ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

Units

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 1.50 (1 Vote)

Grenadiers

In the Russians rules BOTH the Spanish and the Russians grenadiers DO NOT have +1D when they battle-back. They have +1D in melee in all the other situations.
In the other hand we do not find any rule saying that the French or English grenadiers do not have +1D when they battleback?
So the Spanish & Russian grenadiers would be the only one with this strange special rule?

Sorry for not catching this bug earlier.
Both the Spanish Grenadier and Russian Grenadier suffer from the same bug and the Battle details in their respective rule books for these two units should read:

Spanish Grenadier
Battle:
Range Fire Standing: 1 die per block
Range Fire Moving: dice equal to 1/2 number of blocks rounded down
Melee and Battle Back: 1 die per block, plus 1 die.


Russian Grenadier
Battle:
Range Fire Standing: 1 die per block
Range Fire Moving: dice equal to 1/2 number of blocks round up
Melee and Battle Back: 1 die per block, plus 1 die.

Note that the words "Battle Back" was inserted with Range Standing and these words should actually have been placed after Melee. Good catch guys! I guess that players would come to realize this bug in time because a unit cannot battle back in ranged combat.

Again I am very sorry for the error.
Richard Borg

Guard Foot Artillery

Get the Russian Guard Foot Artillery also the +1 die in melee as the French Guard Foot Artillery?

Yes, the Russian Guard Foot Artillery get also the +1 die in melee
Richard Borg; 2016, February 06

Guard Horse Artillery

Get the French Guard Horse Artillery also +1 die in melee (because of the small notice in the charts), or is it a mistake?

Yes, the French Guard Horse Artillery get also +1 die in melee
Richard Borg; 2016, February 06

Line Infantry

Get the Prussian Line Infantry the +1 die in Melee if they use the First Strike?

The Prussian Line Infantry unit don´t get the +1 die when using the “First Strike” Command card.

Possibly the better way to write the rule would have been: When a Prussian Line Infantry unit is ordered and does not move, or the unit is battling back, roll 1 additional die in melee.

Militia Lancer Cavalry

"No saber hits except Initial saber hits or saber hits on flag re-rolls vs. lone leaders"
Does this mean, that Militia Lancers hits all Units with a XSW result?

This passage refers to lone Leaders only! 
So Militia Lancers don´t hit any unit with XSW, only lone Leaders. And in such a battle, the Leader would also hit on the additional (Flag rerolled) XSW result.

Cossack Cavalry

"Unit will ignore forest terrain melee combat dice reduction"

Does this mean, Cossacks move onto a forest hex and can still battle?

Exact
Russian Cossacks, ignore forest terrain melee combat dice reduction and can move onto a forest terrain hex and battle.
Note, that movement rules for a forest hex still apply to Cossack units.
Richard Borg; 10. March 2015

Rocket Battery

Must a Rocket Battery reduce the battle dice because of their own terrain hex?

- A rocket battery, when in some types of terrain, melee dice are reduced, just as a horse artillery unit would be reduced.
- A rocket battery, when in some types of terrain, ranged combat dice are not reduced. By the rules, a rocket battery will for the most part always roll 2 dice in ranged combat.
(Richard Borg, 2015 - July - 13)

Is the Rocket Battery a kind of artillery and can i order it with Command Cards, which refers explicit to any Artillery units (Bombard, Cavalry Charge e.g.)?
Further can i use all Tactician Cards for the Rocket Battery, which refers also to Artillery (Artillery Canister, Artillery Combat Bonus, Artillery Reposition)?

A Rocket Battery is classified as an Artillery unit and therefore will benefit from Command and Tactician cards that refer to artillery.

In regard to the sentence –
In ranged combat, a Rocket Battery always rolls 2 dice unless increased by an appropriate Tactician card.
A better wording of this line would have been - In combat, a Rocket Battery always rolls 2 dice unless increased by an appropriate Command card and/or Tactician card.
(Richard Borg, 2016 - April - 08)

Horse Artillery

A 3 strength Horse artillery moves adjacent to an Infantry unit and declares a melee attack. The Infantry plays First Strike, and reduces the HA to 1 block an a moving HA with only 1 block cannot battle. Q: Can the HA still battle, because it´s movement was before it was reduced to one block

The Horse Artillery unit could battle before the First Strike card is played, it can still battle after the First Strike even with a single block.
The Horse Artillery battles then with the strength of the left 1 block!
This follow the logical play of the game.
Richard Borg; 2019, May 05

Print Email

Log in to comment

Random Quote

To have good soldiers, a nation must always be at war.~Napoleon