ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 

Epic Battles

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 5.00 (2 Votes)

General rules corrections & clarifications

Page 13 - First Column top of page - original text reads: ...“draw one Command card or draw one Tactician card”,...

Correct text: When a player does not order any units and/or leaders to March Move, the Corps commander may draw one Command card and draw one Tactician card at the end of the turn.
What this means, is when playing a La Grande Battles scenario and the Corps commander does not use the Corps Command Stars to March Move units, the player will draw one Command card and one Tactician card. Note at the bottom of a Scout, Leadership and Elan Command card it also instruct a player to draw a Tactician card at the end of the turn. It is therefore possible that a player would draw two Tactician cards at the end of the turn.

(Richard Borg; 2017 - 09- 29)

Epic Courier Rack

If a Elan command card is played, are the cards on the courier rack also reshuffled?

When the Elan card is played any cards on the Courier Rack are not shuffled into the Command card deck. The cards remain on the rack.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 08 - 29)

Command Card - Counter Attack

If I counter any tactic command card on a section, may I play the counter in my turn on any section or must it played in the same section as the initial command card?

In Epic / LGM battles, a Counterattack must be played in the same section, as the card which was countered.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 09- 12)

Tactic Command Card

If i play a Tactic command card, e.g. Cavalry Charge, must i play it on a section, on which a referring unit is available, or may i play it on a section without a Cavalry (e.g.) to order one unit of choice?

In the Epic / LGM game, a Command card like a Cavalry Charge card must played in a section that contain the appropriate units ( Cavalry units in this example). Only if there are no appropriate unit on hole battlefield, you may play it on any section to use the option „unit of your choice“.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 09- 12)

Guerilla Action / Markers

Gaining Guerrilla Action Counter

During a battle a CIC or a Corps Commander (EPIC & La Grande Battles) may acquire one additional Guerrilla Action counter each time he plays a Scout Command card. With the following restrictions: • Instead of drawing two Command cards at the end of the turn, the player only draws one Command card and one Tactician card. • The 3 Corps Command Stars may not have been used to March Move units. • Also in an EPIC and La Grande Battles scenario, the player must also have at least four Spanish units in his section(s) to gain a Guerrilla Action counter.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 09- 12)

How many Guerilla Markers can i play in a players turn, so can i play more than one GM in an Epic/LGM battle, and if a GM cancels one played card, is the other card action still played?

Only one Guerrilla Action counter may be played on the French player’s turn in an attempt to stop one French Command card being played. If one French Command card is stopped, the second Command card is still played.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 09- 12)

"If a multisection card is played in an Epic/LGM battle, can such card canceled by a Guerilla Marker?

La Grande Battle: In a La Grande Battles Napoleonic scenario, a multi-section Command card (Recon in Force, Coordinated Advance, Flank Attack and Forward) is given to a Corps commander and therefore may be stopped by the play of a Guerrilla Action counter. As the rule is written, a Guerrilla counter that a Corps commander holds may only be player in an attempt to nullify a Command card played by his opponent in his section.>(Richard Borg; 2016 - 08 - 31)

Epic Battle: In an EPIC Napoleonic scenario, a multi-section Command card (Recon in Force, Coordinated Advance, Flank Attack and Forward) cannot be stopped by the play of a Guerrilla Action counter. Basically, a multi-section Command card in an EPIC scenario is not given to a player and therefore is not played in one section. To keep the rule the same for all EPIC player versions (2, 4, 6, and 8 players) a multi-section Command card cannot be stopped by the play of a Guerrilla Action counter. >(Richard Borg; 2016 - 08 - 31)

Scenario EPIC 01 - Austerlitz

I"The 4 hexes that make up Stare Vinohrady (old vineyards) form a Temporary Majority Group Victory Banner worth 2 banners for the side that occupies an absolute majority at the start of its turn. The Allies start with 2 Victory Banners.".
There are only 3 hill hexes in the setup of the scenario booklet?

It´s a mistake in the scenario booklet. The Vinohrady Heights has 4 hexes in the Epic scenario.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 08 - 31)

Scenario EPIC 12 - Laon

The setup shows 7 prussian leaders, but we only have 6.
5 in Prussian expansion and 1 in the Epic Expansion. Is it a mistake in the scenario setup or is a Leader missing in any game box?

It´s indeed a mistake in the expansion 6 game box, there should be 2 prussian leaders into box instead only 1.
(Richard Borg; 2017 - 01 - 18)

 

Scenario LGB 01 - Austerlitz

It´s not clear, which terrain hexes form the Temporary Majority Group for the "Pratzen Heights" and "Stare Vinohrady"

It´s a mistake in the scenario booklet. The Pratze Heights has 6 hexes and the Stare Vinohrady has 5 hexes in the La Grande Battle scenario.
(Richard Borg; 2016 - 08 - 31)

 

Print Email

Log in to comment

Random Quote

Read over and over again the campaigns of Alexander, Hannibal, Caesar, Gustavus, Turenne, Eugene and Frederic. ... This is the only way to become a great general and master the secrets of the art of war.~Napoleon