Fire and Hold

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)

Fire and Hold

{phocadocumentation view=navigation|type=mpcn}

 

FIRE AND HOLD

Issue an order to 4 or fewer INFANTRY or ARTILLERY units. Ordered units will perform ranged combat with 1 additional die.  Ordered units may not be adjacent to enemy troops. Units may not move before or after combat, but may come out of square if eligible. If you do not have any infantry or artillery units, issue an order to 1 unit of your choice. (2 cards)

 

May i order only Infantry or Cavalry units?

The card should read exact "Issue an order to 4 or fewer INFANTRY and/or ARTILLERY units", so you can order up to 4 CAV and INF units together

Whats happens, if units/LDR retreats adjacent during range combat.
Can the ordered unit, still battle, its a melee then, and get they +1 bonus die?

The Ordered unit could not battle because the card specifies Ranged Combat. Since you choose the order of combats, you should be careful to have this firing unit fire first.

If I don´t have a infantry or artillery unit and choose the substitute order of one unit, apply the benefit of additional battle dice to this unit also?

No, the single unit, which is ordered with the substitute order, don´t get the benefits of the card and this unit move and battle with his own base rules.
Example, a Cavalry unit may move and battle.

Print Email

Log in to comment


alecrespi replied the topic: #384 9 years 7 months ago
Here you can find an answer directly from GMT GAMES (Mr Tony Curtis)

The Ordered unit could not battle because the card specifies Ranged Combat. Since you choose the order of combats, you should be careful to have this firing unit fire first.

Added FAQ in the relative "Card" Page.
Stormkahn's Avatar
Stormkahn replied the topic: #381 9 years 7 months ago
I don't think this is a possibility.

You can only command units that are NOT adjacent. This is ranged combat, there's no battle back and if anybody is retreating it's the target.
Freeloading-Phill's Avatar
Freeloading-Phill replied the topic: #380 9 years 7 months ago
This is a tricky one.

I'd say that judging by stated intent of similiar cards in other C&C games the unit would be unable to battle.

As written the unit may be able to battle (but without the +1 die as that is explicitly only for ranged combat) however the second sentence does say will perform range combat implying that this is all they will be able to do from that order.

Phill
Oleg's Avatar
Oleg replied the topic: #378 9 years 7 months ago
Well, Michael, you're right if we look at the card text - there are no direct indication that unit may battle only in ranged combat.
but
Logic suggests that as we treat every battle in which units are adjucent as "melee" and card allows us only to "fire", close combat is impossible here.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #376 9 years 7 months ago
Whats happens, if units/LDR retreats adjacent during range combat.
Can the ordered unit, still battle, its a melee then, and get they
+1 bonus die?

I think, battle yes, but without bonus die.

Random Quote

What my enemies call a general peace is my destruction. What I call peace is merely the disarmament of my enemies. Am I not more moderate than they?~Napoleon