Fordable River (Stream)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Movement A unit or leader that enters a Fordable River hex must stop and may move no further on that turn (It is assumed to be reforming on the far side of the river it just crossed). An infantry unit may form square on a Fordable River hex.
Battle A unit may battle the turn it moves onto a Fordable River hex.
When targeting an enemy unit or leader on a Fordable River hex:
A unit will roll 1 less battle die in melee combat, but its ranged combat dice are not reduced.
A unit on a Fordable River hex will reduce its battle dice rolled by 1 in ranged combat and melee.
Line of Sight Free

Print Email

Log in to comment


proyce's Avatar
proyce replied the topic: #7151 2 months 15 hours ago
Note that many scenarios have special rules for streams and rivers. Sometimes movement doesn't stop but battle restrictions apply. Sometimes the other way around. Sometimes different types of units have different rules. So read the specific scenario rules carefully when there are special rules that affect streams and rivers.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #7150 2 months 1 day ago
correct..  
john's Avatar
john replied the topic: #7149 2 months 1 day ago
Thanks Mark. So that means, if I understand you correctly, that a Line Infantry Unit, for example,  with normal movement of one hex, has no penalty: it moves one hex and stops anyway. Whereas a cavalry unit, for example with normal movement of two or three hexes, can only move one hex and must then stop. Thank you.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #7148 2 months 1 day ago
no, each new River hex is treated identically, regardless of the start point of the moving unit
john's Avatar
john replied the topic: #7147 2 months 1 day ago
Can units and leaders, on the next turn after entering the fordable river, move along the fordable river without a movement penalty? Thanks.
Achtung Panzer's Avatar
Achtung Panzer replied the topic: #4673 4 years 1 month ago
My view is "Yes" based on the accepted C&C principle e.g. in Memoir an Armour unit attacking out of a town into a town suffers both minus die rolls and therefore cannot actually conduct such an attack.
Spratz replied the topic: #4672 4 years 1 month ago
Typo corrections. Attacker. Fights. Also.
Spratz replied the topic: #4671 4 years 1 month ago
In the situation of both the atacker and the defender being on a fordable river and conducting melee, does the attacker take a -1 for attacking out of a fordable river and another -1 for attacking into the fordable river?
Als does the same ruling apply if the defender fghts back?
Presume both attacker and defender are Cav units.
Rgds Spratz

Random Quote

The basic principle that we must follow in directing the armies of the Republic is this: that they must feed themselves on war at the expense of the enemy territory. ~Napoleon