Complete Compilation of Known Q&A and Errata - 28 Nov 2018

Posted in FAQs

Complete Compilation of Known Q&A and Errata
Command & Colors: Tricorne – The American Revolution (Core Game)
Command & Colors: Tricorne – The American Revolution – the French and More (French and More Expansion)
Compiled by Jim Dauphinais (with special thanks to Chas59)
11/28/2018
All entries appended with “(RB)” were directly provided by Richard Borg.
All remaining entries have been reviewed and approved by Richard Borg.

CORE GAME
Units and Leaders (Pages 5 through 8)
Q: Does the Highland Charge +1 die bonus require the Highlander Unit to actually move into a new hex (it needs the momentum) or not?
A: NO. AN ORDERED HIGHLAND UNIT DOES NOT NEED TO MOVE TO GAIN THE HIGHLAND CHARGE +1 DIE. (RB)

Q: Does the Highland Charge Bonus +1 die just cancel the -1 die for moving into a new hex unless the Highlander does not move to make his melee attack or is there something special about Highland Charge that I am missing?
A: WHEN AN ORDERED HIGHLAND UNIT MOVES BEFORE MELEE, THE CHARGE BONUS +1 DIE IS REDUCED BY THE -1 DIE FOR MOVING. (RB)

Q: We know that the Highland Charge Bonus does not apply to a Bonus Melee Combat. Does the -1 die penalty for entering a new hex apply in this case?
A: YES. (RB)

Q: If a full strength Highland unit takes more than one hit from a single battle result, can it still ignore 1 flag from that same battle result?
A: YES. A FULL STRENGTH HIGHLAND UNIT ALWAYS IGNORES 1 FLAG REGARDLESS OF THE NUMBER OF HITS IT TAKES. (RB)

Q: Can German Leaders attach to British units? Can British Leaders attach to German units? Can a lone German Leader allow an adjacent British unit to ignore a flag? Can a lone British Leader allow an adjacent German unit to ignore a flag?
A: THE ANSWER TO ALL OF THESE QUESTIONS IS YES. THIS THINKING APPLIES TO ALL UNITS AND LEADERS ON SAME SIDE. SAME THINKING WILL APPLY TO THE FRENCH LEADERS AND UNITS AND CONTINENTAL UNITS AND LEADERS IN THE [FIRST] EXPANSION. (RB)

Opening Cannonade (Page 8)
Q: After the "Opening Cannonade" the rules say the artillery units can stay where they are or go back two hexes. We played that while this seems cut and dried (2 or 0), the British and German Light Artillery could, in this Bemis Heights case, go back just ONE hex to join the leaders positioned behind each of them, i.e., we treated this special "retire and rally" as if it happened during a normal game turn. Is this allowed?
A: NO. THE HISTORY BEHIND THE OPENING CANNONADE ARTILLERY RETIRE MOVEMENT IS THAT NORMALLY ARMIES DEPLOYED THEIR ARTILLERY IN FRONT OF THE MAIN BATTLE LINE AT THE START OF A BATTLE. AFTER A FEW SHOTS, THE MAIN BATTLE LINE WOULD BE ADVANCING SO IT WOULD NOW BE FORWARD OF THE ARTILLERY. THE ARTILLERY RETIRE MOVEMENT AFTER THE CANNONADE SOMEWHAT ACCOMPLISHES THIS SAME IDEA. (RB)

Q: Combat Cards cannot be played during the Opening Cannonade, correct?
A: COMBAT CARDS CANNOT BE PLAYED DURING OPENING CANNONADE. (RB)


Melee Combat (Page 13)
Q: When a [infantry] unit [that is subject to the -1 melee die penalty for movement] "takes ground" and
makes a Bonus Melee Combat, does the movement into the newly won hex force it to take the -1 [melee]
die penalty for moving into a new hex? Does taking ground count as moving?
A: YES. SEE TAKING GROUND PAGE 16 - THE VICTORIOUS ATTACKING UNIT MAY ADVANCE (MOVE) ONTO THAT VACATED HEX. THIS IS REFERRED TO AS TAKING GROUND. (RB)


Q: Is "retreat movement" (p.13 and 14) also considered to be movement for the purpose of applying the -1 die modifier for moving infantry units?
A: NO.
THE ACTIVE PLAYER IS THE PLAYER TAKING HIS TURN. THE RULES FOR THE ACTIVE PLAYER'S TURN SEQUENCE ARE EXPLAINED AFTER PAGE 9 FOLLOWING THE "PLAYER'S TURN SEQUENCE": PHASE 1 PLAY A COMMAND CARD, PHASE 2 ORDER UNITS, PHASE 3 MOVEMENT, PHASE 4 COMBAT AND PHASE 5 END OF TURN. THE RULES ON THESE PAGES APPLY TO THE ACTIVE PLAYER'S UNITS THAT ARE ORDERED ON THE TURN.
THE OPPONENT IS CONSIDERED THE DEFENDING PLAYER WHEN THE ACTIVE PLAYER IS FOLLOWING HIS TURN SEQUENCE. RULES THAT APPLY TO THE DEFENDING PLAYER, RETREAT AND RALLY CHECKS AND DEFENDING UNIT BATTLE BACK, DON'T EXACTLY FOLLOW THE SAME RULES AS THE ACTIVE PLAYER.
MAINLY BECAUSE DEFENDING UNITS ARE NOT ORDERED TO MOVE, EVERYTHING I HOPE IS CLEARED UP WITH THE FOLLOWING TWO UPDATES:
FOR RANGE COMBAT - PLEASE UPDATE YOUR RULES ON PAGE 11, SECOND COLUMN, BULLET 7 TO READ: REDUCE THE NUMBER OF DICE ROLLED IN RANGED COMBAT WHEN AN INFANTRY UNIT IS ORDERED AND MOVES.
FOR MELEE COMBAT - PLEASE UPDATE YOUR RULES ON PAGE 13, FIRST COLUMN, BULLET 7 TO READ: REDUCE THE NUMBER OF DICE ROLLED IN MELEE COMBAT WHEN AN INFANTRY UNIT IS ORDERED AND MOVES. (RB)


Bolster Morale (Page 14)
Q: For support/bolster morale...two units are enough. What if you have four adjacent friends? Does that double it up or not? Can you or can't you apply any of them more than once? My hunch is you can apply them all as many times as circumstances allow, but the max=2 kicks in so that it largely doesn't matter.
It's not like you'll have 4 adjacent units very often.
A: SORRY YOUR HUNCH IS NOT CORRECT. YOU MAY ONLY APPLY EACH BOLSTER MORALE SITUATION ONCE. AS THE RULE READS “IF MORE THAN ONE OF THE FOLLOWING BOLSTER MORALE SITUATIONS APPLIES, THE EFFECTS ARE CUMULATIVE.” (RB)

Rally Check (Page 14)
Q: If a unit must make 2 retreat moves, must it roll for Rally twice?
A: THE CORRECT INTERPRETATION IS THAT A RALLY CHECK IS MADE BY A UNIT AFTER ALL OF THE UNIT'S RETREAT MOVEMENT HAS BEEN MADE. (RB)

Retire and Rally (Page 14)
Q: Retire and Rally cannot be used during Battle Back, an Ambush Card play or a First Strike Card play, correct?
A: A UNIT MAY NOT RETIRE AND RALLY WHEN A UNIT IS BATTLING BACK, WHEN BEING AMBUSHED OR WHEN A FIRST STRIKE CARD IS PLAYED AGAINST IT. (RB)

Combat Against a Lone Leader (Page 16)
Q: When determining the normal number of battle dice a unit will roll in ranged combat or melee combat against a lone leader, may the dice be modified in any way, either upwards (more dice) or downwards (fewer dice)?
A: YES, CARDS, IF A UNIT MOVES, ETC. WILL AFFECT THE NUMBER OF DICE ROLLED WHEN TARGETING A LONE LEADER. (RB)

Q: May a lone leader take the benefit of any terrain it is in when it is defending in combat?
A: NO – FIRST LET ME STATE [THAT] TARGETING A LEADER IN RANGE COMBAT AND ROLLING TWO SABERS HAS A VERY LOW PROBABILITY OF HAPPENING. THEREFORE, A LONE LEADER ON A FOREST HEX, OR BUILDING, OR FIELDWORKS IS NOT IGNORING A SABER SYMBOL. ROLLING TWO SABERS WILL STILL HIT AND ELIMINATE A LEADER ON THESE TYPES OF TERRAIN FEATURES. MELEE AGAINST A LONE LEADER IS WAY MORE DEADLY. (RB)

Q: How many battle dice would be rolled in this example and why: An ordered, full-strength Continental Regular unit with an attached leader is conducting ranged combat against a lone British leader two hexes away in a Forest hex under play of a Line Volley card.
A: NUMBER OF DICE ROLL AT A RANGE OF TWO HEXES IS 2 DICE, FULL STRENGTH +1 DIE, ATTACHED LEADER +1 DIE, VOLLEY FIRE +1 DIE.
TOTAL NUMBER OF DICE IT LOOKS LIKE WOULD BE 5 DICE, IF I HAVE THE EXAMPLE CORRECT.
TWO SABER SYMBOLS ROLLED WOULD HIT AND ELIMINATE THE LEADER. IF THE LEADER IS NOT HIT, THE LEADER WILL HAVE TO RETREAT 1, 2 OR 3 HEXES. (RB)

Combat Cards (Page 18)
Q: Does the Infantry Melee Bonus Combat Card apply to only one of a unit's melee attacks (initial melee or bonus melee combat) or can it apply to both the initial melee and any bonus melee?
A: THE INFANTRY MELEE BONUS COMBAT CARD ADDITIONAL DICE ROLLED ONLY APPLIES TO ONE BATTLE. COMMAND CARDS AND COMBAT CARDS ONLY AFFECT ONE ACTION UNLESS STATED DIFFERENTLY ON THE CARD. (RB)

Q: When a Combat Card is played in lieu of a Command Card and a Leader Initiative Combat Card is also played, can a Leader Initiative Combat Card take advantage of any of the bonuses on the Combat Card that has been played in lieu of a Command Card?
A: NO. THE LEADER INITIATIVE COMBAT CARD STATES THAT ANY COMMAND CARD BONUS WILL NOT APPLY TO THIS ORDERED UNIT. (RB)

Q: Can Combat Cards, including those that must be played alongside of a Command Card, be played when you choose to play a Combat Card in lieu of a Command Card?
A: YES. PAGE 18 - UNITS THAT ARE ORDERED BY A PLAY OF A “IN LIEU OF A COMMAND CARD” COMBAT CARD MAY STILL HAVE ANOTHER COMBAT CARD PLAYED ON IT. (RB)

Q: The Continental Combat Card "Liberty or Death" indicates at its end "you may choose to Reshuffle both card decks and their discard piles or not." By “both decks", does it mean just the Command Card Deck and the Continental Combat Card Deck, or also the British Combat Card Deck?
A: BOTH DECKS REFERS TO BOTH TYPES OF CARD DECKS COMMAND AND THE COMBAT CARD DECKS FOR BOTH SIDES. (RB)

Terrain – Buildings (Page 20)
Q: Do we ignore a "symbol hit" (including sabers) on melee into a building hex, or just a "unit symbol hit?
A: GOOD CATCH - THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CLEARER. THE RULES LEFT OUT A KEY WORD “UNIT” SYMBOL FOR A NUMBER OF TERRAIN FEATURES.
A UNIT ON A BUILDING HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED AND MELEE COMBAT.
A UNIT ON A FOREST HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED COMBAT.
A UNIT ON A FIELD WORKS HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED COMBAT
EXCEPT FROM ARTILLERY RANGED COMBAT.
A UNIT ON DIRECTLY BEHIND A STONE FENCE IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED COMBAT EXCEPT FROM ARTILLERY RANGED COMBAT. (RB)

Terrain - Roads (Page 22)
Additional Explanation: If a Road runs to and from a Bridge Hex, the Bridge Hex is considered to be part of the Road. (French and More Expansion, see Page 9)

Q: The Road rules indicate "A unit or lone leader that starts on a road hex, moves along on road hexes and ends its movement on a road hex will increase a unit’s ordered movement up to 2 hexes." Can you please elaborate on how to apply this rule?
FIRST LOOK AT WHAT THE UNIT'S ORDERED MOVEMENT IS ON THE TURN.
NORMALLY
IF YOU ORDER MOST INFANTRY AN INFANTRY UNIT MOVES 1 HEX.
IF YOU ORDER A LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IT MOVES 1 OR 2 HEXES.
IF YOU ORDER A CAVALRY UNIT IT MOVES 1 OR 2 HEXES.
IF YOU ORDER A ARTILLERY UNIT IT MOVES 1 HEX.
IF YOU ORDER A LONE LEADER IT MOVES 1, 2 OR 3 HEXES.
AS THE RULE STATES, A UNIT OR LEADER THAT STARTS ON A ROAD HEX, MOVES ALONG ON ROAD HEXES AND ENDS ITS MOVEMENT ON A ROAD HEX WILL INCREASE A UNIT’S ORDERED MOVEMENT UP TO 2 HEXES.
KEY WORDS ARE ORDER MOVEMENT AND INCREASE. INCREASE MEANS INCREASE, SO THE 2 HEXES OF ROAD MOVE POSSIBLE IS IN ADDITION TO A UNIT'S OR LEADER'S ORDERED MOVEMENT ON THE TURN. THERE ARE COMMAND CARDS THAT CAN ORDER A UNIT TO MOVE MORE THAN ITS BASIC MOVEMENT RATE, SO THIS AMOUNT WOULD BE THE UNIT'S ORDERED MOVEMENT ON THE TURN AND COULD BE INCREASED ON A ROAD. (RB)

Bemis Heights Scenario (Page 24)
Q: In the first Bemis Heights Scenario, Acland is shown incorrectly with a light blue star. However, my sources show that he (John Dyke Acland) was not German and that none of the troops on the British side in that scenario should be German. During the early part of Bemis Heights (which the scenario covers), Poor attacked British troops led by Acland including British Grenadiers, not German troops.
A: ACLAND SHOULD BE A BRITISH LEADER (RED STAR) AND THE GRENADIER UNIT COULD BE A COMBINATION OF BRITISH AND GERMAN GRENADIER INFANTRY. USE THE BRITISH GRENADIER BLOCKS IF ONE PREFERS. REPLACING THE BLOCKS TO RED WILL NOT CHANGE THE PLAY OF THE SCENARIO. (RB)

Bunker Hill Scenario (Page 25)
Additional Explanation: A hex with a dotted line is considered as a center section hex for purposes of determining whether there are no Continental units occupying a section of the battlefield. (French and More Expansion, see Page 8)

Q: Is ranged fire from the “Lively” considered artillery fire for terrain effects purposes?
A: NO. HOWEVER, UNLIKE FOR OTHER RANGED FIRE, TERRAIN PROVIDES NO PROTECTION AGAINST RANGED FIRE FROM THE “LIVELY”. (RB)

Q: Does the “Lively” fire with two additional dice when a Bombard Command Card is played?
A: NO, IT FIRES WITH 1 DIE AS THE SPECIAL RULE FOR THE SCENARIO INDICATES.

Q: Does the “Lively” need a Line of Sight to fire?
A: NO, IT CAN FIRE AGAINST ANY HEX OF BREED’S HILL OR CHARLESTOWN AS THE
SPECIAL RULE FOR THE SCENARIO INDICATES.

Q: In the Bunker Hill Scenario, should the Putman be Putnam?
A: YES.

Freeman’s Farm Scenario (Page 26)
Q: In the Freeman's Farm Scenario, who moves first if the players select cards that order the same number of units/leaders.
A: BREAK THE TIE BY ROLLING A NUMBER OF DICE. MOST SABERS ROLLED, CARD IS PLAYED FIRST. (RB)

Bemis Heights (British Redoubts) Scenario (Page 27)
Note: A hex with a dotted line is considered as a center section hex for purposes of determining whether a side has no units occupying a section of the battlefield. (French and More Expansion, see Page 8)

Q: Should the Bemis Heights (British Redoubts) Scenario be dated for 1777 instead of 1775?
A: YES.


Long Island (Grant’s Attack) Scenario (Page 28)
Q: In the Long Island (Grant's Attack) Scenario, should the Correlyou House be the Cortelyou House?
YES.

Monmouth Scenario (Page 30)
Q: In Monmouth, the hedge terrain hexes are treated as a wood fence, correct?
A: THE HEDGE IN MONMOUTH IS TREATED AS A WOOD FENCE. (RB) SEE FRENCH AND MORE EXPANSION TERRAIN EFFECTS CHART.

Q: Browsing through the scenarios, I noticed the Monmouth scenario has Arnold listed as a Continental leader. I have never heard of him being present, and from the positioning, I would have guessed that leader to be Charles Lee. Was Arnold at Monmouth?
A: THE LEADER SHOULD BE LEE NOT ARNOLD. (RB)

Q: In the Monmouth, should "Lesliz" be "Leslie"?
A: YES.

Q: In Monmouth, should “Green” be “Greene”?
A: YES.

Cowpens Scenario (Page 32)
Additional Explanation: The Scout Command Card victory condition for this scenario is considered a Time Pressure Victory Banner Objective. After playing a Scout Command Card, the Continental player at the end of his turn may either: (i) draw 1 Command Card and take 1 Permanent Victory Banner or (ii) draw 2 Command Cards as normal. Taking a Permanent Victory Banner is not allowed if doing so would give the Continental player his final Victory Banner to win the battle. (French and More Expansion, see Page 8)


Q: In Cowpens, should the British Army Commander be listed as “Tarleton” rather than “Cornwallis”?
A: YES, CORNWALLIS WAS NOT PRESENT. 


Q: In the Historical Background for Cowpens, should “Green” be “Greene”?
A: YES.


Guilford Courthouse, Hobkirk’s Hill and Eutaw Springs Scenarios (Pages 33 through 35)
Q: In all these scenarios, should “Green” be “Greene”?
A: YES.

FRENCH AND MORE EXPANSION
Note: In scenarios page 11, 13, and 14, “Green” should be “Greene”.
Rules for Time Pressure Victory Banner Objective are found on Page 8 and apply to all scenarios with a special rule where a player is “racing against time”.

Victory Banner Counters (Page 3)
The yellow Victory Banner Counters are for the German forces.


New Units and Leaders (Page 6)
The British Rifle Light Infantry rules section is not correct. The Unit Reference Chart is correct.
Please update the rule book to read: Unlike other Rifle Light Infantry units, sabers rolled in Melee combat will score hits. (RB)

British Ranger Infantry rules section is not correct. The Unit Reference Chart is correct.
Please update the rule book to read: Movement in Hexes: 1 combat, or 2 hexes when unit moves and can and melee. (RB)

Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) Scenario (Page 11)
Update: In the Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) scenario, the Regular Continental unit on the road in between the two guns is a Light Infantry unit not a Regular. In addition, Opening Cannonade rules are in effect. (RB)

Q: If a single Continental unit is on a Hill Hex on the British side of the Brandywine, can that unit claim two Banners at the same time -- one for being on the British side of the River and one for being on a Hill Hex on the British side of the River?
A: YES. A CONTINENTAL UNIT ON A HILL HEX ON THE BRITISH SIDE OF THE BRANDYWINE WILL COUNT AS TWO BANNERS. (RB)

Springfield Scenario (Page 16)
Note: Unfortunately, the combined tile manifest of the Core Game and Expansion 1 is short one LeftTurnout Road / Left-Turnout River Tile. There are two Left-Turnout Road / Left-Turnout River Tiles in the combined Core Game and Expansion 1 tile manifest. The Springfield Scenario calls for the placement of two Left-Turnout Road Tiles and one Left-Turnout River Tile.
As a temporary patch for the Springfield scenario, take the 2 Left-Turnout Road / Left-Turnout River tiles, place opposite sides of these 2 tiles on a color copier and print. Cut out the printed tile sides. Find a piece of card stock material, the back of a lined paper tablet like kids use in school will work fine and glue one side of each tile onto the card stock material. A glue stick will do the trick here. Cut out the card stock tile and then glue the opposite side to the proper tile. This should serve as a temporary patch until the next expansion. (RB)

Gloucester Raid Scenario (Page 18)
Note: Unfortunately, there is a tile shortage for this scenario as well. However, it is easily fixed for this scenario by replacing the two Two-Hexside Fieldworks Tiles on the British Baseline with Three-Hexside Fieldworks Tiles with the third protected hexside being the hexside between the tile and the British edge of the map.

Q: Are all three Building Hexes within the boundaries of the British Fieldworks considered to be part of the Town of Gloucester?
A: YES. THE THREE BUILDING HEXES WITHIN THE BOUNDARIES OF THE BRITISH FIELDWORKS MAKE UP THE TOWN OF GLOUCESTER. (RB)

Print

Log in to comment


mirkobruner's Avatar
mirkobruner replied the topic: #376 2 months 2 weeks ago
I Have put the errata rules in pdf format if it may help. Ciao!

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.