102 Brandywine - Washington's Attack (11 September 1777)

Victory Results:
 29 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  71 %
Total plays 7 - Last reported by ozzie on 2020-12-12 05:11:08

Historical Background

Philadelphia, the capital of the newly formed nation, was the chief objective of British  General Howe in 1777. The British, after landing at Elk(ton) Maryland from the  Chesapeake, marched toward the city on the Baltimore to Philadelphia road.
Washington chose the high ground in the area of Chadds Ford, where the main road from the south to Philadelphia bridged the Brandywine. Washington had also deployed his troops to guard all known fords up the river. Howe again, however, chose to outflank the enemy and sent Cornwallis to cross the river at a ford unknown to Washington and march south into the flank of the Continental Army. As Howe’s plan was being carried out, Washington was receiving conflicting reports. At one point in the morning, Washington believed that the British had divided their commands and the force across  the river was just a holding force. He ordered Greene, Wayne and Sullivan to attack  Knyphausen column. But soon called back his commanders when another report was  received that Cornwallis was marching to rejoin Knyphausen. 
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history?

 

Battle Notes

Continental Army
• Commander: Washington
• 5 Command Cards & 5 Combat Cards
• Move First

British Army
• Commander: Knyphausen
• 5 Command Cards & 4 Combat Cards

Victory

6 Victory Banners

Special Rules

• Opening Cannonade rules are in effect.
• The Continental player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of the turn, when one or more Continental units are across the Brandywine. A maximum of three Victory Banners can be gained, one in each section. In this case, hexes with a dotted line are considered center hexes.
• The Continental player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of the turn, for each hill hex occupied across river.
• The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of the turn, for each ford and bridge occupied.
• Light infantry treat Brandywine as fordable. Other units may ford, but no battle the turn they enter. When crossing at the 4 fords, there are no movement or battle restrictions.

Q: If a single Continental unit is on a Hill Hex on the British side of the Brandywine, can that unit claim two Banners at the same time -- one for being on the British side of the River and one for being on a Hill Hex on the British side of the River?
A: YES. A CONTINENTAL UNIT ON A HILL HEX ON THE BRITISH SIDE OF THE BRANDYWINE WILL COUNT AS TWO BANNERS. (RB)

Print Email

Log in to comment


ozzie replied the topic: #500 1 month 2 weeks ago
The Americans stormed across the river and before long had a 4 banner to zero lead. A couple more combats and victory would be theirs. Sadly, they ran out of steam and the cards to keep pushing units forward and the British counterattack ended in a 6-3 British victory as the early American gains of sectors and hills was erased.
kduke42 replied the topic: #488 1 month 3 weeks ago
I'd love to see this as a pdf!
Mark McG's Avatar
Mark McG replied the topic: #326 7 months 5 days ago
Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) Scenario (Page 11)
Update: In the Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) scenario, the Regular Continental unit on the road inbetween the two guns is a Light Infantry unit not a Regular. In addition, Opening Cannonade rules are in
effect. (RB)
Q: If a single Continental unit is on a Hill Hex on the British side of the Brandywine, can that unit claim
two Banners at the same time -- one for being on the British side of the River and one for being on a Hill
Hex on the British side of the River?
A: YES. A CONTINENTAL UNIT ON A HILL HEX ON THE BRITISH SIDE OF THE
BRANDYWINE WILL COUNT AS TWO BANNERS. (RB)

Random Quote

That these are our grievances which we have thus laid before his majesty, with that freedom of language and sentiment which becomes a free people claiming their rights as derived from the laws of nature, and not as the gift of their chief magistrate. ~~~ Thomas Jefferson ~~~

This site uses cookies to improve your experience.