Break The Square

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

BREAK THE SQUARE

{phocadocumentation view=navigation|type=mpcn}

 

 

 

 

Break The Square

An ordered Cavalry unit's battle dice are not reduced to 1 die when battling a square. The Cavalry unit will battle as normal.

(2 cards)

 

Must it played in order phase, or can the active player wait, if the opponent goes into square, to decide then, if he want use it?

The “Break The Square” Tactician card is played just before a cavalry unit is going to attack an enemy infantry unit that is in Square (immediate before the Cavalry rolls the dice).
(Richard Borg: 2015 - May - 22)

Does a unit into square loose their square formations and what is the sequence of battle with this card?

An infantry in square will not lose its square formation, when the “Break The Square” Tactician card is played against the infantry unit in square.
The sequence of play is:
1. The CAV unit declares the attack.
2. The INF unit goes into square, and a command card is removed from the player's hand (unless an Austrian INF unit, forming a battalion mass)
3. The INF unit rolls 1 combat die against the CAV. If the result is a bounce flag, the combat is over (if CAV can retreat).
4. The CAV unit now plays the Break the Square card. The CAV unit rolls normal combat dice against the INF unit.
(Richard Borg: 2016 - February - 14)

Print Email

Log in to comment


Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #5707 1 year 8 months ago
lowroller replied the topic: #5706 1 year 8 months ago
Does "The CAV unit rolls normal combat dice" also mean they can use command card bonuses, such as +1 for Elan or Cavalry Charge?
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3279 4 years 9 months ago
Exact :)
Grondeaux's Avatar
Grondeaux replied the topic: #3278 4 years 9 months ago
I want to make sure I've got this right, so please bear with me. Since the Break the Square card does not change the combat sequence, an INF vs CAV attack would go like this:
  1. The CAV unit declares the attack.
  2. The INF unit goes into square, and a command card is removed from the player's hand (unless an Austrian INF unit, forming a battalion mass)
  3. The INF unit rolls 1 combat die against the CAV. If the result is a bounce flag, the combat is over.
  4. The CAV unit now plays the Break the Square card.
  5. The CAV unit rolls normal combat dice against the INF unit.
That right?
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3276 4 years 9 months ago
(RB) A. An infantry in square will not lose its square formation, when the “Break The Square” Tactician card is played against the infantry unit in square.
(Richard Borg; 2016-02-14)

Clear worded on the cards description (Card titles never describes how any rule works), so adding this to the FAQ is not really necessary :)
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3272 4 years 9 months ago
I´ll check it,
but if the card is indeed exact played as the text is written, then i dont add it to the FAQ, because players should always play the rules straight ahead as written, without any personally interpretations,
further i don´t know any card, which explaines the rules of the card with the title.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #3271 4 years 9 months ago

No words, that the square is really unsquared, so no interpretations please (as often), playing the rules as worded.


only the title, Break the square. Once a square breaks, I know of no historical instance where it reformed. Typically the infantry routed when the square broke, so it would actually make sense to have the infantry unsquare.
To me. it seems worth getting an official clarification on, because it could equally play that the unit unsquares without any particular disadvantage, and perhaps even an advantage to the infantry.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3270 4 years 9 months ago
Card is ONLY a advantage for the attacking Cavalry, for the "square" Infantry all basic rules apply.
-So the INF goes and stay into square if it survives the "full block attack" of the Cavalry.

Nothing other says the card; The attacking Cavalry battle dice are not reduced!
No words, that the square is really unsquared, so no interpretations please (as often), playing the rules as worded.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #3267 4 years 9 months ago
Something that occurs to me, when this card is played, does the surviving unit actually leave Square, or is it still in square and just this attack is exceptional? I think the latter, but I can see how it could be the former.

Random Quote

In war, moral factors acount for three quarters of the whole; relative material strength accounts for only one quarter. ~Napoleon