ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

Combat Cards

Combat cards add an element of suspense to a game and will challenge players to coordinate their use in a timely manner. In the Tricorne - American Revolution core game there is a deck of Combat cards for each army, British and Continental. These cards represent a mix of unit training, abilities or unexplainable actions that take place during the course of a battle. Many Combat cards allow ordered units to move and/or battle in ways not normally allowed in the basic rules. Combat cards will apply to all units or leaders on the same side. In other words, British Combat cards can be played on the British army allies and Continental Combat cards played on Continental army allies.
The number of Combat cards each player will take at the start of a battle is indicated in the scenario’s battle notes.
At the end of the player’s turn, when the Command card being discarded instructs a player to draw Combat cards, the player will also draw Combat cards. There is no limit to the number of Combat cards a player may hold.

Note - A player, who plays a Combat card during his or the opponent’s turn, does not immediately replenish his Combat card hand. Replenishment of Combat cards is only done at the end of a player’s turn, when the Command card played instructs a player to draw a Combat card(s).

Players must observe a number of simple, but critically important rules when bringing a Combat card into play:
• A Combat card must always be played when indicated. Some cards may be played out of turn, during the opponent’s turn, or in reaction to one of the opponent’s actions or card play.
• When playing a Combat card, place it in front of you at the appropriate time (possibly in reaction to one of your opponent’s actions), and read it aloud.
• A player may play as many Combat cards during a turn as desired, but only one card may be played on any given unit, a lone leader or a unit with an attached leader, during a turn.
• In case of contradiction, between the effects of two Combat cards played in succession, the second card trumps the effect of the first one.
• In case of conflict, between the basic rules and a Combat card, the rules of the card normally will take precedence.
• Terrain movement and terrain battle restrictions will always apply to a Combat card, unless stated otherwise on the Combat card.
• Combat cards are not counted, when a Command card containing the words ‘Equal to Command’ is played, the player counts only Command cards.

Combat card Default Action

Instead of using the action text on the Combat card, after all turn actions are completed, but before drawing a new Command card, the Combat card may be discarded and a friendly leader may reposition (move) up to 3 hexes as the Combat card’s default action. Terrain restrictions still apply when the leader is making a reposition move. A leader may only reposition one time by a Combat card’s default action.

Play in lieu of a Command card

A player instead of playing a Command card on a turn can play a Combat card that states “play in lieu of a Command card”.
• Units that are ordered by this Combat card may still have another Combat card played on it during the turn.
• At the end of the turn the player does not draw a new Command card.
• A “play in lieu of a Command card” Combat card may not be counter attacked by the opponent.

Additional Combat Card Notes

Infantry Retire and Reform
• The defending player must announce that the unit being attacked is going to retire and reform before the player’s attacking unit rolls it’s melee dice.
• If there are not two hexes for the unit to move back, the unit may not retire and reform.

Continental Rally
• The card may be used to rally and return blocks to more than one unit.

 

 

Print Email

Log in to comment

Random Quote

Our properties within our own territories [should not] be taxed or regulated by any power on earth but our own. ~~~ Thomas Jefferson ~~~

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.