ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 

Can a Artillery Reposition card be used if there was no battle?

More
2 weeks 14 hours ago #5017 by soul1st
soul1st created the topic: Can a Artillery Reposition card be used if there was no battle?
The situation is this: artillery and cavalry are ordered in the left flank. Cavalry battles first and opponent plays charge when charged. As a result the cavalry must retreat and block los for the artillery. The artillery reposition is played. Is that allowed?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • proyce
  • proyce's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Long time war gamer. Started with all the old Avalon Hill games back in the 60's.
More
2 weeks 14 hours ago #5018 by proyce
proyce replied the topic: Can a Artillery Reposition card be used if there was no battle?
Well, I don't know for sure, but absent further guidance I would play it that the ART unit could move up to 2 hexes using the Reposition card. I think that would also apply if the CAV was bounced by a flag roll from a unit that forms square, and the ART unit was part of a combined arms attack with that CAV unit.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 weeks 4 hours ago #5020 by Bayernkini
Bayernkini replied the topic: Can a Artillery Reposition card be used if there was no battle?
I agree, that the "Reposition" (2nd option) is possible, indifferent if the ART battles or not, because battles are always not mandatory.
But i will cross-check it with Richard.

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 6 days ago #5021 by Bayernkini
Bayernkini replied the topic: Can a Artillery Reposition card be used if there was no battle?
Our thoughts was right and you played it right,

answer from Richard:

........Anyway, we always played that a unit ordered to battle is considered to have battled, not only in the case you point out with the Tactician card, but same thing if a unit was order to fire and the enemy unit retreated due to an earlier combat or was eliminated.

To answer your question specifically, the artillery unit does not have to battle in order to move 2 hexes. If it was ordered to battle and some action caused it not to be able to battle, it is still considered to have battled in reference to the Tactician card.


Richard Borg, 2017-11-29

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Achtung Panzer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.400 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:591
  • Latest Member:derispaka25
  • Total Posts:4985
  • Total Topics:561
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:1
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:1

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1046
Mark-McG 620
Tarheel 257
Achtung-Panzer 171
TheMP 162

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 292
Mark-McG 52
Grambo589 14
Tarheel 13
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

There are in Europe many good generals, but they see too many things at once. I see one thing, namely the enemy's main body. I try to crush it, confident that secondary matters will then settle themselves. ~Napoleon