MM02 Battle of Mimigawa (10 December 1578)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)
 0 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  0 %

Battle of Mimigawa - 10 December 1578

Determined to crush the growing power of the Shimazu, Ôtomo Sôrin and his son Yoshimune led an enormous host into Hyûga, intent on recapturing lands taken from the Itô family. Tawara Chikataka, Sôrin's brother-in-law, led the bulk of the army to besiege Shimazu Iehisa in Taka castle. Yoshihisa hastily rallied his kinsmen and marched north to Sadowara, where he was briefly held up by bad weather. Meanwhile, his brother Yoshihiro, who was advancing along a different route, encountered and scattered an advance Ôtomo force, following up this success with the destruction of an enemy fort at Matsuyama. Yoshihisa then advanced to the Taka area, and joined with the rest of the Shimazu clan.

In the resulting battle Tawara sent the Ôtomo army in a frontal attack that was repulsed after some bitter fighting. The Ôtomo were quickly routed, and Yoshihisa won an amazing victory that cost his enemy thousands of men and heralded their decline.This battle represents one of several significant occasions in which the Shimazu, though among the major users of arquebuses, faced the Ôtomo clan's European-made cannon.

The stage is set, the battle lines are drawn, and you are in command. The rest is history.



Set-Up Order



Ôtomo Army (Red)
Move First
Commander: Otomo Sorin
Command Cards 5
Dragon Cards 2
Honour & Fortune 4

7 1 1 1 1 1 2 1 1 2 2

Shimazu Army (Yellow)
Commander: Shimazu Yoshihisa
Command Cards 5
Dragon Cards 4
Honour & Fortune 10

4 2 4 1 2 2 1 1 1 1 2 2

8 Banners
* 1 Victory Banner for each unit or leader eliminated
* Winner must be ahead by 2 banners, or first to 10 banners.

Special Rules

* Units on Taka Castle can ignore an additional 1 Swords & 1 Flag
* River is only fordable at the fords
*The Red Canon unit is treated as a Bodyguard unit without a leader. (Can only be hit on Swords and Flags). In addition, the canon can ranged fire 2 dice up to 6 hexes. Canon hits as per Arquebus, and gains no Honor & Fortune. The Canon may not move. Canon is worth 1 banner if destroyed


Tags: Ôtomo, Shimazu, Mark McG

Print Email

Log in to comment