We came across a novel situation yesterday, where an Elite unit moved 2 hexes and battled. The defending unit used Ambush Combat card, and as a result of the hits taken by the attcking unit, a die roll was made for the Special personnel figure, and it was lost. This made the remaining unit NOT Elite.
We resolved this according to the Combat card, which stated that the unit battled as planned if it didn't retreat or be eliminated.
However, it got me wondering about other timing issues of this situation. e.g. Bombers, LMGs and Flame thrower SP. I would guess that their loss has immediate effect in such situations.
Is there any ruling on this? Simple sequence of events?
"Feed the troops on victory"- Gen. Sir John Monash