ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

Evasion (Unit and Leader evade)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 2.50 (1 Vote)

Unit Evade

How does a War Machine conduct an Evade? May it still Evade if its routes of Evade are occupied by other units?

Because a War Machine is a unit it will follow the rules for evading. -An Evade movement is a 2 hex move towards the unit’s own side of the battlefield. An Evade move of 1 hex is possible and is permitted, but only if it is the only possible hex available. A unit may not Evade if both hexes towards its side of the battlefield are blocked (regardless if friend or foe). Therefore, a War Machine unit like other units that can Evade, must have an evade path, and it may not Evade if both hexes towards its side of the battlefield are blocked.
Remember an evading a War Machine unit, instead of making a move towards the unit’s own side of the battlefield, is removed from the battlefield instead. The war machine crew has escaped and does not count as a Victory Banner.

 

May the attacking unit momentum advance onto the evading enemy's hex if the enemy unit is eliminated by the close combat roll against the evading unit?

No. When the defender announces a unit is going to Evade, the attacking unit may not momentum advance onto the evading enemy's hex even if the evading unit is eliminated.

 

When a unit evades must it always evade toward its own side of the battlefield?

Yes. An evading unit must always move towards its side of the battlefield when making an evade movement.

 

What happens if an evading unit has a lone friendly leader behind it ?
If the evading unit moves onto the leader's hex does the leader automatically attach to the unit and stop the 2nd evade move?

Yes.

 

When an evading unit moves back onto a leader that is alone in the hex is the leader at risk when the attacking unit rolls to hit the evading unit?

No. Hits occur in the hex originally occupied by the evading unit (some of the evading troops simply did not run fast enough). A leader that attaches in the evading unit’s first or second evasion hexes does not roll for a leader check.

 

It says you may evade 1 hex (instead of the normal 2) if one hex is the only hex available?

The edge of the battlefield, blocking units and impassable terrain are situations that will allow a unit to evade 1 hex (instead of the normal 2) and is still a legal evade move.

 

Can a unit evade across a fordable river hex?

Yes. A unit that is making an Evade move, may move through a Broken Ground hex, forest hex and Fordable River hex. The units evade movement is not stopped by these terrain features.

 

Does evading negate leader symbol hits? Or do they still count?

Only symbols that match the evading unit will score a hit when a unit is evading, flags, swords and leader symbols and other unit type symbols will all miss. In addition, If a unit evades an attack from an elephant, since sword rolls "miss," the elephant does not re-roll sword rolls.

 

Can a unit evade off the map?

You cannot evade off the map. Units must have at least one hex to move to when they evade. If they are forced to retreat off the map, they lose one block per hex that they cannot retreat.

 

Leader Evade

Can a leader Evade through a hex containing an enemy leader alone in a hex?

No. A leader must Escape though a hex with a lone enemy leader. An enemy leader when alone in a hex, however, does not roll any dice, so the leaders may escape through the hex with no dice rolls against the him.

 

When a leader cannot evade is he lost?

After a leader survives a leader casualty check, the leader must evade 1, 2 or 3 hexes. The key word in the rule is must. If the leader cannot move back, toward his own side of the battlefield, he is eliminated and counts as a victory banner. Note however, a leader may make an Escape move through enemy units when the enemy occupies his path.

 

The leader evasion rules say that a player can "Choose" evade his leader off the battlefield. But if a leader is in the last row of his side's hexes and is attacked but not hit, wouldn't he be forced to evade at least one hex and off the board?

Yes. The leader is still not counted as a victory banner even though the evasion off the board is forced.

 

Can a helmet symbol on a section Command card be used to move a leader in a different section of the map?

No. To order a leader will cost one order on the section card and therefore must be ordered in the section specified on the order card.

 

Can you order a leader with the order 1 unit of your choice found on some of the Command cards?

No. A Leader when attached to a unit may only be ordered when a Command card with a helmet is played or when the "I Am Spartacus" roll is a leader symbol. A leader when alone in a hex may be ordered when a Command card with a helmet is played or by a Leadership card or when the "I Am Spartacus" roll is a leader symbol.

 

May a leader detach from a unit when a Leadership card is played?

No. Leaders when attached to a unit may only detach when a Command card with a helmet is played (section cards, order mounted) or when the "I Am Spartacus" roll is a leader symbol.

 

Print Email

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.