Command Cards

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

General

When is the Mother-Russia-Roll to be applied? Before or After drawing Command Cards?

Please do the Mother Russia roll BEFORE drawing Commands Cards (Richard Borg)

Some Command Cards like Leadership, Bayonet Charge, Cavalry Charge, Bombard e.g., gives special/different benefits to the special units, which are named on the cards. But if you choose the substitute order order one unit of your choice, apply the benefit also to this alternate single unit?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and act with his own base rules.

 

Bayonet Charge

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex, but how many hexes move such a unit with an attached Leader?

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex.
An attached leader does not allow an Austrian Line or Militia Infantry unit to move 2 hexes when ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge.
Richard Borg; 27. October 2013

 

La Grande Manoeuver

While playing LA GRANDE MANOEUVER must be the terrain restrictions observed or can be ignored?

If it doesn't tell you to ignore the restrictions, then they must still be observed.

 

Fire and Hold

FIRE AND HOLD — May i order only Infantry or Artillery units?

The card should read exact "Issue an order to 4 or fewer INFANTRY and/or ARTILLERY units", so you can order up to 4 ART and INF units together

 

First Strike

Page 22, FIRST STRIKE card: "Your defending unit will battle first." Does this mean that the defending unit will not Battle Back, even if eligible to do so?

The defending unit that plays a first strike is not eligible to battle back when it has used a First Strike card to battle first. Each unit may battle only once in same battle, only the order of battle may change because of any special rule or special card.
Note: If a attacker forces to retreat a defender and battle again against the same defender (with a Cavalry Breakthrough e.g.), it´s a “new” battle.

FIRST STRIKE — Play this card after opponent declares a melee attack, but before the dice roll. Your defending unit will battle first. Can it only be used against one melee attack or if opponent melees twice can you use it against both separate melees ?

The card can be used for one melee attack. Not more. If your same unit gets melee attacked twice you have to choose to use it for the first attack, or hope it can sit it out and use it for the second.
You can use more than one First Strike card per turn if you have multiple. One for the first attack, one for the second, if you like.

If a Cavalry unit attacks an Infantry unit and the Infantry plays a "First Strike" card, may the Infantry form Square then?

No; If the Infantry Play a "FS", they accept the "full" battle of the attacker, if the attacker is not destroyed or forced to retreat.
But if the Infantry is forced to retreat by the CAV attack, the INF may form square, if the CAV makes a Cavalry Breakthrough and battles again the INF (because this is a "new" battle).

Can a player in his own turn play/discard a First Strike card without ordering any units, drawing a new command card, which ends their turn?

Yes. The "First Strike" card is treated as all other command cards too, so the players are allowed to discard this card as "useless" card, as it is described in the rulebook "Phase 1 - Play a Command Card".
Richard Borg; 23. August 2014

NOTE: Rules/FAQ for First Strike and Short Supply (which are now a part of the tactician deck) remain the same, no changes. It is just a reminder.
Richard Borg, June, 11 - 2015

 

Scout

After cancel a played "Scout" card with a Guerrilla action, can the player still pick up 2 cards and choose one between them two?

We play that a Scout card canceled by Spanish Guerillas will cancel issue an order to 1 unit or leader and will also cancel the draw two, choose one and discard the other portion of the card. The French player should only draw a single Command card.

 

Short Supply

Can a unit be 'tele-ported' back to the baseline with Short Supply card?

The unit (except a unit in square) may be indeed teleported, also across a impassable river, for example!

Can i short supply a unit onto a board hex, which cut off the player then from further battle?

Yes. If this is the only hex available, a unit could be cut off as you put it.

NOTE: Rules/FAQ for First Strike and Short Supply (which are now a part of the tactician deck) remain the same, no changes. It is just a reminder.
Richard Borg, June, 11 - 2015

 

Force March

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex, but how many hexes move such a unit with an attached Leader?

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex.
An attached leader does not allow an Austrian Line or Militia Infantry unit to move 2 hexes when ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge.
Richard Borg; 27. October 2013

 

Elan

After played a Elan card, when the decks are reshuffled?

Reshuffle at end of turn, before players draw to refill their cards in hand. So it can happen, that any player draw immediately again the Elan card.
Example: Player A plays an Elan card, order a unit and wants to attack an enemy unit. Player B plays now a First Strike. After both players resolved their battle and results, the card decks are reshuffled and the player with FS draw first, then the initial player, which played Elan.

 

Cavalry Charge

What is the interaction between a Cavalry Charge Command Card and a hex with redoubt?

Cavalry does not loss it charge bonus when attacking across a hex side with field works. (Richard Borg - 09-2014)
Probably not the best use of cavalry, charging across a hex side with field works, but it is possible. If you look at it another way, I guess a few of the horsemen made it over the field works :)

 

Give them cold steel

I don't see any prohibition against making a combined arms attack on the Give Them The Cold Steel card when you have artillery and another unit both adjacent to the target. Artillery at range 1 are considered to be in melee, so presumably they can be ordered with this card. What we did was give the bonus die to both the arty and the other unit. Does anyone see any problem with this?

When the Give Them The Cold Steel card is played and both artillery and infantry or cavalry units are adjacent to the enemy unit if a Combined Arms attack is announced both units will roll one additional die.

Print Email

Log in to comment


Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3976 3 years 3 months ago

I can't find any rules prohibiting such an action although it feels a little strange.


As you already said, there is NO rule which prevent this, so this is allowed!
And i don´t think this is strange, a Square unit it very vulnerable against INF attacks and many range attacks too (because they get no support to ignore flags).

And my general personal question about such subjective estimate is always:
"How many games you played (please dont count Solo games, they are useless). I have played in meantime hundreds of games and it was never strange (if the square was really recovered, most it was much more sense, to recover other units)"
bigmal replied the topic: #3975 3 years 3 months ago
May blocks be returned to a unit in square by cards such as Rally or Leader Unit Reform? I can't find any rules prohibiting such an action although it feels a little strange.

Random Quote

Remember , gentlemen, what a Roman emperor said: The corpse of an enemy always smells sweet.~Napoleon