Coming out of square

More
9 years 8 months ago #390 by Oleg
Coming out of square was created by Oleg
Played yesterday on Vassal and got the following situation:
My cavalry was standing near infantry in square, while other enemy infantry was deployed on 2 hex distance from cavalry.
My opponent played "Fire and Hold" card and ordered both infantry units. At first unit "not in sq" fired and made my cavalry to retreat (2 flags). Than he took square marker off from his unit and announced ranged combat.
As I understand rules, it is not possible - coming out of square is reform and it may be done only before battle phase. So even when cavalry which "holds" unit in square retreats or eliminates during battle, infantry must wait till next turn to "free" itself.
But my opponent told me "where can I read this?" and I wouldnt able to find direct instruction in rulebook.

So what do you think?

If you want to win the fight, say - "I believe!"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #391 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Re: Coming out of square
Coming out of Square happens during "order" phase.
That means, if at start of turn is any CAV adjacent, this/these square can´t unsquare during complete players turn!

Second, a unit which want unsquare, need a order of the command card too!

In your example, the unit couldn´t unsquare, because, at start of turn a CAV was adjacent AND this unit got no order!

Here the official answer of R.B. on BGG

boardgamegeek.com/thread/601664/timing-o...coming-out-of-square

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Oleg

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #392 by Oleg
Replied by Oleg on topic Re: Coming out of square
Thanks, Bayernkini.

Infantry in sq recieved order in described situation, from that point everything's ok.

If you want to win the fight, say - "I believe!"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #393 by Freeloading-Phill

Oleg wrote: Infantry in sq recieved order in described situation, from that point everything's ok.


In the situation as originally described the infantry receiving an order was also an error.

Fire and Hold can only orders units that are not adjacent to infantry.

Fire and Hold card wrote: Ordered units may not be adjacent to enemy troops.


Phill

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #396 by Hawkmoon-von-Köln
I thought that an ordered square could get out of the square at the end of the turn if the cavalry wasn't remaining near this square...

We ride the tricycles
of true metal of steel
While others bands play,
we eat happy meal
In the forest of minerals,
The posers we kill !
Nanowar of Steel (Blood of the Queens)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #401 by pascal72
Replied by pascal72 on topic Re: Coming out of square
I thought the same thing too, as this is changing formation and not a move...:S

So, with these clarifications :

- a square may be activated normally at the beginning of a turn (depending on the card's specification..)

- but not for "unsquaring" during this turn, in any cases, if there is an adjacent ennemy cavalry at the beginning of the turn ??

Alea jacta est...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #402 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Re: Coming out of square
Exact

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.753 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:834
  • Latest Member:LarsPeder
  • Total Posts:6781
  • Total Topics:767
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1106
Mark-McG 935
Tarheel 263
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

It should not be believed that a march of three or four days in the wrong direction can be corrected by a countermarch. As a rule, this is to make two mistakes instead of one. ~Napoleon