104 Brandywine - Knyphausen’s Attack (11 September 1777)
At Chadds Ford, after Greene’s division was ordered to support the right, Knyphausen heard the sound of gunfire from the north and attacked. Once across the Brandywine, the Continental gun position was quickly overrun. Outnumbered, Wayne and Armstrong tried to hold on, but finally carried out a running retreat. Knyphausen attack, slowed by the rugged terrain, came to a halt when darkness fell.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history?
• Commander: Washington
• 5 Command Cards & 4 Combat Cards
• Commander: Knyphausen
• 6 Command Cards & 5 Combat Cards
• Move First
7 Victory Banners
•Opening Carronade rules are in effect.
•The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on it’s baseline.
•The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner at the start of his turn for each building hex occupied by a British unit. Place a British Victory Banner on the hex at the start of the turn when occupied.
•The 9 hill hexes on the Continental side of the Brandywine are a start turn Temporary Majority Victory Banner Objective worth 1 banner. The banner for this group goes to the side that has units occupying an absolute majority of these hexes. Place a Continental Victory Banner on a hill hex at the start of the battle.
•Light infantry treat the Brandywine as fordable. Other units may ford, but no battle the turn they enter. When crossing at the 4 fords, there are no movement or battle restrictions.
“The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on its baseline.”
- What is the meaning of the sentence "Moving from a baseline hex off the battlefield, counts as one hex of movement to exit" in the French Expansion Breakthrough / Withdraw Victory Banner Objective rule given that "To breakthrough or withdraw, the unit must be ordered and the unit must already be on the opponent’s or his own baseline hex"? It would seem the movement cost to exit the map would be irrelevant since the unit must start on a baseline to exit. Is this sentence an artifact that no longer has meaning?
THE SENTENCE IS THERE TO REINFORCE TO PLAYERS THAT IT IS AN ORDER MOVE OF ONE HEX TO EXIT THE BATTLEFIELD. YOU ARE CORRECT THAT IT IS A REPEAT AND COULD BE ELIMINATED, COMPASS CHOSE TO KEEP IT IN TO REINFORCE THE FACT. (RB)
- In the two scenarios in question, may a Continental Light Infantry unit that begins in a Continental Baseline hex that is not a Road Hex move into an adjacent Continental Baseline Hex that is a Road Hex and then immediately exit the map.
BY THE DEFINITION THE LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IN YOUR QUESTION HAS FULFILLED THE RULE REQUIREMENTS, WHICH IS SNEAKY, BUT YOUR EXAMPLE DOES FOLLOW THE RULES TO EXIT. ALTHOUGH WE HAVE ALWAYS PLAYED THIS SCENARIO AS THE UNIT TO EXIT, WOULD HAVE TO START ON THE ROAD HEX TO EXIT. (RB)