Scenario Gohrde

More
3 years 2 months ago #7032 by ANDRE
Scenario Gohrde was created by ANDRE
The question arose: RB when targeting a lone leader will give two sabers, will it be? 
1)  only RB damage, and the leader stands still
2)  RB damage and the leader is killed 
3)  RB damage and the leader must dodge 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago #7033 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Scenario Gohrde
I think #2 for the following Reasons;
the unit rules are clear that two Swords is a hit on the RB unit
the leader casualty rules are clear that two swords on a ranged attack kill the leader
neither rule indicates only one can occur, so both would apply

happy to see an official response though

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img][/img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago #7034 by ANDRE
Replied by ANDRE on topic Scenario Gohrde
New unit RB (Expansion 5) 
Historical Note: in addition to being unpredictable in flight,  rockets were prone to explode upon launch (the owning players Rockets Battery takes one hit when the two rocket dice rolled are both sabers)  ====from this note my opinion will be option N1 
​​​​​​

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago - 3 years 2 months ago #7036 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Scenario Gohrde
Ok, answer is here, and refers to this exact wording of the Rocket Battery rules
"An ordered Rocket Battery unit, which does not move, may target an enemy unit 5 or fewer hexes away in any direction."


Simple answer is by rule a Rocket Battery can only target units.
A lone leader is not a unit.Therefore a player cannot order his Rocket Battery to target a lone leader.

Richard Borg, 2021-02-28
 

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 3 years 2 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Hawkmoon, RiverWanderer, ANDRE

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago #7039 by RiverWanderer
Replied by RiverWanderer on topic Scenario Gohrde

Bayernkini wrote: Ok, answer is here, and refers to this exact wording of the Rocket Battery rules
"An ordered Rocket Battery unit, which does not move, may target an enemy unit 5 or fewer hexes away in any direction."


Simple answer is by rule a Rocket Battery can only target units.
A lone leader is not a unit.Therefore a player cannot order his Rocket Battery to target a lone leader.

Richard Borg, 2021-02-28



 

Clear enough, when pointed out but I hope that this opening statement is over-ridden for Close Combat by the subsequent rule "In melee a Rocket Battery follows the same rules as a Horse Artillery unit.", Things could get a bit strange otherwise.

It doesn't matter much for a unit in only 1 obscure scenario but I wonder if this unit will appear in the Toulouse and/or Waterloo scenarios in the La Grande Battles expansion.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ANDRE

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago - 3 years 2 months ago #7040 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Scenario Gohrde
I don´t know, if a lone Leader will ever attacked in melee by a Rocket Battery, because he will sure move away before the battle.
So i think, this is possible in a rating of 0,2%.

 

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 3 years 2 months ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 2.301 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum