ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 

Condensed FAQs

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)
Contents[Hide]

Contents[Hide]

1. BASICS & BATTLE

1.1. Combined Attack

Can a Combined Arms Combat be declared with a Bonus Attack?

Yes, a Combined Arms Combat may be declared with a Bonus Attack.
It´s possible, to save the battle dice of any ordered Artillery, to support a Cavalry in any attack (initial or breakthrough bonus attack)!

Example: You may support a CAV attack in their first attack with a first ordered ART and support the CAV in their bonus attack with a second ordered ART, or you support only one of these attacks.

I don't see any prohibition against making a combined arms attack on what I call the Jackie Robinson card ("cold steal") when you have artillery and another unit both adjacent to the target. Artillery at range 1 are considered to be in melee, so presumably they can be ordered with this card. What we did was give the bonus die to both the arty and the other unit. Does anyone see any problem with this?

When the Give Them The Cold Steel card is played and both artillery and infantry or cavalry units are adjacent to the enemy unit if a Combined Arms attack is announced both units will roll one additional die.

1.2. Guerilla Marker

If a French player’s command card is canceled with a successful Guerrilla Marker, may the canceled Command card be counter attacked by the Spanish player?

The Spanish player may play a Counter Attack Command card and use the canceled Command card.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - July - 16)

1.3.  Iron Will Marker

Can a Cavalry, which attacks an Infantry in square formation, ignore the bouncing flag with an "Iron Will" marker?

The bouncing flag cancels ALL rules, which may ignore a flag.

For example: Supporting Units, Attached Leaders, Unit own skills an all other special rules we have already as "Iron Will" or we get still in future (and if there is once a rule in future, which would allow it, then the rule would state it explicit)

1.4.  Taking Ground

Can a unit, which moved onto a fordable river (or forest/town or another terrain, which "stops" movement), take ground after a sucessfull battle ?

No. As the rule is written, an unit or leader that enters a Forest, Town, Fordable River (or any similar other) hex must stop and may move no further on that turn. Taking ground is not possible after a unit enters a Forest, Town, Fordable Rivers or similar hexes.

 

2. UNITS

2.1. Grenadiers

In the Russians rules BOTH the Spanish and the Russians grenadiers DO NOT have +1D when they battle-back. They have +1D in melee in all the other situations. In the other hand we do not find any rule saying that the French or English grenadiers do not have +1D when they battleback?
So the Spanish & Russian grenadiers would be the only one with this strange special rule?

Sorry for not catching this bug earlier. Both the Spanish Grenadier and Russian Grenadier suffer from the same bug and the Battle details in their respective rule books for these two units should read:

Spanish Grenadier
Range Fire Standing: 1 die per block 
Range Fire Moving: dice equal to 1/2 number of blocks rounded down
Melee and Battle Back: 1 die per block, plus 1 die.

Russian Grenadier
Range Fire Standing: 1 die per block 
Range Fire Moving: dice equal to 1/2 number of blocks round up
Melee and Battle Back: 1 die per block, plus 1 die.

Note that the words "Battle Back" was inserted with Range Standing and these words should actually have been placed after Melee. Good catch guys! I guess that players would come to realize this bug in time because a unit cannot battle back in ranged combat.
Again I am very sorry for the error. Richard Borg

2.2. Line Infantry

Get the Prussian Line Infantry the +1 die in Melee if they use the First Strike?

The Prussian Line Infantry unit don´t get the +1 die when using the “First Strike” Command card.
Possibly the better way to write the rule would have been: When a Prussian Line Infantry unit is ordered and does not move, or the unit is battling back, roll 1 additional die in melee.

2.3. Militia Lancer Cavalry

"No saber hits except Initial saber hits or saber hits on flag re-rolls vs. lone leaders"
Does this mean, that Militia Lancers hits all Units with a XSW result?

This passage refers to lone Leaders only! 
So Militia Lancers don´t hit any unit with XSW, only lone Leaders. And in such a battle, the Leader would also hit on the additional (Flag rerolled) XSW result.

2.4. Light Cossack Cavalry

"Unit will ignore forest terrain melee combat dice reduction". Does this mean, Cossacks move onto a forest hex and can still battle?

Exact. Russian Cossacks, ignore forest terrain melee combat dice reduction and can move onto a forest terrain hex and battle. Note, that movement rules for a forest hex still apply to Cossack units. 

Richard Borg; 10. March 2015

2.5. Rocket Battery

Must a Rocket Battery reduce the battle dice because of their own terrain hex?

- A rocket battery, when in some types of terrain, melee dice are reduced, just as a horse artillery unit would be reduced. 
- A rocket battery, when in some types of terrain, ranged combat dice are not reduced. By the rules, a rocket battery will for the most part always roll 2 dice in ranged combat. (Richard Borg, 2015 - July - 13)

3. TERRAINS

3.1. Fieldworks

When a Saber is rolled on the Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll, may a 2 sided field works only be placed on a hill, forest or town hex, or may a field works be placed on a bridge, church windmill terrain hex?

On a Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll, when a Saber is rolled it does not restrict the placement of a field works hex with 2 sides to just a unit on a hill, forest or town hex. The Mother Russia Saber bullet's final sentence reads, "If a unit is already on a terrain hex, replace the terrain hex with an available terrain hex that contains the terrain and field works." The key word is available  terrain hex. Currently there are no official scenarios that have a Russian infantry or artillery unit on a bridge, church or windmill hex, therefore GMT did not include these terrain hexes with a field works in the mix of terrain tiles in the Russian expansion.

If a town has a field works does the unit ignore a flag?

A unit on a hex with a field works, being attacked through a field works hex side, will allow an infantry or artillery unit to ignore one flag. Battle restrictions for the terrain the field works is on will still apply. Note that field works on a country side hex (no terrain hex) will apply field works battle restrictions.

May a Russian Line infantry unit that is being attacked through a field works side of a hex ignore two flags, one flag for the field works and one flag because it is a Russian Line unit?

Yes.

Is the rule found in the Russian expansion, that an infantry unit can form square when on a field works hex apply to the core game and Spanish expansion as well?

The rule that allows infantry on a field works to form square when being attacked by cavalry not across a hex side with a field works does indeed apply to the core game and all expansions.

Is a unit in square (able to man the walls, therefore) still able to ignore one Flag of attacks comming through the Field Work hex sides OR they lose that terrain bonus because being in square?

A square on a field works hex should be able to ignore 1 flag when the attack is across a hex side with field works. (Richard Borg - 09-2014)

"A Field Works provides protection along the forward facing hex sides."  How does this exact work?

It works exact as the "fences" rules in Battlecry, see charts below. (Richard Borg: 2015 - July- 30) 

3.2.  Expansion 3 – Austrian Terrain Tiles

Did the walled farm tiles come with this expansion? As I noticed them in the rule / scenario book. I have 18 tiles but none of them are of a walled farm.

The incorrectly printed terrain tile sheet in C&C Austrians is being reprinted and will be included at no charge in the upcoming C&C Prussians. There will be extra free copies for those who do not purchase C&C Prussians.

4. LEADERS

4.1. General

Can a portuguese general be attached to a british unit, and vice versa?

All leaders and units for the nations you command are considered friendly. Unless the Scenario Special Rules prohibit it, one nation's leader may attach to any other national units that you command. 
And all units on the same side as such a friendly Leader, benefit all bonus of this Leader.

Does a friendly leader in one of the two hexes that cavalry need retire into block the action? For instance, in the example on page 16 of the rules, if there was a friendly leader on either of the two wood hexes, can the cavalry retire and reform?

A cavalry without an attached leader may Retire and Reform one hex onto a hex that contains an unattached friendly leader (i.e. a leader alone in a hex). The leader is immediately attached to the unit and the cavalry unit does not have to retire and reform its second hex (it must stop then on Leaders hex).

Can a retreating Leader escape through a hex with a lone enemy Leader?

Yes.

If a leader can escape through a hex with a lone enemy Leader, how many dice would the lone enemy leader roll?

The leader when alone does not battle, so no dice are rolled.

4.2. Leader Escape

How do i determine the number of dice during a Leader Escape roll.

By a leader escape roll, no Terrain- and Command Cards rules apply.
Only own skills of an unit or special formation limits (Square for example) can increase or decrease the number of battledice.

Example 1:
Q. A Leader escapes through an enemy (3Block) Heavy Cavalry, which is in a town hex. How many dice the HC rolls to hit the leader?
A. 4 dice
Per the Leader Escape Procedure Rules: Move the leader onto the enemy hex and allow the enemy unit in the hex to battle the leader. The attacking unit uses its normal number of melee combat dice. In this case Heavy Cavalry will roll 4 dice. The leader does not benefit from terrain in the hex.

Example 2:
Q. If a leader escapes through an enemy Infantry unit in square formation, how many dice rolls this infantry unit roll to hit the leader?
A. 1 die
Per the Leader Escape Procedure Rules: Move the leader onto the enemy hex and allow the enemy unit in the hex to battle the leader. The attacking unit uses its normal number of melee combat dice. In this case 1 die, because one die is the maximum number of dice an infantry unit in square rolls in melee.

5. SCENARIOS 

5.1. 015 – Waterloo (18 June 1815)

"Impetuous British Cavalry”. Any victorious British cavalry unit must advance into the vacated hex after regular or bonus combat. Victorious British cavalry must also advance the extra one hex after regular combat if one or more vacant hexes are available (Allied player’s choice of hex). 
What does this 2nd part exact mean?

The second part was poorly worded. The second hex must be toward the French mapedge. If more than one such hex is available, the Allied player chooses.

 "Impetuous British Cavalry”. Any victorious British cavalry unit must advance into the vacated hex after regular or bonus combat.
Does this rule apply for british Cavalry only or also for the "allies" Cavalry (brown blocks).

The special rule apply only for the british Cavalry units (red blocks).

 A Walled Farm terrain tile hex effect has been updated to allow a unit on a Walled Farm hex to ignore one flag.

It is suggested that players replace Hougomont and La Haye Sainte town tiles with Walled Farm tiles and use the updated effect.

5.2. 202 - Golymin (26 December 1806)

Count the Cossacks in the scenario Golymin (also in other scenarios, in which "off board" evading units counts as VP), as Victory Point too, because they don´t count as Victory Point if they are destroyed?

Yes, a Cossack unit will count as 1 VB when ordered to exit the battlefield in such scenarios.
Note, if units must retreat, they can´t use the retreat to leave the battlefield and must stop on board edge and loose blocks as normal, for each hex, they can´t retreat.

5.3. 208 – Heilsberg – Opening Phase (10 June 1807)

It is not clear if the fork in the river terrain belongs to the fordable Bevernick Stream or the impassable River Alle?

The fork is considered to be part of the impassable River Alle.

5.4. 317 – St. Michael-Leoben (25 May 1809)

When the baggage train block reaches St. Michael is the block removed?

Yes, the Austrians receive 2 VP and the baggage train block is removed.

5.5. 319 – Wagram – MacDonald´s Square (6 July 1809)

"The French player gains 1 Victory Banner at the start of the turn for each town hex occupied". Is that a Temporary or Permanent Victory Banner?

It´s a Temporary Victory Banner Objective Hex (this would be the exact wording).

5.6. 320 – Wagram – Davout at Markgrafneusiedl (6 July 1809)

What are the exact victory conditions for the hills and the rows between hills and edge?

- The French player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner for each hill hex occupied (along the line of hill hexes). 
- The French player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner for each hex between the line of hill hexes and Austrian baseline that a French unit occupies at the start of the turn. 
The only hill hex the French do not receive a Victory Banner for when it is occupied, is the lone hill hex in the French right sector.

5.7. 405 – Halle – Morning (17 October 1806)

What are the exact victory conditions about the hills and the hexes between the hills and edge?

The entire river system of the Saale (both rows) is fordable. The shallow fords do not stop movement.

5.8. 418 – Ligny (16 June 1815)

"The Ligny brook has no battle restrictions, but stops movement and will break charges. Meaning, a cavalry unit on or that crosses the stream when ordered by a Charge card, will not gain the additional dice listed on the card." What does this exactly mean?

A bad phrasing here, better wording is:
" The Ligny brook stops movement, but an infantry unit after a successful melee may take ground and a cavalry unit may breakthrough. In addition, cavalry unit ordered by a charge card, that attacks into, out of, or when it moves across or moves across on its breakthrough, will not gain the addition dice listed on the charge card."
Please note: This rule(s) apply only for the non bridge river hexes; The bridges use their normal basic rules!

5.9. 510 – Möckern – French Right (16 October 1813)

The objective Victory conditions are a little bit unclear, how many hexes must be occupied and how many VP the players get.

- The Allied Player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner at the start of the turn for occupying each town hex of Gross Wiederitzsch and Kline Wiederitzsch. The Allied Player can possibly gain three Victory Banners if all three town hexes are occupied.
- The French player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner when no Allied units occupy any of the three town hexes of Gross Wiederitzsch and Kline. The French player starts with 1 Banner. The most the French player can gain is 1 Banner. Note, this Temporary banner can be gained and lost immediately during a turn. 
(Richard Borg: 2015 - June - 09)

5.10. 514 – Chateau-Thierry (12 February 1814)

Get the French player 1VP for each bridge or only 1.

- The French player get 1VP for each bridge, he occupies.
(Richard Borg: 2015 - June - 09)

6. COMMAND CARDS (old)

6.1. General

When is the Mother-Russia-Roll to be applied? Before or After drawing Command Cards?

Please do the Mother Russia roll BEFORE drawing Commands Cards

Some Command Cards like Leadership, Bayonet Charge, Cavalry Charge, Bombard e.g., gives special/different benefits to the special units, which are named on the cards. But if you choose the substitute order order one unit of your choice, apply the benefit also to this alternate single unit?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and act with his own base rules.

6.2. Bayonet Charge

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex, but how many hexes move such a unit with an attached Leader?

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex. An attached leader does not allow an Austrian Line or Militia Infantry unit to move 2 hexes when ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge. 
Richard Borg; 2013 – October 27 

6.3. La Grande Manoeuvre

While playing LA GRANDE MANOEUVRE must be the terrain restrictions observed or can be ignored?

If it doesn't tell you to ignore the restrictions, then they must still be observed.

6.4. Fire and Hold

FIRE AND HOLD — May i order only Infantry or Artillery units?

The card should read exact "Issue an order to 4 or fewer INFANTRY and/or ARTILLERY units", so you can order up to 4 ART and INF units together

6.5. First Strike

FIRST STRIKE — Play this card after opponent declares a melee attack, but before the dice roll. Your defending unit will battle first. Can it only be used against one melee attack or if opponent melees twice can you use it against both separate melees ?

The card can be used for one melee attack. Not more. If your same unit gets melee attacked twice you have to choose to use it for the first attack, or hope it can sit it out and use it for the second.
You can use more than one First Strike card per turn if you have multiple. One for the first attack, one for the second, if you like.

If a Cavalry unit attacks an Infantry unit and the Infantry plays a "First Strike" card, may the Infantry form Square then?

No; If the Infantry Play a "First Strike", they accept the "full" battle of the attacker, if the attacker is not destroyed or forced to retreat. But if the Infantry is forced to retreat by the CAV attack, the INF may form square, if the CAV makes a Cavalry Breakthrough and battles again the INF (because this is a "new" battle).

Can a player in his own turn play/discard a First Strike card without ordering any units, drawing a new command card, which ends their turn?

Yes. The "First Strike" card is treated as all other command cards too, so the players are allowed to discard this card as "useless" card, as it is described in the rulebook "Phase 1 - Play a Command Card".
Richard Borg; 23 August 2014

NOTE: Rules/FAQ for First Strike and Short Supply (which are now a part of the tactician deck) remain the same, no changes. It is just a reminder. Richard Borg, June, 11 - 2015

6.6. Scout

After cancel a played "Scout" card with a Guerrilla action, can the player still pick up 2 cards and choose one between them two?

We play that a Scout card canceled by Spanish Guerillas will cancel issue an order to 1 unit or leader and will also cancel the draw two, choose one and discard the other portion of the card. The French player should only draw a single Command card. (Richard Borg)

6.7. Short Supply

Can a unit be 'tele-ported' back to the baseline with Short Supply card?

The unit (except a unit in square) may be indeed teleported, also across a impassable river, for example!

Can i short supply a unit onto a board hex, which cut off the player then from further battle?

Yes. If this is the only hex available, a unit could be cut off as you put it.

NOTE: Rules/FAQ for First Strike and Short Supply (which are now a part of the tactician deck) remain the same, no changes. It is just a reminder. Richard Borg, June, 11 - 2015

6.8. Force March

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex, but how many hexes move such a unit with an attached Leader?

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex. An attached leader does not allow an Austrian Line or Militia Infantry unit to move 2 hexes when ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge. 
Richard Borg; 27 October 2013

6.9. Elan

After played a Elan card, when the decks are reshuffled?

Reshuffle at end of turn, before players draw to refill their cards in hand. So it can happen, that any player draw immediately again the Elan card.

Example: Player A plays an Elan card, order a unit and wants to attack an enemy unit. Player B plays now a First Strike. After both players resolved their battle and results, the card decks are reshuffled and the player with FS draw first, then the initial player, which played Elan.

6.10. Cavalry Charge

What is the interaction between a Cavalry Charge Command Card and a hex with redoubt?

Cavalry does not loss it charge bonus when attacking across a hex side with field works.
Probably not the best use of cavalry, charging across a hex side with field works, but it is possible. If you look at it another way, I guess a few of the horsemen made it over the field works  :) 
(Richard Borg – 2014 - September)

6.11. Bayonet Charge

If I don´t have a infantry unit and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice to this unit also?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules.

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex, but how many hexes move such a unit with an attached Leader?

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex. An attached leader does not allow an Austrian Line or Militia Infantry unit to move 2 hexes when ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge.

6.12. Bombard

If I don´t have any artillery unit and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice and three hex movement also to this unit?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules.

6.13. Cavalry Charge

If I don´t have a cavalry unit and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice to this unit also?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules.

6.14. Elan

After played a Elan card, when the decks are reshuffled?

Reshuffle at end of turn, before players draw to refill their cards in hand. So it can happen, that any player draw immediately again the Elan card.

Example: Player A plays an Elan card, order a unit and wants to attack an enemy unit. Player B plays now a First Strike. After both players resolved their battle and results, the card decks are reshuffled and the player with FS draw first, then the initial player, which played Elan.

6.15. Fire and Hold

May i order only Infantry or Artillery units?

The card should read exact "Issue an order to 4 or fewer INFANTRY and/or ARTILLERY units", so you can order up to 4 ART and INF units together

What happens, if units/LDR retreats adjacent during range combat. 
Can the ordered unit, still battle, its a melee then, and get they +1 bonus die?

The Ordered unit could not battle because the card specifies Ranged Combat. Since you choose the order of combats, you should be careful to have this firing unit fire first.

If I don´t have a infantry or artillery unit and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice to this unit also?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules. 

Example, a Cavalry unit may move and battle.

7. COMMAND CARDS (G.M.T.)

7.1. Force March

If I don´t have a infantry or artillery unit and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice to this unit also?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules. 

Example, a Cavalry unit may move and battle.

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex, but how many hexes move such a unit with an attached Leader?

When an Austrian Militia or Line Infantry unit is ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge Command card, the unit may only move a maximum of 1 hex. An attached leader does not allow an Austrian Line or Militia Infantry unit to move 2 hexes when ordered by a Force March or Bayonet Charge.

7.2. La Grande Manoeuver

While playing LA GRANDE MANOEUVER must be the terrain restrictions observed or can be ignored?

If it doesn't tell you to ignore the restrictions, then they must still be observed.

Why should I choose the substitute order of one unit, because I can with the special order up to 4 units and move them up to 4 hexes.

It makes sense sometime, to choose the substitute, because you can move and battle with the units own base rules then!

7.3. Leadership

If I don´t have a leader and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice to this unit also?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules.

7.4. Scout

After cancel a played "Scout" card with a Guerrilla action, can the player still pick up 2 cards and choose one between them two?

We play that a Scout card canceled by Spanish Guerillas will cancel issue an order to 1 unit or leader and will also cancel the draw two, choose one and discard the other portion of the card. The French player should only draw a single Command card. (Richard Borg)

7.5. Take Command

"When leader is attached to a unit, so long as the leader remains with the unit, that unit is also ordered." 
Does this mean that you may order an attached Leader also as single leader to move him away from the unit and let back the unit in "unordered" status?

An attached Leader may be ordered to move away from the unit and the unit remains unordered. (Richard Borg; 2015 - August - 13)

7.6. Take Command Any Section

If countering Take Command Any Section, must it be played in the same (opposite) section as the original card?

Take Command Any Section, when counter does not have to be in the same section.
However, Take Command Right when countered is Take Command Left, Take Command Center is Take Command Center and Take Command Left is take Command Right when countered.
(Richard Borg; 2015 - October- 16)

8. TACTICIAN CARDS

8.1. General

BASIC NOTES:
- The usage of the Tactician Cards is optional.
- All Tactician Cards must be already in players hand at turn start, to allow their playing 
- No unit (also with attached leader) and no single leader can get more than 1 Tactician Card each turn.

8.2. Artillery Reposition

How can this card used together with a "Bombard" command card, because both cards are either contradictory or to powerfull (if you are allowed to move 6 hexes e.g.)?

The two cards really do not work together, therefore the combination of both cards are not allowed. (Richard Borg: 2015 - June - 28)

The Fire and Hold command card is similar as the Bombard command card. So the Artillery Repositon tactician card can´t used togethre with "Fire and Hold" also?

Right. Because the Fire and Hold Command card states, “Units may not move before or after combat…” would not allow the Artillery to reposition. (Richard Borg: 2015 - July - 07)

If i play La Grande Manoeuvre, can i move then additional 3 hex with Artillery Repostion?

No! The usage of Artillery Repostion along with LGM would make no sense, because Artillery Repostion would reduce the movement from 4 to 3 hex. (Richard Borg: 2015 - July - 11)

8.3. Break The Square

Must it played in order phase, or can the active player wait, if the opponent goes into square, to decide then, if he want use it?

The “Break The Square” Tactician card is played just before a cavalry unit is going to attack an enemy infantry unit that is in Square (immediate before the Cavalry rolls the dice). (Richard Borg: 2015 - May - 22)

8.4. Capable Tactician

If i read it correct, it makes no sense, to play this card after a Elan was played, because then are no left cards into the Tactician discard pile, before i make any choice?

You read the note correct. I guess we could of stated “When an Elan card was played, the card decks are shuffled before the player draws cards. Because after shuffling, there are no Tactician cards in the discard pile, a Capable Tactician card will have no cards in the discard pile.  (Richard Borg: 2015 - May - 26)

8.5. Call Forward Reserves

How many options do i have, to place the reinforcements, 2 or 3 (not clear about wording)?

There are only 2 options. 
1. move the unit onto a hex with a lone leader (leader hex can contain any terrain hex) 
2. move onto a hex that is adjacent to a leader, but this hex cannot have any terrain feature or be occupied by another unit. 
(Richard Borg: 2015 - July- 26)

8.6. Charge if Charged

If a player play this card with a Lancer unit, does the Lancers get the "flag reroll dice"?

The “Charge if Charged” Tactician card means the both units are considered to be attacking. Therefore when the Charge if Charged Tactician card is played on a lancer unit, it would reroll flag results.  (Richard Borg: 2015 - October- 07)

8.7. First Strike

First Strike - Play this card after opponent declares a melee attack, but before the dice roll. Your defending unit will battle first. Can it only be used against one melee attack or if opponent melees twice can you use it against both separate melees ?

The card can be used for one melee attack. Not more. If your same unit gets melee attacked twice you have to choose to use it for the first attack, or hope it can sit it out and use it for the second.
You can use more than one First Strike card per turn if you have multiple. One for the first attack, one for the second, if you like.

If a Cavalry unit attacks an Infantry unit and the Infantry plays a "First Strike" card, may the Infantry form Square then?

No; If the Infantry Play a "First Strike", they accept the "full" battle of the attacker, if the attacker is not destroyed or forced to retreat. But if the Infantry is forced to retreat by the CAV attack, the INF may form square, if the CAV makes a Cavalry Breakthrough and battles again the INF (because this is a "new" battle).

8.8. Leaders Orders Fall Back

May the falling back unit move also through friendly units too or only through non-impassable terrain?

Only through terrain that is non-impassable. The Fall Back may not be made through friendly units.  (Richard Borg: 2015 - June - 22)

8.9. Sappers

Does the Sappers benefit from battle out- and inside? Are units allowed to battle if they move onto a terrain, which prevent normal battles?

The card works only for the target hex, so all movement and battle rules for the attacker hex still apply
(Richard Borg: 2015 - June - 22)

8.10. Short Supply

Can a Short Supply be used on a lone LDR?

No. Card specifies moving one units, and by definition, leaders are not units.

Can a unit be 'teleported' back to the baseline with Short Supply card?

The unit (except a unit in square) may be indeed teleported, also across a impassable river, for example!

Can I short supply a unit onto a board hex, which cut off the player then from further battle?

Yes. If this is the only hex available, a unit could be cut off as you put it.

8.11. Superb Infantry Training

How many dice would a British Line Infantry roll with this card, especially would the British LN get the +1 die for standing fire?

A unit fires with the number of blocks but a British Line Infantry would not get the +1 die, because they moved. (Richard Borg: 2015 - July- 30)

 

Print Email

Log in to comment

Random Quote

There are in Europe many good generals, but they see too many things at once. I see one thing, namely the enemy's main body. I try to crush it, confident that secondary matters will then settle themselves. ~Napoleon