I thought this card was very simple and clear, but it was challenged recently.
"Play before your unit[singular]'s combat roll"; "Target unit may not ignore flags...on this [singular] combat".
Both those statements indicate to me that the card affects only one combat roll - and it does only cost one HQ Chit, after all.
However, my beleaguered opponent, using this in a desperate counterattack, argued that because it affects "1 enemy soldier unit" and "Target unit may not ignore any flags rolled against it", it affected any and all attacks on that target unit in that turn.
Just to avoid unpleasantness, it would be nice to get a ruling - one combat, or all combats against the one target?
card is straightforward and leaves not room for interpretation: it influences only one "combat roll".
Some things to remember:
- in one combat roll many flags might be rolled and none of them can be ignored
- if you can do momentum advance (tank for example) lice is not working (it influences only one combat roll)
So no, it does not influence all combats against this unit that turn, only one combat roll and one combat.
There were many words that you could not stand to hear and finally only the names of places had dignity. Abstract words such as glory, honor, courage, or hallow were obscene. ~~~ American novelist and WW1 veteran Ernest Hemingway, in 'A Farewell to Arms', 1929 ~~~