105 Brandywine - Greene’s Rear Guard (11 September 1777)
Sterling, Stephan and Sullivan divisions, on Washington’s right, could not hold against the steady attack of Cornwallis’ men. When ordered, Greene quickly moved and deployed his troops into line.,which allowed the shaken troops to pass through their ranks and rally. At the same time, Wayne and Armstrong were fighting a running withdrawal against Knyphausen’s attack. Although confident of victory at the start, Washington had been outwitted and under the cover of darkness the Continental Army retreated toward Chester.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. The rest is history?
• Commander: Washington
• 5 Command Cards & 3 Combat Cards
• Commander: Howe
• 6 Command Cards & 5 Combat Cards
• Move First
7 Victory Banners
•No Opening Carronade.
•The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on it’s baseline.
•The British player will gain 1 Temporary Section Clear Victory Banner at the start of the turn when the Continental player does not have at least one unit occupying a section of the battlefield.
“The Continental player gains 1 Permanent Withdraw Victory Banner for each Continental unit that exits the battlefield from the road hex on its baseline.”
- What is the meaning of the sentence "Moving from a baseline hex off the battlefield, counts as one hex of movement to exit" in the French Expansion Breakthrough / Withdraw Victory Banner Objective rule given that "To breakthrough or withdraw, the unit must be ordered and the unit must already be on the opponent’s or his own baseline hex"? It would seem the movement cost to exit the map would be irrelevant since the unit must start on a baseline to exit. Is this sentence an artifact that no longer has meaning?
THE SENTENCE IS THERE TO REINFORCE TO PLAYERS THAT IT IS AN ORDER MOVE OF ONE HEX TO EXIT THE BATTLEFIELD. YOU ARE CORRECT THAT IT IS A REPEAT AND COULD BE ELIMINATED, COMPASS CHOSE TO KEEP IT IN TO REINFORCE THE FACT. (RB)
- In the two scenarios in question, may a Continental Light Infantry unit that begins in a Continental Baseline hex that is not a Road Hex move into an adjacent Continental Baseline Hex that is a Road Hex and then immediately exit the map.
BY THE DEFINITION THE LIGHT INFANTRY UNIT IN YOUR QUESTION HAS FULFILLED THE RULE REQUIREMENTS, WHICH IS SNEAKY, BUT YOUR EXAMPLE DOES FOLLOW THE RULES TO EXIT. ALTHOUGH WE HAVE ALWAYS PLAYED THIS SCENARIO AS THE UNIT TO EXIT, WOULD HAVE TO START ON THE ROAD HEX TO EXIT. (RB)