Retreat and Rally Checks (Jacobite Rising)

Retreat

After all combat hits have been resolved in a ranged combat and/or a melee combat and blocks removed, retreats are resolved. For each retreat flag rolled against a unit, the unit must make its retreat movement towards its own side of the battlefield. Two flags will force the unit to make two retreat movements, etc.

  • Grenadier, regular and highland infantry units and artillery units, retreat 1 hex for each flag.
  • Lowland infantry and cavalry units, retreat 2 hexes for each flag.
  • Militia infantry units, retreat 2 hexes for each flag.

The player controlling the retreating unit decides which hex the unit retreats onto, using the following rules:

  • A unit must always retreat toward its controlling player’s side of the battlefield, regardless of what direction the attack came from.
  • A unit may not retreat toward the opponent’s side of the battlefield or sideways.
  • A unit may not retreat onto, or through a hex already containing another friendly unit or an enemy unit or enemy leader.
  • An attached leader must retreat along with the unit it is with when the unit retreats.
  • A unit, without an attached leader, may retreat onto a hex that contains an unattached friendly leader (a leader alone in a hex). The leader is immediately attached to that unit and the unit’s retreat stops in the leader’s hex. The retreating unit will ignore any additional retreat movement.
  • Terrain that is not impassable has no effect on retreat movement.
  • Impassable terrain features will prevent a unit’s retreat movement.

Unit must Retreat, but Cannot

When a unit cannot retreat, because its retreat path is occupied or it would be forced to retreat off the limits of the battlefield, one block must be removed from the unit for each retreat hex of movement that cannot be completed. After loses are  removed from the unit, the unit must make its rally check, even if the unit did not retreat from its original hex.
Note - A unit, that remains in its hex and makes a successful rally check, may battle back in melee.

Bolster Morale

Some situations will allow a unit to disregard one or more flags rolled against it. Disregarding a flag result is optional and the owning player may always decide to accept a flag result. If more than one flag result can be ignored, the owning player can choose to ignore one (or more) and accept one (or more). A unit may choose to disregard flags rolled against it each time it is attacked.

If more than one of the following bolster morale situations applies, the effects are cumulative:

  • A unit may ignore 1 flag when a leader is attached to the unit.
    If the unit loses one or more blocks in combat, the leader must first survive the leader casualty check for the unit to ignore the flag.
  • A unit may ignore 1 flag when there are two supporting friendly units occupying any two adjacent hexes.
    Four adjacent units will not allow a unit to ignore 2 flags.
  • A leader alone on a hex does not count as a friendly support, instead when a leader is alone on a hex, all adjacent friendly units without a leader may ignore 1 flag.
  • A grenadier infantry unit may ignore 1 flag.
  • When a highland unit starts a combat phase at full strength, it may ignore 1 flag. When at full strength and during a combat the unit receives a hit and 1 flag, the highland unit may ignore the one flag. The next combat after taking the hit, the highland unit may not ignore a flag.
  • Some terrain features will allow a unit defending on the terrain to ignore 1 flag: see “Terrain” rules section.

Key Rule - A unit may only ignore a maximum of 2 flags during a single combat roll.

Rally Check

A unit that retreats must make one rally check after it completes its total retreat movement. The rally check will determine whether the retreating unit will rally and remain on the battlefield or will continue to retreat and rout off the battlefield.

Procedure - After the unit completes all of its retreat movement, determine and roll the proper number of dice for the unit’s rally check. When at least one flag is rolled, the retreating unit has rallied and will remain on the battlefield.

If the unit fails to roll a flag, the unit will break and rout from the battlefield. A unit that fails its rally check is removed from the battlefield, which gains the opponent a Victory Banner. 

To determine the proper number of rally check dice to roll; the number of blocks currently in the unit is the base number of dice rolled for the rally check. This number is adjusted as followed:

  • A full strength unit (four blocks), rolls 1 additional die.
  • A unit with an attached leader, rolls 1 additional die.
  • A Grenadier infantry unit, rolls 1 additional die.
  • A Lowland infantry unit, rolls 1 less die.
  • A Militia infantry unit, rolls 1 less die.
  • When a cavalry melee combat causes an enemy infantry or artillery unit to retreat, the retreating unit will roll 1 less die. When a cavalry unit battles back or uses a First Strike, Ambush card and causes an enemy infantry or artillery unit to retreat, the retreating unit will not roll 1 less die.

Key Rule - A unit will always roll at least one die when making its rally check.

Leader with Unit that Fails its Rally Check

A leader that is attached to a unit that fails its rally check must determine if the leader will remain on the battlefield or will also panic along with the unit that failed its rally check and also rout from the battlefield.

Procedure - Roll 2 dice, when a flag is rolled, the leader is not swept away with the unit. The leader remains on the battlefield, but must retreat 1, 2 or 3 hexes from the hex where the unit failed its rally check. If a flag is not rolled, the leader will also panic along with the unit and is removed from the battlefield. The leader that is removed will count as a Victory Banner.
When a leader is swept away with the unit and removed from the battlefield, before the leader block is actually removed, all friendly units on adjacent hexes to the leader must make a rally check. The player controlling these units will choose the order the units will check.

Retire and Rally Check when attacked in melee

A Cavalry unit that is being attacked in melee combat may retire and rally instead of standing and possibly battling back. After the unit makes it’s retire and rally movement of 2 hexes toward its side of the battlefield, the unit must roll a rally check. Determine the proper number of dice to roll and add 2 additional dice to the unit’s rally check. When at least one flag is rolled the unit that retired and rallied will remain on the battlefield. If the unit fails to roll a flag, the unit will break and run in panic from the battlefield. A unit that fails the retired and rallied check is removed from the battlefield and gains the opponent a Victory Banner.
If a leader is with the unit that fails its retired and rallied check, the leader must also check if he will remain on the battlefield or panic and also be removed from the battlefield. After a unit retires and rallies, the attacking unit may advance onto the vacated hex, but the attacking unit may not gain a bonus melee combat, even if the unit that retired and rallied is eliminated or failed its rally check.

Lone Leader’s Retreat

Lone Leaders retreat somewhat differently then units. When a lone leader retreats, the leader block must follow the following rules:

  • A leader’s retreat movement is 1, 2, or 3 hexes back towards its controlling player’s side of the battlefield. The player who controls the leader determines the number of hexes the leader block will move, and the path it will take as it retreats.
  • A leader does not have to make a rally check after completing a retreat move.
  • A leader may retreat through a hex that contains a friendly unit, a friendly unit with a leader or a lone friendly leader.
  • A leader may not end his retreat movement in a hex that contains another friendly leader, an enemy unit or enemy leader.
  • A leader may retreat onto a hex with a friendly unit and may stop as long as the unit does not already have an attached leader. The leader is then considered attached to the unit.
  • A leader retreating through a unit’s hex does not affect the unit.
  • Terrain that is not impassable has no effect on a leader’s retreat move.
  • Impassable terrain will prevent a retreat movement, and a leader unable to retreat at least one hex due to impassible terrain will be eliminated. In this case, the opponent gains one Victory Banner when the leader is eliminated.
  • A player may choose to retreat a leader off his baseline side of the battlefield. This saves the leader from becoming a Victory Banner for the opponent, but will lose a strong command piece by doing so.
  • When a leader is alone in a hex and is attacked in ranged or melee combat, when the leader is not eliminated, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes.
  • A leader, attached to a unit that retreats, must retreat to the same hex as the unit.
  • When a leader is attached to a unit and the unit loses its last block by ranged or melee combat, if the leader is not eliminated on the leader casualty check, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes, from the hex where unit was eliminated.
  • A leader attached to a unit that loses its last block because the unit cannot retreat does not require a leader casualty check, but the leader must retreat 1, 2 or 3 hexes from the hex where the unit was eliminated.
  • A retreating leader may retreat through an enemy unit or leader, but this is governed by the rules for leader escape: see “Lone Leader Escape” rules section.

Lone Leader Escape

When enemy units occupy both leaders’ retreat path hexes, the retreating leader must attempt to escape through one or the other enemy occupied hexes. Move the leader onto the enemy hex and the enemy unit in the hex will battle the leader. The unit combating the leader uses its normal number of melee combat dice. The leader does not benefit from terrain in the hex. When one or more saber symbols are rolled, the leader is hit and eliminated, even from a unit that normally does not score a hit on a saber roll in melee combat. The opponent gains one Victory Banner when the leader is eliminated. If the leader is not hit, his escape is successful and he continues with his retreat move. A lone leader will escape without a roll though a hex occupied by a lone enemy leader.

Leader Casualty Check

Key Rule - The opposition player will always roll for your Leader’s Casualty check.

Attached Leader: When a leader is attached to a unit and the unit loses one or more blocks without being eliminated, there is a chance that the leader may also be hit. The opposition player will make a leader casualty check by rolling 2 battle dice. To hit and eliminate the leader, two saber symbols must be rolled.

Attached Leader’s Unit Eliminated: When a leader is attached to a unit and the unit loses one or more blocks, eliminating the unit and leaving the leader alone in the hex, the opposition player will make a leader casualty check with 1 battle die. To hit and eliminate the leader, a saber symbol must be rolled. If the leader is not eliminated, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes.

  • A leader does not have to make a rally check when he retreats.
  • When a unit is eliminated, any flags rolled against the eliminated unit will not affect the leader.
  • When the leader is on a friendly baseline hex and must retreat, the leader must retreat off the battlefield. A leader that retreats off the battlefield does not give the opponent a Victory Banner.
  • When a leader’s unit is eliminated in melee combat and the leader is also eliminated or retreats from the hex, the attacking unit may take ground onto the vacated hex and may gain a bonus melee if eligible.

Leader Eliminated: When a leader is hit and eliminated, remove the leader block from the battlefield and collect a Victory Banner. However, before the leader block is removed, a unit in the same hex as the leader and all friendly units on adjacent hexes to the eliminated leader must make a rally check. The player controlling these units will choose the order the units will check.

Rally Check Special Situation - When a leader is eliminated and the unit the leader was with must also retreat, the unit must first make a rally check because the leader was eliminated before it makes its retreat movement. When the unit’s rally check is successful, the unit will then make its retreat move. The unit in this special situation will not have to make a second rally check after the unit’s retreat movement is completed.

Leader Casualty Check Special Situation - A Leader Casualty Check is not required when a leader is attached to a unit and when the unit retreats it loses all its blocks because it cannot complete its retreat movement. The leader does not make a Casualty Check, but must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes from the hex where the unit was eliminated.

Combat Against a Lone Leader

A leader alone in a hex may be targeted in ranged and melee combat.

Range Combat: To target a leader alone in a hex in ranged combat, the attacking enemy unit rolls its normal ranged battle dice. Two saber symbols rolled will score a hit and eliminate the leader. If the leader is not hit, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes. Flags rolled against the leader have no effect on the unattached leader.

Note - A lone leader may not be targeted in ranged combat when rolling less than two dice. Also note, sabers normally will not score a hit in range combat, however, firing at a leader alone in a hex is an exception to this rule.

Melee Combat: When a leader is alone in a hex, the attacking enemy unit rolls its normal melee battle dice. One or more saber symbols rolled will score a hit and eliminate the leader, even from a unit that normally does not score a hit on a saber roll in melee combat. If the leader is not hit, the leader must retreat 1, 2, or 3 hexes. Flags rolled against the leader have no effect on the lone leader. When a leader retreats from the hex, the attacking unit may take ground onto the vacated hex and may gain a bonus melee if eligible.

Leaders Abilities Summary

  • A leader attached to an infantry or cavalry unit inspires the unit to combat with 1 additional die in ranged and melee combat.
  • A leader attached to artillery unit inspires the unit to combat with 1 additional die in melee combat only.
  • Leaders on the same side can be attached to any units on their side.
  • A lone leader in a hex is considered to fulfill the adjacent contiguous hex requirement for a number of Command cards.
  • After a successful melee combat, successful melee combat means, the enemy unit is either eliminated or retreats and no longer occupies its hex, an infantry unit with an attached leader may advance onto the vacated hex (take ground) and may make a bonus melee combat. Terrain movement and combat restrictions still apply.
  • A leader attached to a unit allows the unit to ignore one flag.
  • A leader that is alone on a hex, allows all friendly units without a leader on adjacent hexes, to ignore one flag.
  • A unit that is retreating, may move onto a hex with a lone leader and the unit must stop in the leader’s hex and will retreat no further. The unit will still need to make a rally check, but the unit will now have the leader to modify its rally check.
  • A unit that chooses to retire and rally when attacked in melee, may move one hex onto a hex with a lone leader and the unit must stop in the leader’s hex and will retire no further. The unit will still need to make a rally check, but the unit will now have the leader to modify its check.
  • A lone leader that retreats, does not have to make a rally check.
  • A leader may escape (retreat) through enemy units and leaders that are occupying his retreat path.
  • A player may choose to retreat a leader off his baseline side of the battlefield.

 

Print Email

Log in to comment

Random Quote

Our properties within our own territories [should not] be taxed or regulated by any power on earth but our own. ~~~ Thomas Jefferson ~~~

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.