GP23. ICHI-NO-TANI – HIYODORI RAVINE (March 1184)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 2.50 (1 Vote)
 100 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  0 %
Total plays 1 - Last reported by MarkMcG on 2018-02-27 11:51:54

GP23. ICHI-NO-TANI – HIYODORI RAVINE, March 1184

After destroying the Taira garrison at Mikusa, Minamoto no Yoshitsune divided his force. 7,000 men under his senior lieutenant Doi no Jiro Sanehira made a diversionary attack against the western wall of Ichi-no-Tani while Yoshitsune led 3,000 cavalry into the steep hills that formed the northern border of the fortress, and which the Taira had believed were impassable. With the aid of a local guide, Yoshitsune discovered Hiyodori Ravine, a precipitous, treacherous defile that cut through the cliffs directly into the unprotected rear of Ichi-no-Tani. Confident despite the reservations of his men, Yoshitsune ordered a reckless charge down the ravine, and reached the bottom successfully. The Minamoto attacked the surprised Taira and set fire to the camp buildings.
The stage is set, the battle lines are drawn, and you are in command. The rest is history.

 

 

Taira (Red)
Command cards 5
Dragon Cards 2
H&F 4

Minamoto (Yellow)
> Move first
Command Cards 6
Dragon Cards 3
H&F 7

Victory
6 Banners
1 Victory Banner for each Leader or Unit eliminated The Minamoto may not win unless they have 3 units on non-ravine hexes at the same time as they have 6 Victory Banners
(See the Burning Ichi-no-Tani special rule)

Special Rules

  • All hill hexes are impassable
  • The Ravine – All open terrain hexes on the Minamoto side of the line of green-bordered hexes (including the green-bordered hexes themselves) are ravine hexes. These do not function as Ravine terrain as described in the rulebook.
  • Reckless Charge – Every time a cavalry unit or lone cavalry leader enters a ravine hex it rolls 1 die and loses 1 figure on a sword result (this may incur a 1 die Leader Casualty check if a leader is attached to the unit).
  • Reckless Courage – The Minamoto player may play Infantry Onslaught as if it were Cavalry Charge
  • Burning Ichi-no-Tani – An ordered Minamoto unit adjacent to a building hex may set it on fire if it does not move or battle that turn. The building hex is removed from the board and the Minamoto army gains 1 Victory Banner

 

Print Email

Log in to comment