Specialization Token (Norm)
One new type of specialization token is included in this expansion. The rules for using this new token is as follows:
A squad with the Demolitions specialization is trained to eliminate enemy structures and buildings through the use of explosives.
Explosives: During the Action Phase, a demolitions squad can place and detonate charges, which in turn can damage enemy units and buildings.
The process of using explosives is as follows:
- Place the charge. A demolitions squad can place a charge during one of that squad’s Advance actions. For 2 movement points (MP), the player may place a charge token in the squad’s current hex (unless specified otherwise on an Operations card) with the squad’s nation color faceup. Note that the British will use the Americans’ green side.
- Detonate the charge
- (action) The first way a charge can be detonated is using a fresh demolitions squad or a fresh squad containing an officer in line of sight of one of that nation’s charges. As a special action, that nation’s player fatigues the squad in order to detonate the charge and apply damage to targets within the charge’s hex. Note that players may not detonate charges that would damage friendly units.
- (Op Fire) The second way a charge can be detonated is by having a demolitions squad or squad containing an officer on Op Fire in line of sight of one of that nation’s charges. As an Op Fire attack, the player fatigues the squad (even if a machine crew is present) on Op Fire in order to detonate the charge and apply damage to targets within the hex. Note that players may not detonate charges that would damage friendly units.
- Apply damage from the charge. Damage from a detonation is specified by the Operations card governing the explosives used in a particular scenario or by the general charge stats (see the “Charges” sidebar on this page). The damage is automatic, although armor/cover dice are still rolled to avoid damage (the attack is considered to be an ). Damage affects buildings, vehicles, squads, and equipment. In the case of placing the charge in a hex with a pillbox, the detonation will either affect all units outside of the pillbox or all units inside of the pillbox, depending on where the charge is placed (this is determined by whether the player's demolitions squad was inside the pillbox or in the terrain hex surrounding the pillbox at the time of charge placement). The pillbox is not damaged since it is not considered building terrain.
When detonating a charge, all charges in the targeted hex will detonate. In this way, you can use one squad to detonate multiple charges with one activation.
Example: On his turn, James decides to activate his demolitions squad containing American regular infantry. He declares an Advance action and moves two spaces towards the enemy line.
He has two MP remaining after using two for movement. He then places a charge in the space containing his demolitions which uses his remaining MP. The charge is placed green side up since he is playing the Americans. On his opponent’s turn, James’s squad is assaulted and forced to retreat. However, a fresh American squad containing an officer is in line of sight of the charge. On his turn, James fatigues this squad to detonate the charge and damage the assaulting squad.
Buildings are now able to be destroyed if under fire from an eligible unit or subject to a normal. A scenario states in the terrain features whether it utilizes destructible buildings.
The process for attacking a building is as follows:
- Determine if the attacking unit is eligible to attack the building. The attacking unit does not count the firepower of regular infantry, elite infantry, officers, or machine gun crews. However, squads can still trigger charges which affect the
- Target a building hex without a squad. A unit may target a building for destruction within range and in line of sight. If there is no squad in the target building hex, the attacking player uses the firepower and range used when attacking vehicles.
- Target a building hex with a squad. A unit may target a building for destruction within range and in line of sight. If there is a squad in the target building hex, the attacking player must declare whether his attack will target the squad
or the building. If he selects the squad, the building will be unaffected. If he selects the building, the squad will be unaffected unless the building is destroyed. When attacking the building, the attacking player uses the firepower and
range used when attacking vehicles.
- Hit a building hex with a normal
building separately after rolling for damage against any squads within the building.
Example: James directs a normal at a building hex containing two squads. The attack does eight dice of damage to the building and its occupants. James rolls once to determine damage against the two squads in the hex.
Next, James rolls a separate attack roll against the building itself since the scenario specified that buildings are destructible.
. If a building hex is targeted by a normal , the building automatically has a chance to be destroyed (along with other possible targets). The attacker rolls for the attack against the
- Roll for possible building destruction. After determining how many dice the attacker is rolling in the attack against a given building (attack strength), he rolls to see if the building is destroyed. Note that when rolling, the attacker should be sure to include two red dice for the defense strength of the building hex.
- Assess whether the building has been destroyed. In order to destroy a building, the attack must deal six hits at one time. If, after determining hits, the building did not sustain six or more hits, the building remains intact and sustains no damage. The building is either destroyed by the attack or it is undamaged. Note that some buildings take up more than one hex. In this case, a successful attack will only destroy the targeted hex.
If a building is destroyed, a Ruins token is placed on the building hex to show the building has been eliminated. A hex with a Ruins token is treated as rough terrain.
Squads in a building when it is destroyed take four dice of damage, where 4–6 are treated as hits. The squad is also automatically pinned. Surviving squads remain on that hex, as well as any tokens that were on that hex.
Note that if a scenario relies on control of a building hex for victory, the hexes the objective building(s) occupies still remain the objective whether the building is destroyed or not.
Charge tokens are used to mark hexes when a demolitions squad places an explosive. The number of charges a nation can use is stated in the division setup when a unit has the demolitions specialization.
The charges a nation has are not assigned to any one demolitions squad. Instead, the charges form a supply that any of that nation’s demolitions squads may use. Note that the Americans and the British should use the green side and the Germans should use the grey side of the charge token.
Although most scenarios call upon an Operations card to define the kind of charge being used, a scenario that does not specify has charges with the following stats:
Charges can be set for 2 MP in the same space as the squad setting the charge.
Each charge does 3 hits of damage to each unit (rolling for armor/cover as normal) in the hex or pillbox when detonated.