104 Brandywine - Knyphausen’s Attack (11 September 1777)

Victory Results:
 50 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  50 %
Total plays 6 - Last reported by ozzie on 2020-12-12 23:28:58

Historical Background

At Chadds Ford, after Greene’s division was ordered to support the right, Knyphausen heard the sound of gunfire from the north and attacked. Once across the Brandywine, the Continental gun position was quickly overrun. Outnumbered, Wayne and Armstrong tried to hold on, but finally carried out a running retreat. Knyphausen attack, slowed by the rugged terrain, came to a halt when darkness fell.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history?

 

Battle Notes

Continental Army
• Commander: Washington
• 5 Command Cards & 4 Combat Cards

British Army
• Commander: Knyphausen
• 6 Command Cards & 5 Combat Cards
• Move First

Victory

7 Victory Banners

Special Rules

•Opening Carronade rules are in effect.
•The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on it’s baseline.
•The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner at the start of his turn for each building hex occupied by a British unit. Place a British Victory Banner on the hex at the start of the turn when occupied.
•The 9 hill hexes on the Continental side of the Brandywine are a start turn Temporary Majority Victory Banner Objective worth 1 banner. The banner for this group goes to the side that has units occupying an absolute majority of these hexes. Place a Continental Victory Banner on a hill hex at the start of the battle.
•Light infantry treat the Brandywine as fordable. Other units may ford, but no battle the turn they enter. When crossing at the 4 fords, there are no movement or battle restrictions.

FAQ
“The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on its baseline.”

  1. What is the meaning of the sentence "Moving from a baseline hex off the battlefield, counts as one hex of movement to exit" in the French Expansion Breakthrough / Withdraw Victory Banner Objective rule given that "To breakthrough or withdraw, the unit must be ordered and the unit must already be on the opponent’s or his own baseline hex"? It would seem the movement cost to exit the map would be irrelevant since the unit must start on a baseline to exit. Is this sentence an artifact that no longer has meaning?

THE SENTENCE IS THERE TO REINFORCE TO PLAYERS THAT IT IS AN ORDER MOVE OF ONE HEX TO EXIT THE BATTLEFIELD. YOU ARE CORRECT THAT IT IS A REPEAT AND COULD BE ELIMINATED, COMPASS CHOSE TO KEEP IT IN TO REINFORCE THE FACT. (RB)

  1. In the two scenarios in question, may a Continental Light Infantry unit that begins in a Continental Baseline hex that is not a Road Hex move into an adjacent Continental Baseline Hex that is a Road Hex and then immediately exit the map.

BY THE DEFINITION THE LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IN YOUR QUESTION HAS FULFILLED THE RULE REQUIREMENTS, WHICH IS SNEAKY, BUT YOUR EXAMPLE DOES FOLLOW THE RULES TO EXIT. ALTHOUGH WE HAVE ALWAYS PLAYED THIS SCENARIO AS THE UNIT TO EXIT, WOULD HAVE TO START ON THE ROAD HEX TO EXIT. (RB)

Print Email

Log in to comment


ozzie replied the topic: #503 1 month 2 days ago
A much harder fought 7-5 to the British with he Grenadiers and Guards cleaning the American right off the board and Stirn's hessians crushing the militia. The British central attack stalled at the building hex with countless assaults causing a steady trickle of casualties until a couple of units (including the Highlanders) routing. Wayne and his unit of Regulars in the buildings were true heroes of the Republic holding off all comers and even recapturing the buildings when a British assault pushed them out. Their heroics gave the Americans time to retreat some units off the road but the Militia were largely left hung out to dry with no supporting Cards to help them out. Terrific game which could have gone either way until the Grenadiers and Guards showed to clean up wholes units with volley firing and then attacks. Nothing you can go when they roll 4 hits with 4 dice twice in a row!
ozzie replied the topic: #501 1 month 3 days ago
A 7-1 British victory with the Americans failing to destroy a single British unit or get any of their own off the board. The British player's hand of cards just had all the answers in a succession of Line Commands, Line Volleys and In spired Leadership cards whilst the Americans ever had a card that could move more than 2 units. Tough luck (for me - I was the Americans) but the fight over the building hex by the river was a slog fest that eventually ground American units to death including General Wayne. Just when the Americans thought they were in with a chance the British played the Rally card and rolled up 6 infantry/flag symbols to rally two depleted units back to full strength who then finished off Wayne's brigade. A one-sided run of luck for the British but I will get them next time!

Random Quote

That these are our grievances which we have thus laid before his majesty, with that freedom of language and sentiment which becomes a free people claiming their rights as derived from the laws of nature, and not as the gift of their chief magistrate. ~~~ Thomas Jefferson ~~~