102 Brandywine - Washington's Attack (11 September 1777)
Philadelphia, the capital of the newly formed nation, was the chief objective of British General Howe in 1777. The British, after landing at Elk(ton) Maryland from the Chesapeake, marched toward the city on the Baltimore to Philadelphia road.
Washington chose the high ground in the area of Chadds Ford, where the main road from the south to Philadelphia bridged the Brandywine. Washington had also deployed his troops to guard all known fords up the river. Howe again, however, chose to outflank the enemy and sent Cornwallis to cross the river at a ford unknown to Washington and march south into the flank of the Continental Army. As Howe’s plan was being carried out, Washington was receiving conflicting reports. At one point in the morning, Washington believed that the British had divided their commands and the force across the river was just a holding force. He ordered Greene, Wayne and Sullivan to attack Knyphausen column. But soon called back his commanders when another report was received that Cornwallis was marching to rejoin Knyphausen.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history?
• Commander: Gates
• 5 Command Cards & 5 Combat Cards
• Move First
• Commander: Knyphausen
• 5 Command Cards & 4 Combat Cards
6 Victory Banners
• No Opening Cannonade.
• The Continental player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of the turn, when one or more Continental units are across the Brandywine. A maximum of three Victory Banners can be gained, one in each section. In this case, hexes with a dotted line are considered center hexes.
• The Continental player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of the turn, for each hill hex occupied across river.
• The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner, at the start of the turn, for each ford and bridge occupied.
• Light infantry treat Brandywine as fordable. Other units may ford, but no battle the turn they enter. When crossing at the 4 fords, there are no movement or battle restrictions.
Update: In the Brandywine (Washington’s Attack) scenario, the Regular Continental unit on the road inbetween the two guns is a Light Infantry unit not a Regular. In addition, Opening Cannonade rules are in
Q: If a single Continental unit is on a Hill Hex on the British side of the Brandywine, can that unit claim
two Banners at the same time -- one for being on the British side of the River and one for being on a Hill
Hex on the British side of the River?
A: YES. A CONTINENTAL UNIT ON A HILL HEX ON THE BRITISH SIDE OF THE
BRANDYWINE WILL COUNT AS TWO BANNERS. (RB)