Fieldwork frontal hexes

More
5 years 2 months ago #2953 by Mark-McG
I've recently encountered a rules interpretation that I hadn't considered before, and the more I think on it, the more reluctant I become to consider it correct.

The Fieldworks rule states

Battle: A Field Works provides protection along the forward facing hex sides.

www.ccnapoleonics.net/Rules/Base-Game/07-terrain.html

Now the question here is how is this defined.
again the rules have

A defending unit will not receive Field Works protection and may not ignore a flag when the enemy unit is not attacking across a hex side with the Field Works (normally this is from a hex directly to the side or behind the Field Works hex sides).

So the implication for ranged fire is that Line of Sight (LOS) is relevant. Where the LOS runs down a hexside, and the hexside meets the ending vertex of a fieldwork, does the unit behind the Fieldwork get a benefit?



So in the example;
Example C is clearly not through a Fieldwork hexside
Example A is the case in point, where LOS runs along the hexside, and LOS is not blocked on either side. The interpretation I question is that because LOS could be traced on the 'other' side, the Fieldworks provide no benefit to the defender.
Example B is the case where one side of the LOS is blocked, and therefore LOS must cross the Fieldworks. I presume that the defender MUST get the benefit of the fieldworks here.

I see that Example A and Example B are similar, and should be treated equivalently, but that isn't a universal view.


The only time in any C&C game I can see this example is BattleCry, which give some examples, but these are much wider in coverage, though worth noting the hex at 2 range directly down the hexside is considered inside the 'front' of a 2 hex fence.



Probably something that needs a Borg clarification, unless there is universal consensus I'm wrong. I note that this would apply equally to Ramparts in C&C Ancients

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago #2954 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Fieldwork frontal hexes
Yes, missing such eplanation graphics as in BC,
so i am not sure, if the CCN fieldworks use the same rules as the
fences in BC.
But request sent, answer will following here soon :)

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago - 5 years 2 months ago #2955 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Fieldwork frontal hexes
Richards response received 5min ago ;)

Mark is right, CCN fieldworks use the same rules as the fences of BC.
Add them to the FAQ.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 5 years 2 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Achtung-Panzer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago #2956 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Fieldwork frontal hexes
Hmm.. that makes it kind of wider than I expected. Even where LOS clearly enters through a non-fieldwork hexside!

The answer none of us expected.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago #2957 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Fieldwork frontal hexes

Hmm.. that makes it kind of wider than I expected. Even where LOS clearly enters through a non-fieldwork hexside!


Well, we have not the full effects of Battlecry to remember now, because
in CCN range fire of INF is only 2 hex (except of RL).

So in most causes we will have then your example A+B.

And only the few games, with british RL you must now remember this clarification of far away hexes
(because fire of ART is not affected by fieldworks)

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Achtung-Panzer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.616 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6655
  • Total Topics:749
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:1
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:3
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 911
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

Remember , gentlemen, what a Roman emperor said: The corpse of an enemy always smells sweet.~Napoleon