ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

Reserve Artillery

More
3 years 11 months ago #115 by alecrespi
alecrespi created the topic: Reserve Artillery
A player’s reserve artillery unit does not have any figures,...

Reserve Artillery

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 5 months ago #546 by lowroller
lowroller replied the topic: Reserve Artillery - shell craters
The rules say that "When three or more targeting dice roll the same number, a shell crater is placed in the On Target hex.'

This is very clear, and by strict reading it means that a roll of 1-3-3-5-5 would NOT cause cratering, as no 3 dice rolled the same number.

However, after an initial faulty memory of the rule, we loosely interpreted it as 3 On Target dice cause cratering, which means that this roll WOULD crater the hex.

Should we follow the strict wording, or is our interpretation the actual intent?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 5 months ago #547 by Mark McG
Mark McG replied the topic: Reserve Artillery - shell craters
looking at the FAQ,the actual literal wording is correct. Has to be 3 dice of the same number. Example 3 (or bottom Left diagram) gives such an example, and indicates NO cratering.

www.commandsandcolors.net/thegreatwar/th...serve-artillery.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 1 week ago - 2 years 1 week ago #586 by Draco Paladin
Draco Paladin replied the topic: Reserve Artillery
Is the reserve artillery unit a single unit that can only be ordered once on a players turn, or if you are able to order units in more than one sector, can it be ordered once per sector?
Last Edit: 2 years 1 week ago by Draco Paladin.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 1 week ago #587 by Mark McG
Mark McG replied the topic: Reserve Artillery

Draco Paladin wrote: Is the reserve artillery unit a single unit that can only be ordered once on a players turn, or if you are able to order units in more than one sector, can it be ordered once per sector?


it is a single unit.
"A player’s reserve artillery unit does not have any figures, instead it is represented by a reserve artillery token, in a player’s play area. "
www.commandsandcolors.net/thegreatwar/th...serve-artillery.html

Conceptually you could have more than 1 Reserve Artillery units in a scenario. Hasn't ever happened in a scenario, but if you had two Reserve Artillery units, a 5 & a 4 strength, you could order the 5 in one section and the 4 in another with a multi-section card like Recon in Force (and a huge number of HQ tokens). Would cost 1 order for each unit.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.896 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:148
  • Latest Member:Capt. Blackadder
  • Total Posts:1583
  • Total Topics:1041
  • Total Sections:3
  • Total Categories:10
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:0
  • Yesterday Answer:2

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
alecrespi 244
Mark McG 163
mk20336 125
plainscape GW 22
Clexton27 21

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Mark McG 27
bdgza 12
alecrespi 7
mk20336 6
Clexton27 2

Random Quote

The United States must be neutral in fact as well as in name. We must be impartial in thought as well as in action. ~~~ US president Woodrow Wilson, August 1914 ~~~