sake and to avoid a list of exceptions and possible clarifications, a Grand Battery may not combine its dice in melee.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - March - 27)

 

Square

The basic rules states, that no command card or other special rule increase the dice number of a cavalry unit, which attacks the square. But what is about the new Tactician Cards, it´s nothing in the exp. 5 rules?

Nothing increase the 1 battle die, which a cavalry unit has against a square, this includes also any benefits of the new Tactician cards.

Does a Lancer Cavalry get a reroll against a Infantry in square, if he roll a flag with its die?

Yes - A lancer unit will reroll a flag when attacking a square (including flags of combined attack)
(Richard Borg; 2018 - 06 - 24)

Can a Cavalry, which attacks an Infantry in square formation, ignore the bouncing flag with an "Iron Will" marker?

The bouncing flag is a permanent basic rule and cancels ALL rules, which may ignore a flag.
For example: Supporting Units; Attached Leaders; Unit own skills and
all other special rules we have already as "Iron Will" or we get still in future (and if there is once a rule in future, which would allow it, then the rule would state it explicit)

I understand that when a Cavalry unit initially engages an Infantry unit and the Infantry unit chooses to form square that it gets the first shot in the ensuing melee.
What about later melees initiated by the Cavalry if the two combatants remain adjacent? Simply put, does an Infantry square always get the one die roll first against cavalry?

Yes. An infantry unit in square will battle first against a cavalry unit in all melees. Exception: when an infantry square is ordered to attack a cavalry unit, a First Strike card may be played on the cavalry unit and the cavalry unit would attack the square first.
(Richard Borg; 2018 - 06 - 24)

May an infantry unit in square with enemy cavalry in an adjacent hex be issued an order and, if another friendly unit chases the pinning enemy cavalry away during the Combat phase, may the ordered infantry in square immediately come out of square and battle with its full allotment of dice?

No. Coming out of square happens during the orders phase. An infantry unit that is ordered to come out of square may move and/or battle normally. An infantry unit coming out of square that does not move may conduct ranged combat without any movement battle dice reduction.
(Richard Borg; 2018 - 06 - 24)

"Has the basic rules of a square, "While an infantry unit is in square it may not move", always survival, indifferent of a played Command or Tactician card, or can i move a unit into square with a Tactician Card “Leader Order a Fall Back, Call Forward Reserves” e.g?

”Units in sqare can´t move” is a permanent basic rule, which can never changed with any existing or upcoming rules (cards, special unit or nation rules e.g.)
(Richard Borg; 2015 - November - 24)

Taking Ground

Can a unit, which moved onto a fordable river (or forest/town or another terrain, which "stops" movement), take ground after a sucessfull battle ?

No. As the rule is written, A unit or leader that enters a Forest, Town, Fordable River (or any similar other) hex must stop and may mov no further on that turn. Taking ground is not possible after a unit enters a Forest, Town, Fordable River hex.
This includes also any Take Ground or Cavalry Breakthrough, if an unit moves onto a lone leader hex, see the movement rule “A unit may move onto occupied by a friendly leader when the leader block is alone in a hex. The unit must stop and move no further on that turn. The leader is considered attached to the unit.”
Richard Borg, 2017-12-14

Sequence of drawing Command & Tactician Cards

The rules don´t state any sequence of drawing command and tactican cards. So it´s possible, drawing first any Tactician Cards and then any Commannd Cards and keep the Command Card(s), which fit best to the TC. Is this action right and allowed ?

There is really no rule to the order of how cards are to be drawn. Our group draws all the cards and decides what Command Card to discard after the Tactician Card is seen.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 09- 25)

Print Email

Log in to comment


Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #3167 2 years 11 months ago
Some important clarifications about Tactics Cards and Squares
www.boardgamegeek.com/article/21190932#21190932

Random Quote

There are certain things in war of which the commander alone comprehends the importance. Nothing but his superior firmness and ability can subdue and surmount all difficulties.~Napoleon