break the square

More
5 years 5 months ago #2977 by Bangla
Replied by Bangla on topic break the square
These are all good points, and I totally agree that when the infantry unit has 3-5 blocks, and especially if it has a leader, then just forcing it into square, and ideally keeping it there, is already a result. But, unlike Ney at Waterloo, cavalry should normally be held for the coup de grace ... not always possible I know. But when they can be, and you're looking for those last one or two banners for victory, the infantry are by then often reduced to, say, 2 blocks. Fodder for the cavalry, especially if you can find one without a leader.
Now I would say that even a 2-300 strong reduced battalion of infantry would be able to hold out against cavalry squadrons provided the square was formed in the first place. But in a recent game I deliberately targetted those weaker infantry units - the final victory banners came from reducing a two-block infantry to zero in two turns, and then using breakthrough to eliminate a one-block infantry unit in the rear of it. Neither had a leader, and my opponent had rather fortunately run out of cards for that section!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 5 months ago #2978 by TheMP
Replied by TheMP on topic break the square
Don't forget, a 2 block unit is not just its numerical strength, but also represents its morale as well. Meaning in most cases that a 2 block unit is reaching its max level of punishment whether inflicted or even just its willingness to continue.

However, that said, I think the square rules in CCN 'Basic' (as we might now call it) is about right. Although a cavalry unit may well cause a casualty on a square 50% of time, or 67% if it has no leader, or if it is not an 'ignore flag' type unit. It is also 0% if uphill-downhill and other type an advantage against cavalry.

It also means that it ties up a cavalry unit for sometime indeed if the CAV unit's intent is to eliminate the square rather than freeze it in place to be blasted and/or to remove a card from the opponents hand.

But at this stage, albeit not having used the tacticians cards yet (I will wait for publication), I don't think the CAV need another 'assist' in breaking a square via a tactician card. To me, the balance is about right.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.597 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:845
  • Latest Member:airjudden
  • Total Posts:6901
  • Total Topics:775
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:1
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:2

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1107
Mark-McG 945
Tarheel 263
GG 181
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 313
Mark-McG 83
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

If the art of war were nothing but the art of avoiding risks, glory would become the prey of mediocre minds. I have made all the calculations, fate will do the rest.~Napoleon