Retreat from square by cavalry

More
3 years 1 month ago #4923 by Waterloo-Simon
In a recent game (Aspern Essling), a french light cavalry unit attacked an Austrian line battalion which went into battalion MASS. The Asutrians threw a flag and the cavalry bounced off BUT the battalion and the cavalry were on the French edge hex of the board so what happens? The french cavalry was full strength (4 block) unit, does it bounce off, cannot retreat and lose one block but still fight the square? Does it lose a block but not fight eh square as bounced off OR does it retreat along the base line. We did the third option (agreed between us) but interested if any views on this?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4924 by Bayernkini
No personal answers or interpretations here.

A board edge cant left by retreating, so an unit stops on board edge and loose one block FOR EACH hex it doesnt/cant retreat.

If the unit have still one block left (still alive), it may battle then, if it is still in the original hex of the battle start.
If the start hex is the board edge hex, the unit may battle back then.
As i said, its ALL in the rules, sadly i have not the time and the passion, to search and copy all out and paste in here again ;)

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago #4925 by Waterloo-Simon
Thank you for such a gracious answer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.442 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:825
  • Latest Member:Pompeiib1
  • Total Posts:6675
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:2
  • Yesterday Answer:5

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1104
Mark-McG 914
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

God is on the side with the best artillery~Napoleon