ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

07 Phase2 - Order Units and Leaders

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

After playing a Command card, announce which corresponding units or leaders will receive orders. Only those units or leaders that are issued an order may move, battle, or take a special action during this turn. Only one order may be given to each unit or leader during the course of a single game turn.

When a unit or leader is on a hex that is vertically split between the map boards, it may be ordered from either section.

If a Command card issues more orders in a given section of the battlefield than the number of units or leaders in that section, those additional orders are lost.

Figures grouped together on the same hex form a unit. A unit’s most important figure is its standard bearer, which proudly carries the unit’s banner into combat. A standard bearer is always the unit’s last figure to be eliminated. Its elimination marks the defeat of the unit, and the gain of a corresponding victory banner for the opponent.

A leader figure, when alone in a hex, is still considered a unit and in general will follow the rules for unit of his type. An infantry leader (leader figure on foot) will follow the general rules for infantry units, while a cavalry leader (mounted leader figure) will follow the general rules for cavalry units.

A leader figure in the same hex as a friendly unit, is considered to be “attached” to the unit. The leader will behave like and is subject to the same rules and limitations as the unit he is accompanying. An infantry leader may only serve as a leader for an infantry unit, while a cavalry leader may lead an infantry or cavalry unit. The leader and the unit he is with are considered to be a single combined unit for game purposes even though the unit will have two standards, the leader’s standard and the unit’s standard.

•    A leader and the unit he is leading can be ordered together as a single unit at the cost of a single order.
•    A leader must remain with the unit he is leading unless ordered to split from the unit.
•    A leader can be ordered to split from the unit he is leading at the cost of a single order. The unit is not ordered when a leader is given an order and splits from a unit.
•    For the cost of two orders a leader can be ordered to split from the unit he is leading and unit can also be ordered separately.
•    When a leader is ordered and the leader moves and joins a unit, the unit the leader joins is not ordered.
•    A leader may not move, join a unit, and move again with the unit he just joined.

Section Command cards and the Shogun card have a Samurai helmet symbol to remind players that a leader, when with a unit, may be ordered separately and split from the unit he is with. If a Command card does not have a Samurai helmet symbol, a leader may not be ordered to split from the unit he is with.

Print Email

Log in to comment