002 Bunker Hill (17 June 1775)


Historical Background
In the early stages of the American Revolutionary War, General Gage, the British commander in chief in Boston, planned to seize the Charlestown peninsula, but before he could act, on the night of 16th June 1775, Continental troops occupied Breed’s Hill and Bunker Hill and began to build a redoubt on Breed’s Hill. The next day, the presence of the Continental troops was observed by His Majesty’s Ship Lively, which opened fire on the position. With Major General Howe in command, plans were hurriedly put in motion to attack the Continental troops. Howe landed his forces on the southern shore of the peninsular and at once directed his light infantry to attack the section of Continental line along the Mystic River. The light infantry column was repelled with heavy casualties. The General then ordered a frontal assault on the redoubt with the main body of troops. It was also repulsed with significant British casualties. The third attack finally succeeded in capturing the redoubt and the colonists retreated to Cambridge over Bunker Hill, leaving the British in control of the Peninsula.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history?
Putman should be Putnam
Battle Notes
Continental Army
• Commander: Prescott
• 5 Command Cards & 3 Combat Cards
British Army
• Commander: Howe
• 5 Command Cards & 3 Combat Cards
• Move First
Victory
6 Victory Banners
Special Rules
• Opening Cannonade rules are in effect. The British player, during the opening cannonade and when playing a Bombard Command card, may fire the ship “Lively” and attack with 1 die against a unit on Breed’s hill or on a unit in Charlestown.
• The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of his turn, when there is no Continental units occupying a section of the battlefield.
• The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of his turn, for each Breed’s hill hex occupied.
Additional Explanation: A hex with a dotted line is considered as a center section hex for purposes of determining whether there are no Continental units occupying a section of the battlefield. (French and More Expansion, see Page 8)
Q: Is ranged fire from the “Lively” considered artillery fire for terrain effects purposes?
A: NO. HOWEVER, UNLIKE FOR OTHER RANGED FIRE, TERRAIN PROVIDES NO PROTECTION AGAINST RANGED FIRE FROM THE “LIVELY”. (RB)
Q: Does the “Lively” fire with two additional dice when a Bombard Command Card is played?
A: NO, IT FIRES WITH 1 DIE AS THE SPECIAL RULE FOR THE SCENARIO INDICATES.
Q: Does the “Lively” need a Line of Sight to fire?
A: NO, IT CAN FIRE AGAINST ANY HEX OF BREED’S HILL OR CHARLESTOWN AS THE SPECIAL RULE FOR THE SCENARIO INDICATES.
For the Opening Cannonade rule it is not clear if the attack of the Lively must be added to the normal Opening Cannonade of the Artillery, but I suppose yes.
Regards,
Mi®ko
The British regulars advanced enmasse led by their generals and eventually took the American redoubts on Breed's Hill and held it. 3 British regular units were reduced to single bases by the time victory was secured but they had managed to withdraw these into support positions to protect them.
An enjoyable scenario to play mainly because the British must attack and the Americans just need to shoot, reinforce from the base edge units if they can and just hold on for as long as possible.
I have a question about the ship which can make artillery fires upon the town and Bunker Hill :
It is said in the description of the scenario that it fires at one dice and be activated by Bombardment card (and during opening cannonnade);
So, does the ship has 2 extra dices when playing Bombardment ?