Movement: Unit or lone leader that starts on a road hex, moves along on road hexes and ends its movement on a road hex will increase a unit’s ordered movement up to 2 hexes.
Battle: A unit that uses road movement may not battle this turn.
Road Protection: No battle modifiers.
Targeting Enemy on Road: No battle reductions.
Battling from Road: No battle reductions.
Line of Sight: A road hex does not block line of sight.
FAQ Additional Explanation: If a Road runs to and from a Bridge Hex, the Bridge Hex is considered to be part of the Road. (TAR French and More Expansion, see Page 9)
Q: The Road rules indicate "A unit or lone leader that starts on a road hex, moves along on road hexes and ends its movement on a road hex will increase a unit’s ordered movement up to 2 hexes." Can you please elaborate on how to apply this rule?
FIRST LOOK AT WHAT THE UNIT'S ORDERED MOVEMENT IS ON THE TURN.
IF YOU ORDER MOST INFANTRY AN INFANTRY UNIT MOVES 1 HEX.
IF YOU ORDER A LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IT MOVES 1 OR 2 HEXES.
IF YOU ORDER A [LIGHT] CAVALRY UNIT IT MOVES 1 OR 2 HEXES.
IF YOU ORDER A ARTILLERY UNIT IT MOVES 1 HEX.
IF YOU ORDER A LONE LEADER IT MOVES 1, 2 OR 3 HEXES.
AS THE RULE STATES, A UNIT OR LEADER THAT STARTS ON A ROAD HEX, MOVES ALONG ON ROAD HEXES AND ENDS ITS MOVEMENT ON A ROAD HEX WILL INCREASE A UNIT’S ORDERED MOVEMENT UP TO 2 HEXES.
KEY WORDS ARE ORDER MOVEMENT AND INCREASE.
INCREASE MEANS INCREASE, SO THE 2 HEXES OF ROAD MOVE POSSIBLE IS IN ADDITION TO A UNIT'S OR LEADER'S ORDERED MOVEMENT ON THE TURN.
THERE ARE COMMAND CARDS THAT CAN ORDER A UNIT TO MOVE MORE THAN ITS BASIC MOVEMENT RATE, SO THIS AMOUNT WOULD BE THE UNIT'S ORDERED MOVEMENT ON THE TURN AND COULD BE INCREASED ON A ROAD. (RB)