Objective Medals

1 1 1 1 1 Rating 100% (1 Vote)

Temporary Medal Objective

The Victory Medal for this objective hex is immediately gained and is retained as long as a unit of the appropriate side occupies the objective hex. If the unit vacates the hex for any reason (movement, retreat or elimination), the medal is immediately lost.

Start Turn Temporary Medal Objective

The Victory Medal for this objective hex is held and captured only as long as a unit of the appropriate side occupies the objective hex at the start of its turn. If the unit vacates the hex for any reason (movement, retreat or elimination), the medal is immediately lost.
The Victory Medal for this objective hex is held and captured only as long as a unit of the appropriate side occupies the objective hex at the start of its turn. If the unit vacates the hex for any reason (movement, retreat or elimination), the medal is immediately lost.
A Temporary Medal Objective and a Start Turn Temporary Medal Objective can also apply for a group of hexes, such as a line of trenches, forest or hills. When the side occupies any hex in the group, the Victory Medal for this group is gained. If none of the hexes in the group are occupied for any reason (movement, retreat or elimination), the medal is immediately lost.

Turn Start Temporary Majority Medal Objective

The Victory Medal for this group of objective hexes goes to the side that has units in an absolute majority of these hexes at the start of its turn. The absolute majority means, occupy more of the hexes in the group than your opponent. If your side occupies 1 hex and your opponent does not occupy any of the hexes in the group, your side occupies the absolute majority. If the majority is lost for any reason (movement, retreat or elimination), the medal is immediately lost.

Permanent Medal Objective

The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and permanently gained the moment a unit of the appropriate side occupies this hex. The medal is not lost, even if the unit later vacates this hex.

Turn Start Permanent Medal Objective

The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and permanently gained when the appropriate side occupies the hex at the start of its turn.

Breakthrough Medal Objective

When a player’s victory objective requires his forces to achieve a Breakthrough, each unit that exits the battlefield from an opponent’s baseline hex, gains the player one Permanent Victory Medal. To exit, the unit must be ordered and move off the battlefield. Moving from a baseline hex on the opponent’s baseline off the battlefield counts as one hex of movement to exit.
A player may not exit units from the battlefield when playing the “Rush & Rotation” command card and gain a breakthrough medal.

Time Pressure Medal Objective

When Time Pressure rules are in effect against the attacker, the defending player, after playing a “Recon (Left, Centre or Right)” command card, may take a Permanent Victory Medal instead of drawing 2 command cards at the end of his turn.
Taking a Permanent Victory Medal instead of drawing 2 command cards is not possible, if doing so would give the player his final Victory Medal to win the battle.

Print Email

Log in to comment


mk20336's Avatar
mk20336 replied the topic: #506 4 years 1 month ago

sdslater wrote: Time Pressure: Does this mean that the defending players command cards are reduced each time this option is chosen?


Hi,

I assume you mean "racing against time", like: "The German forces are racing against time. The British player may take a Victory Medal, instead of taking two command cards, when playing a “Recon” command card."

If so then answer to your answer is NO.

Usually, Recon card allows you to draw two cards, choose one and and discard the other. When using option "racing against time", you just draw 1, random Command Card at the end of the turn. So in essence, you are exchanging possibility to choose between two cards for a victory banner. But in the end, your hand is not reduced.
sdslater's Avatar
sdslater replied the topic: #505 4 years 1 month ago
Time Pressure: Does this mean that the defending players command cards are reduced each time this option is chosen?
Mark McG's Avatar
Mark McG replied the topic: #277 4 years 7 months ago
they get a medal at the start of their turn, and lose it immediately the conditions are not met. They only get 1 medal.
www.commandsandcolors.net/thegreatwar/th...bjective-medals.html
MarkE58's Avatar
MarkE58 replied the topic: #276 4 years 8 months ago
Hi there,

I'm playing a scenario that says the following:

'Canadian forces gain 1 temporary victory medal at the start of their turn , when one or more units occupy any trench hex in the front line. '

Do they get a medal every start of turn they are in the trench, or just once after they first move in?

Are the temporary medals lost at the moment there are no Canadians in a trench hex?

Many thanks

Random Quote

Once blood is shed in a national quarrel reason and right are swept aside by the rage of angry men. ~~~ David Lloyd George, British prime minister ~~~