319 Wagram - Macdonald’s Square (6 July 1809)

More
10 years 2 months ago #1484 by Michalxo
Ok, that makes perfect sense now, after Mark's explanation. Exactly as I understood previously.
Thank you Mark and Bayernkini :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 1 month ago #2750 by Superman
Two questions came up during play concerning Macdonald's formation that I did not see addressed in this forum. 1) taking ground and 2) short supply.

1) Can units in the formation take ground after a successful battle? If so, do all the other units in the formation also get to move again at this time?

2) If Macdonald’s unit is short supplied is the entire formation also short supplied? If only Macdonald’s unit is sent back to the base line then I take it the formation no longer exists.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 1 month ago - 9 years 1 month ago #2751 by Bayernkini
1. Units may take ground only if the basic rules allow it, so only this unit, which battles a successful melee.
Scenario specific: The unit, which want take ground, may not break/leave the formation voluntary with this additional movement. So the unit may only take ground here, if it´s still in formation after that move.

2. Only one unit may short supplied. If MacDonalds own unit is short supplied, then the formation of the other units is broken, until MacDonald (and/or his unit) move again into formation.


And the complete MacDonald rule is indeed a unlucky one, makes to much troubles ;)

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 9 years 1 month ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 1 month ago #2752 by Mark-McG

Superman wrote: 2) If Macdonald’s unit is short supplied is the entire formation also short supplied? If only Macdonald’s unit is sent back to the base line then I take it the formation no longer exists.


I concur with Bayernkini's post, with this addition;
MacDonald's square relies upon the existence of MacDonald, so if McDonald (and attached unit) are short supplied, then for the purposes of considering his Square, it is calculated from MacDonald's location.

So in this instance, if MacDonald moved to the base line, all other units might be detached, but other adjacent LN might join the new square. So the square still 'exists' as long as MacDonald does, even though it may have 0 units.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img][/img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #5818 by anaxam
The scenario says

Permanent Victory Banner Turn Startl

but the FAQ says

It´s a Temporary Victory Banner Objective Hex

.
Last edit: 5 years 1 month ago by anaxam.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #5821 by g1ul10
It's temporary, according to the FAQ.

BGG: g1ul10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #5822 by anaxam
of course but the scenario needs to be change.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #5824 by Bayernkini

of course but the scenario needs to be change.


Scenario notes fixed.

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 2 months ago #6448 by kostas63
Vittoria Austriaca 7-3. Lo scontro inizia bene per i francesi: la fanteria di Durutte avanza fino al paese di Aderklaa sbaragliando ogni resistenza austriaca meno la milizia che resiste con accanimento. Anche il "quadrato" di McDonald avanza con fierezza e conquista Sussenbrunn ma la risposta dei granatieri austriaci si fa sentire subito pesantemente. La battaglia volge ben presto in favore degli austriaci e la stessa morte del gen. McDonald pone fine allo scontro.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 5 months ago #6936 by LARS
A very unusual battle. Macdonald moved left oblique to protect his left flank and utterly destroyed the Austrian left and center. The Austrians had abysmal cards. The game was only close due to a productive charge by some Austria light cavalry. French win 6-4... 7-4 if one counts Prochaska who fell on the last roll.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 1.573 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum