Complete Compilation of Known Q&A and Errata - 7 Sept 2020

Complete Compilation of Known Q&A and Errata 2.1
Command & Colors: Tricorne – The American Revolution (TAR Core Game)
Command & Colors: Tricorne – The American Revolution – the French and More (TAR French
Expansion)
Command & Colors: Tricorne – Jacobite Rising (JR Core Game)
Compiled by Jim Dauphinais (with special thanks to Chas59)
9/7/2020
The TAR Core Game 12/4/2018 Living Rules can be found at:
https://compassgamesbucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/downloads/CCT_Rules_Final_Living_08-20-19.pdf
The TAR French Expansion 12/4/2018 Living Rules can be found at:
https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/compassgamesbucket/downloads/CCT_EXP1_Rules_Final_Living.pdf
The JR Core Game Published Rules can be found at:
https://compassgamesbucket.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/downloads/Jacobite_Rule-book-FINAL_print3.pdf
All entries appended with “(RB)” were directly provided by Richard Borg.
All remaining entries, except for those marked in double underline, have been reviewed and approved by Richard Borg or are from Compass Games.

BOTH CORE GAMES (Applies to both the TAR and JR Rules)

Units and Leaders (TAR Pages 5 through 8 and JR Pages 6 through 7)
Q: Does the Highland Charge +1 die bonus require the Highlander Unit to actually move into a new hex (it needs the momentum) or not?
A: NO. AN ORDERED HIGHLAND UNIT DOES NOT NEED TO MOVE TO GAIN THE HIGHLAND CHARGE +1 DIE. (RB)
Q: Does the Highland Charge Bonus +1 die just cancel the -1 die for moving into a new hex unless the Highlander does not move to make his melee attack or is there something special about Highland Charge that I am missing?
A: WHEN AN ORDERED HIGHLAND UNIT MOVES BEFORE MELEE, THE CHARGE BONUS +1 DIE IS REDUCED BY THE -1 DIE FOR MOVING. (RB)
Q: Does the -1 die penalty for entering a new hex apply [to Bonus Melee Combat by a Highland unit]?
A: YES. (RB)
Q: If a full strength Highland unit takes more than one hit from a single battle result, can it still ignore 1 flag from that same battle result?
A: YES. A FULL STRENGTH HIGHLAND UNIT ALWAYS IGNORES 1 FLAG REGARDLESS OF THE NUMBER OF HITS IT TAKES. (RB)
Q: Can German Leaders [in TAR] attach to British units? Can British Leaders [in TAR] attach to German units? Can a lone German Leader [in TAR] allow an adjacent British unit to ignore a flag? Can a lone British Leader [in TAR] allow an adjacent German unit to ignore a flag?
A: THE ANSWER TO ALL OF THESE QUESTIONS IS YES. THIS THINKING APPLIES TO ALL UNITS AND LEADERS ON SAME SIDE. [FOR EXAMPLE,] [THIS] SAME THINKING [APPLIES] TO THE FRENCH LEADERS AND UNITS AND CONTINENTAL UNITS AND LEADERS IN THE [TAR FRENCH] EXPANSION. (RB)
Also, see TAR Page 10 and JR Page 11.

Opening Cannonade (TAR Page 8 and JR Page 9)
Q: After the "Opening Cannonade" the rules say the artillery units can stay where they are or go back two hexes. We played that, while this seems cut and dried (2 or 0), the British and German Light Artillery could, in the [TAR] Bemis Heights [scenario], go back just ONE hex to join the leaders positioned behind each of them, i.e., we treated this special "retire and rally" as if it happened during a normal game turn. Is this allowed?
A: NO. THE HISTORY BEHIND THE OPENING CANNONADE ARTILLERY RETIRE MOVEMENT IS THAT NORMALLY ARMIES DEPLOYED THEIR ARTILLERY IN FRONT OF THE MAIN BATTLE LINE AT THE START OF A BATTLE. AFTER A FEW SHOTS, THE MAIN BATTLE LINE WOULD BE ADVANCING SO IT WOULD NOW BE FORWARD OF THE ARTILLERY. THE ARTILLERY RETIRE MOVEMENT AFTER THE CANNONADE SOMEWHAT ACCOMPLISHES THIS SAME IDEA. (RB)

Melee Combat (TAR Page 13 and JR Page 14)
Q: When a [infantry] unit [that is subject to the -1 melee die penalty for movement] "takes ground" and makes a Bonus Melee Combat, does the movement into the newly won hex force it to take the -1 [melee] die penalty for moving into a new hex? Does taking ground count as moving?
A: YES. SEE TAKING GROUND [TAR] PAGE 16 [AND JR PAGE 19] - THE VICTORIOUS ATTACKING UNIT MAY ADVANCE (MOVE) ONTO THAT VACATED HEX. THIS IS REFERRED TO AS TAKING GROUND. (RB)

Rally Check (TAR Page 14 and JR Page 16)
Q: If a unit must make 2 retreat moves, must it roll for Rally twice?
A: THE CORRECT INTERPRETATION IS THAT A RALLY CHECK IS MADE BY A UNIT AFTER ALL OF THE UNIT'S RETREAT MOVEMENT HAS BEEN MADE. (RB)

Combat Against a Lone Leader (TAR Page 16 and JR Pages 17 and 18)
Q: When determining the normal number of battle dice a unit will roll in ranged combat or melee combat against a lone leader, may the dice be modified in any way, either upwards (more dice) or downwards (fewer dice)?
A: YES, CARDS, IF A UNIT MOVES, ETC. WILL AFFECT THE NUMBER OF DICE ROLLED WHEN TARGETING A LONE LEADER. (RB)
Q: May a lone leader take the benefit of any terrain it is in when it is defending in combat?
A: NO – FIRST LET ME STATE [THAT] TARGETING A LEADER IN RANGE COMBAT AND ROLLING TWO SABERS HAS A VERY LOW PROBABILITY OF HAPPENING. THEREFORE, A LONE LEADER ON A FOREST HEX, OR BUILDING, OR FIELDWORKS IS NOT IGNORING A SABER SYMBOL. ROLLING TWO SABERS WILL STILL HIT AND ELIMINATE A LEADER ON THESE TYPES OF TERRAIN FEATURES. MELEE AGAINST A LONE LEADER IS WAY MORE DEADLY. (RB)
Q: How many battle dice would be rolled in this example and why: An ordered, full-strength [Friendly] Regular unit with an attached leader is conducting ranged combat against a lone [Enemy] Leader two hexes away in a Forest hex under play of a Line Volley card.
A: NUMBER OF DICE ROLL AT A RANGE OF TWO HEXES IS 2 DICE, FULL STRENGTH +1 DIE, ATTACHED LEADER +1 DIE, VOLLEY FIRE +1 DIE. TOTAL NUMBER OF DICE IT LOOKS LIKE WOULD BE 5 DICE, IF I HAVE THE EXAMPLE CORRECT. TWO SABER SYMBOLS ROLLED WOULD HIT AND ELIMINATE THE LEADER. IF THE LEADER IS NOT HIT, THE LEADER WILL HAVE TO RETREAT 1, 2 OR 3 HEXES. (RB)

Combat Cards (TAR Page 18 and JR Pages 21 and 22)
Q: Does the Infantry Melee Bonus Combat Card apply to only one of a unit's melee attacks (initial melee or bonus melee combat) or can it apply to both the initial melee and any bonus melee?
A: THE INFANTRY MELEE BONUS COMBAT CARD ADDITIONAL DICE ROLLED ONLY APPLIES TO ONE BATTLE. COMMAND CARDS AND COMBAT CARDS ONLY AFFECTS ONE ACTION UNLESS STATED DIFFERENTLY ON THE CARD. (RB)
Q: When a Combat Card is played in lieu of a Command Card and a Leader Initiative Combat Card is also played, can a Leader Initiative Combat Card take advantage of any of the bonuses on the Combat Card that has been played in lieu of a Command Card?
A: NO. THE LEADER INITIATIVE COMBAT CARD STATES THAT ANY COMMAND CARD BONUS WILL NOT APPLY TO THIS ORDERED UNIT. (RB)
Q: Can Combat Cards, including those that must be played alongside of a Command Card, be played when you choose to play a Combat Card in lieu of a Command Card?
A: YES. [TAR] PAGE 18 [AND JR PAGE 22] - UNITS THAT ARE ORDERED BY A PLAY OF A “IN LIEU OF A COMMAND CARD” COMBAT CARD MAY STILL HAVE ANOTHER COMBAT CARD PLAYED ON IT. (RB)

Terrain – Field Works (TAR Page 21 and JR Pages 25 and 26)
Q: In the Commands & Colors Tricorne - The American Revolution game in the Living Rules dated
12/4/2018 it states that all units receive a unit symbol hit protection from ranged fire when against them
through protected hex sides. However, the previous rules and the game’s Terrain Effects Charts states
ranged fire unit symbol hit protection from field works, is only provided to Infantry and Artillery Units
and never for ranged fire attacks by artillery. Which is correct?
A: SHORT ANSWER IS THAT IN THE LIVING RULES RULE BOOK IS DEAD WRONG.
UNFORTUNATELY, AN INADVERTENT ERROR WAS INTRODUCED IN THE 12/4/2018 LIVING
RULES. THE PREVIOUS RULES AND THE GAME’S TERRAIN EFFECTS CHARTS IS CORRECT,
NOT THE TEXT IN THE 12/4/2018 LIVING RULES ON PAGE 21.
THE CORRECT RULE IS - AN INFANTRY AND ARTILLERY UNIT ON A FIELD WORKS HEX
IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGE COMBAT, OTHER THAN FROM ARTILLERY,
WHEN THROUGH PROTECTED FIELD WORKS HEX SIDES.
STILL MORE UNFORTUNATE IS THE FACT THAT THIS SAME ERROR REGARDING FIELD
WORKS WAS ALSO CARRIED OVER ONTO THE PUBLISHED RULES FOR THE JACOBITE
RISING GAME, PAGES 25 & 26.
THE CORRECT RULE FOR THE FIRST BULLET UNDER FIELD WORKS PROTECTION SHOULD
READ:
• AN INFANTRY AND ARTILLERY UNIT ON A FIELD WORKS HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL
HIT FROM RANGE COMBAT, OTHER THAN FROM ARTILLERY, WHEN THROUGH
PROTECTED FIELD WORKS HEX SIDES. (RB)
Terrain - Roads (TAR Page 22 and JR Page 26)
Additional Explanation: If a Road runs to and from a Bridge Hex, the Bridge Hex is considered to be part
of the Road. (TAR French and More Expansion, see Page 9)
Q: The Road rules indicate "A unit or lone leader that starts on a road hex, moves along on road hexes
and ends its movement on a road hex will increase a unit’s ordered movement up to 2 hexes." Can you
please elaborate on how to apply this rule?
FIRST LOOK AT WHAT THE UNIT'S ORDERED MOVEMENT IS ON THE TURN.
NORMALLY
IF YOU ORDER MOST INFANTRY AN INFANTRY UNIT MOVES 1 HEX.
IF YOU ORDER A LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IT MOVES 1 OR 2 HEXES.
IF YOU ORDER A [LIGHT] CAVALRY UNIT IT MOVES 1 OR 2 HEXES.
IF YOU ORDER A ARTILLERY UNIT IT MOVES 1 HEX.
IF YOU ORDER A LONE LEADER IT MOVES 1, 2 OR 3 HEXES.
AS THE RULE STATES, A UNIT OR LEADER THAT STARTS ON A ROAD HEX, MOVES
ALONG ON ROAD HEXES AND ENDS ITS MOVEMENT ON A ROAD HEX WILL INCREASE A
UNIT’S ORDERED MOVEMENT UP TO 2 HEXES.
KEY WORDS ARE ORDER MOVEMENT AND INCREASE.
INCREASE MEANS INCREASE, SO THE 2 HEXES OF ROAD MOVE POSSIBLE IS IN ADDITION
TO A UNIT'S OR LEADER'S ORDERED MOVEMENT ON THE TURN.
THERE ARE COMMAND CARDS THAT CAN ORDER A UNIT TO MOVE MORE THAN ITS
BASIC MOVEMENT RATE, SO THIS AMOUNT WOULD BE THE UNIT'S ORDERED
MOVEMENT ON THE TURN AND COULD BE INCREASED ON A ROAD. (RB)

JR CORE GAME (Only applies to the JR Rules)
Killiecrankie (27 July 1689) Scenario (JR Page 28)
One terrain tile is slightly hidden from view.
It is 3rd row from top of diagram, 8th hex from left. The terrain under the unit is a HILL tile.
(Paper insert from Compass Games included within the JR game box.)
Note: Hrrand House should be Urrard House.
Falkirk (Stage 1) and Falkirk (Stage 2) Scenarios (JR Pages 37 and 38)
Q: Do the two Falkirk Scenarios take place in January 1746 rather than January 1745?
A: YES.
Government Victory Banners
Note: The red saltire should not be on the Government Victory Banners. The red saltire was not added to
the flag until the Acts of Union 1800.
Jacobite Victory Banners and Combat Card Backs
Note: The yellow cross is not necessarily an error. While it was not commonly used, the colors of the
Appin Stewart Regiment at the Battle of Culloden had a yellow cross. See
https://www.nms.ac.uk/explore-our-collections/stories/scottish-history-and-archaeology/the-jacobite-challenge/the-jacobitechallenge/regimental-colours/
Dice
Q: Why do the dice colors for Cavalry and Infantry not match those shown in the JR rules?
A: [The] Jacobite Rising Dice are correct the rules are wrong on color of cavalry and Infantry [on the
dice].
(Paper insert from Compass Games included within the JR game box.)
8
TAR CORE GAME (Only applies to the TAR Rules)
Combat Cards (TAR Page 18)
Q: The [TAR] Continental Combat Card "Liberty or Death" indicates at its end "you may choose to
Reshuffle both card decks and their discard piles or not." By “both decks", does it mean just the
Command Card Deck and the Continental Combat Card Deck, or also the British Combat Card Deck?
A: BOTH DECKS REFERS TO BOTH TYPES OF CARD DECKS COMMAND AND THE COMBAT CARD DECKS FOR BOTH SIDES. (RB)
Bunker Hill Scenario (TAR Page 25)
Additional Explanation: A hex with a dotted line is considered as a center section hex for purposes of determining whether there are no Continental units occupying a section of the battlefield. (French and More Expansion, see Page 8)
Q: Is ranged fire from the “Lively” considered artillery fire for terrain effects purposes?
A: NO. HOWEVER, UNLIKE FOR OTHER RANGED FIRE, TERRAIN PROVIDES NO PROTECTION AGAINST RANGED FIRE FROM THE “LIVELY”. (RB)
Q: Does the “Lively” fire with two additional dice when a Bombard Command Card is played?
A: NO, IT FIRES WITH 1 DIE AS THE SPECIAL RULE FOR THE SCENARIO INDICATES.
Q: Does the “Lively” need a Line of Sight to fire?
A: NO, IT CAN FIRE AGAINST ANY HEX OF BREED’S HILL OR CHARLESTOWN AS THE SPECIAL RULE FOR THE SCENARIO INDICATES.
Bemis Heights (British Redoubts) Scenario (Page 27)
Note: A hex with a dotted line is considered as a center section hex for purposes of determining whether a
side has no units occupying a section of the battlefield. (TAR French and More Expansion, see Page 8)

Monmouth Scenario (Page 30)
Q: Browsing through the scenarios, I noticed the Monmouth scenario has Arnold listed as a Continental leader. I have never heard of him being present, and from the positioning, I would have guessed that leader to be Charles Lee. Was Arnold at Monmouth?
A: THE LEADER SHOULD BE LEE NOT ARNOLD. (RB)
Q: In the Monmouth, should "Lesliz" be "Leslie"?
A: YES.
Cowpens Scenario (Page 32)
Additional Explanation: The Scout Command Card victory condition for this scenario is considered a Time Pressure Victory Banner Objective. After playing a Scout Command Card, the Continental player at the end of his turn may either:

(i) draw 1 Command Card and take 1 Permanent Victory Banner or

(ii) draw 2 Command Cards as normal. Taking a Permanent Victory Banner is not allowed if doing so would give the Continental player his final Victory Banner to win the battle. (French and More Expansion, see Page 8)
Q: In Cowpens, should the Continental Army Commander be listed as “Morgan” rather than “Tarleton”?
A: YES.
Q: In Cowpens, should the British Army Commander be listed as “Tarleton” rather than “Cornwallis”?
A: YES, CORNWALLIS WAS NOT PRESENT.

TAR FRENCH AND MORE EXPANSION (Only Applies to the TAR French Expansion Rules)
Rules for Time Pressure Victory Banner Objective are found on Page 8 and apply to all scenarios with a special rule where a player is “racing against time”.
Victory Banner Counters (Page 3)
The yellow Victory Banner Counters are for the German forces.
Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) Scenario (Page 11)
Q: If a single Continental unit is on a Hill Hex on the British side of the Brandywine, can that unit claim two Banners at the same time -- one for being on the British side of the River and one for being on a Hill Hex on the British side of the River?
A: YES. A CONTINENTAL UNIT ON A HILL HEX ON THE BRITISH SIDE OF THE BRANDYWINE WILL COUNT AS TWO BANNERS. (RB)
Brandywine (Knyphausen’s Attack) and Brandywine (Greene’s Read Guard Scenarios (Pages 13 and 14)
Q: Both the Knyphausen's Attack Scenario and Greene's Rear Guard Scenario indicate:
“The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on its baseline.”
1. What is the meaning of the sentence "Moving from a baseline hex off the battlefield, counts as one hex of movement to exit" in the French Expansion Breakthrough / Withdraw Victory Banner Objective rule given that "To breakthrough or withdraw, the unit must be ordered and the unit must already be on the opponent’s or his own baseline hex"? It would seem the movement cost to exit the map would be irrelevant since the unit must start on a baseline to exit. Is this sentence an artifact that no longer has meaning?
THE SENTENCE IS THERE TO REINFORCE TO PLAYERS THAT IT IS AN ORDER MOVE OF ONE HEX TO EXIT THE BATTLEFIELD. YOU ARE CORRECT THAT IT IS A REPEAT AND COULD BE ELIMINATED, COMPASS CHOSE TO KEEP IT IN TO REINFORCE THE FACT. (RB)
2. In the two scenarios in question, may a Continental Light Infantry unit that begins in a Continental Baseline hex that is not a Road Hex move into an adjacent Continental Baseline Hex that is a Road Hex and then immediately exit the map.
BY THE DEFINITION THE LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IN YOUR QUESTION HAS FULFILLED THE RULE REQUIREMENTS, WHICH IS SNEAKY, BUT YOUR EXAMPLE DOES FOLLOW THE RULES TO EXIT. ALTHOUGH WE HAVE ALWAYS PLAYED THIS SCENARIO AS THE UNIT TO EXIT, WOULD HAVE TO START ON THE ROAD HEX TO EXIT. (RB)

Gloucester Raid Scenario (Page 18)
Q: Are all three Building Hexes within the boundaries of the British Fieldworks considered to be part of the Town of Gloucester?
A: YES. THE THREE BUILDING HEXES WITHIN THE BOUNDARIES OF THE BRITISH FIELDWORKS MAKE UP THE TOWN OF GLOUCESTER. (RB)

ORIGINAL TAR RULES
The following only apply to the original rulebook for TAR. They are already addressed in the 12/4/2018 Living Rules for TAR. It is highly recommended that players use the 12/4/2018 version of
the TAR rules. See Page 1 of this Compilation for a link to them).
Opening Cannonade (TAR Page 8)
Q: Combat Cards cannot be played during the Opening Cannonade, correct?
A: COMBAT CARDS CANNOT BE PLAYED DURING OPENING CANNONADE. (RB)
Also, see 12-4-2018 TAR Rules at Page 8 and JR Rules at Page 9.
Retire and Rally (TAR Page 12)
Q: Retire and Rally cannot be used during Battle Back, an Ambush Card play or a First Strike Card play,
correct?
A: A UNIT MAY NOT RETIRE AND RALLY WHEN A UNIT IS BATTLING BACK, WHEN BEING
AMBUSHED OR WHEN A FIRST STRIKE CARD IS PLAYED AGAINST IT. (RB)
Melee Combat (TAR Pages 13 and 14)
Q: Is "retreat movement" ([TAR] p.13 and 14) also considered to be movement for the purpose of applying the -1 die modifier for moving infantry units?
A: NO.
THE ACTIVE PLAYER IS THE PLAYER TAKING HIS TURN. THE RULES FOR THE ACTIVE PLAYER'S TURN SEQUENCE ARE EXPLAINED AFTER [TAR] PAGE 9 FOLLOWING THE "PLAYER'S TURN SEQUENCE": PHASE 1 PLAY A COMMAND CARD, PHASE 2 ORDER UNITS, PHASE 3 MOVEMENT, PHASE 4 COMBAT AND PHASE 5 END OF TURN. THE RULES ON THESE PAGES APPLY TO THE ACTIVE PLAYER'S UNITS THAT ARE ORDERED ON THE TURN.
THE OPPONENT IS CONSIDERED THE DEFENDING PLAYER WHEN THE ACTIVE PLAYER IS FOLLOWING HIS TURN SEQUENCE. RULES THAT APPLY TO THE DEFENDING PLAYER, RETREAT AND RALLY CHECKS AND DEFENDING UNIT BATTLE BACK, DON'T EXACTLY FOLLOW THE SAME RULES AS THE ACTIVE PLAYER.
MAINLY BECAUSE DEFENDING UNITS ARE NOT ORDERED TO MOVE, EVERYTHING I HOPE IS CLEARED UP WITH THE FOLLOWING TWO UPDATES:
FOR RANGE COMBAT - PLEASE UPDATE YOUR [ORIGINAL TAR] RULES ON PAGE 11,
SECOND COLUMN, BULLET 7 TO READ: REDUCE THE NUMBER OF DICE ROLLED IN RANGED COMBAT WHEN AN INFANTRY UNIT IS ORDERED AND MOVES.
FOR MELEE COMBAT - PLEASE UPDATE YOUR [ORIGINAL TAR] RULES ON PAGE 13, FIRST COLUMN, BULLET 7 TO READ: REDUCE THE NUMBER OF DICE ROLLED IN MELEE
COMBAT WHEN AN INFANTRY UNIT IS ORDERED AND MOVES. (RB)
Also, see 12-4-2018 TAR Rules at Pages 11 and 13 and JR Rules at Pages 12 and 14.
Bolster Morale (TAR Page 14)
Q: For support/bolster morale...two units are enough. What if you have four adjacent friends? Does that double it up or not? Can you or can't you apply any of them more than once? My hunch is you can apply them all as many times as circumstances allow, but the max=2 kicks in so that it largely doesn't matter. It's not like you'll have 4 adjacent units very often.
A: SORRY YOUR HUNCH IS NOT CORRECT. YOU MAY ONLY APPLY EACH BOLSTER MORALE SITUATION ONCE. AS THE RULE READS “IF MORE THAN ONE OF THE FOLLOWING BOLSTER MORALE SITUATIONS APPLIES, THE EFFECTS ARE CUMULATIVE.” (RB)
Also, see 12-4-2018 TAR Rules at Page 14 and JR Rules at Page 15.
Terrain – Buildings (Page 20)
Q: Do we ignore a "symbol hit" (including sabers) on melee into a building hex, or just a "unit symbol hit?
A: GOOD CATCH - THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CLEARER. THE RULES LEFT OUT A KEY WORD “UNIT” SYMBOL FOR A NUMBER OF TERRAIN FEATURES.
A UNIT ON A BUILDING HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED AND MELEE COMBAT.
A UNIT ON A FOREST HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED COMBAT.
A UNIT ON A FIELD WORKS HEX IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED COMBAT EXCEPT FROM ARTILLERY RANGED COMBAT.
A UNIT ON DIRECTLY BEHIND A STONE FENCE IGNORES 1 UNIT SYMBOL HIT FROM RANGED COMBAT EXCEPT FROM ARTILLERY RANGED COMBAT. (RB)
Also, see 12-4-2018 TAR Rules at Page 20 and JR Rules at Page 23.

Bemis Heights Scenario (Page 24)
Q: In the first Bemis Heights Scenario, Acland is shown incorrectly with a light blue star. However, my sources show that he (John Dyke Acland) was not German and that none of the troops on the British side in that scenario should be German. During the early part of Bemis Heights (which the scenario covers), Poor attacked British troops led by Acland including British Grenadiers, not German troops.
A: ACLAND SHOULD BE A BRITISH LEADER (RED STAR) AND THE GRENADIER UNIT COULD BE A COMBINATION OF BRITISH AND GERMAN GRENADIER INFANTRY. USE THE BRITISH GRENADIER BLOCKS IF ONE PREFERS. REPLACING THE BLOCKS TO RED WILL NOT CHANGE THE PLAY OF THE SCENARIO. (RB)
Also, see 12-4-2018 TAR Rules at Page 24.
Bunker Hill Scenario (TAR Page 25)
Q: In the Bunker Hill Scenario, should the Putman be Putnam?
A: YES.
Freeman’s Farm Scenario (Page 26)
Q: In the Freeman's Farm Scenario, who moves first if the players select cards that order the same
number of units/leaders.
The Continental Player. See 12-4-2018 TAR Rules at Page 26.
Bemis Heights (British Redoubts) Scenario (Page 27)
Q: Should the Bemis Heights (British Redoubts) Scenario be dated for 1777 instead of 1775?
A: YES.
Long Island (Grant’s Attack) Scenario (Page 28)
Q: In the Long Island (Grant's Attack) Scenario, should the Correlyou House be the Cortelyou House?
YES.
Monmouth Scenario (Page 30)
Q: In Monmouth, the hedge terrain hexes are treated as a wood fence, correct?
A: THE HEDGE IN MONMOUTH IS TREATED AS A WOOD FENCE. (RB)
Also, see TAR 12/4/2018 Rules at Page 30 and TAR French and More Expansion Terrain Effects Chart.
Q: In Monmouth, should “Green” be “Greene”?
A: YES.
Cowpens Scenario (Page 32)
Q: In the Historical Background for Cowpens, should “Green” be “Greene”?
A: YES.
Guilford Courthouse, Hobkirk’s Hill and Eutaw Springs Scenarios (Pages 33 through 35)
Q: In all these scenarios, should “Green” be “Greene”?
A: YES.

ORIGINAL TAR FRENCH AND MORE EXPANSION RULES
The following only apply to the original rulebook for the TAR French Expansion. They are already addressed in the 12/4/2018 Living Rules for the TAR French Expansion. It is highly recommended that players use the 12/4/2018 version of the TAR French Expansion rules. 
Note: In scenarios page 11, 13, and 14, “Green” should be “Greene”.
New Units and Leaders (Page 6)
The British Rifle Light Infantry rules section is not correct. The Unit Reference Chart is correct.
Please update the rule book to read: Unlike other Rifle Light Infantry units, sabers rolled in Melee combat will score hits. (RB)
British Ranger Infantry rules section is not correct. The Unit Reference Chart is correct.
Please update the rule book to read: Movement in Hexes: 1 combat, or 2 hexes when unit moves and can and melee. (RB)
Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) Scenario (Page 11)
Update: In the Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) scenario, the Regular Continental unit on the road inbetween the two guns is a Light Infantry unit not a Regular. In addition, Opening Cannonade rules are in
effect. (RB)
Springfield Scenario (Page 16)
There is only one left turnout road/river tile in the game. See the setup for this scenario on Page 16 of the 12/4/2018 version of the TAR French Expansion rules for the change to the setup to address this issue.
Gloucester Raid Scenario (Page 18)
Unfortunately, there is a tile shortage for this scenario as well. See the setup for this scenario on Page 18 of the 12/4/2018 version of the TAR French Expansion rules for the change to the setup to address this issue.

Print Email

Log in to comment


mirkobruner's Avatar
mirkobruner replied the topic: #376 10 months 1 week ago
I Have put the errata rules in pdf format if it may help. Ciao!

Random Quote

Yonder are the Hessians. They were bought for seven pounds and tenpence a man. Are you worth more? Prove it. Tonight the American flag floats from yonder hill or Molly Stark sleeps a widow! ~~~ John Stark ~~~

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.