ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 

518 Hougoumont (18 June 1815)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 3.88 (4 Votes)
 56 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  44 %
Total plays 16 - Last reported by Mark-McG on 2017-05-15 03:13:34

Hougoumont - 18 June 1815

Historical Background
At Waterloo, Wellington had little choice but to occupy Hougoumont, for it would prevent the French from gaining the heart of the British position along the ridgeline. In fact, Wellington came close to losing the battle by undergarrisoning Hougoumont.
Opposite Hougoumont stood General Foy and Jerome Bonaparte with three divisions of the French II Corps. The initial attack began around 11:30 AM. The first assault met resistance, but the French infantry forced their way into the woods. As they came out on the other side, they were forced to fall back from the intense fire from the buildings and walled garden. The second assault gained a small lodgement, but the attackers again were driven back. A third attack breached the gate of the walled farm, and only the heroics of local Guards commander MacDonell and a small force succeeded in closing the gate and wiping out the attackers. Despite the success of the defenders, the crisis was not over yet, for Foy’s Division joined the attack around 1 PM and gained the orchard. The Scots Guards then counter attacked from the ridge and drove the French out of the orchard. The orchard was attacked again in the late afternoon, but the British had reinforced the position and the attack again failed. The battle for Hougoumont was all but over by 7 PM.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

 

Set-Up Order

Forest 10
Hill 15
Orchard 4
Walled Farm 3
Walled Garden 2

 

Battle Notes

British Army *
• Commander: Wellington
• 6 Command Cards
• 6 Tactician Cards
* Use brown blocks for Nassau and Hanover units, use Portugese National Reference card with two exceptions: line units retreat 2 hexes for each flag and light infantry have 4 blocks.

Line Infantry Light Infantry Rifle Infantry Guard Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery General   Line Infantry Light Infantry Militia Infantry
3 2 1 2 1 3 1 3   1 1 1

 

French Army
• Commander: Reille
• 5 Command Cards
• 4 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Light Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery General
11 4 1 2 1 4

 

Victory
8 Banners

Special Rules
• The orchard is a Temporary Victory Banner worth 1 banner for the French, when at least 1 orchard hex is occupied by a French unit at the start of the turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The British player gains 1 Temporary Victory Banner at the start of the turn, if the French do not occupy any of the 3 Hougoumont walled farm or 2 walled garden hexes. The British start the battle with 1 Victory Banner (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The French player gains 2 Temporary Victory Banners at the start of the turn, if the British do not occupy any of the 3 Hougoumont walled farm hexes (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The French player gains 1 Victory Banner if 3 full strength British units do not occupy the British baseline (Temporary Victory Banner)

"The French player gains 1 Victory Banner if 3 full strength British units do not occupy the British baseline"
Does this mean, that only british unit counts or also british allies (brown blocks) ?

- British allies units would also count.
(Richard Borg: 2016 - 05 - 16)

Tags: Expansion 5, Banners: 8, Army: Allies, Army: British, Army: French, Special Rule: Temporary VB, Special Rule: Temporary VB (Turn Start)

Print Email

Log in to comment


Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #4757 6 months 2 days ago
All kind of "Objective Victory Banners" can only be fullfilled by units and not by Leaders (remember rulebook page 7, left colum
" A Leader is not a unit, and is represented by a single block."
except, the scenario notes described it explicit otherwise.

Richard Borg, 2017-05-14
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #4754 6 months 3 days ago
in Special rules 2 & 3 the condition is vacant, i.e no not occupy. Does a Leader count as 'occupying' for the purposes of cancelling this condition?
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #4482 8 months 2 weeks ago
no - temporary banners are only gained and held for as long as the condition is met at turn start. They are not cumulative. They are lost immediately the condition is not met.
Permanent banners can be cumulative if the condition can be met multiple times (e.g. per unit that exits)
rentee's Avatar
rentee replied the topic: #4481 8 months 2 weeks ago
Clarification Question on The British 1 temporary Victory Banner at turn start if French do not occupy Hougoumont walled farm or garden. Is this to force the French to directly attack within a time limit, else wise they lose in 7 turns? And what happens if/when French hold a walled farm or garden, do the British lose all of the previous temporary Victory Banners including the one they start with? The scenario plays very well and balanced with often both sides at 7 banners on last turn.
TheMP's Avatar
TheMP replied the topic: #3606 1 year 6 months ago
Thanks a lot for that.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3605 1 year 6 months ago
A: (RB) British allies units would also count.
TheMP's Avatar
TheMP replied the topic: #3604 1 year 6 months ago
Thanks, I look forward to the decision.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #3602 1 year 6 months ago
We played it so far, as straight written, only british, but because of some other questions, i attached your question also,
so we will see/hear, what the designers intention really is here.
TheMP's Avatar
TheMP replied the topic: #3600 1 year 6 months ago
Where it states that 3 British full block units must hold the baseline, does it mean British Red units or does it in fact mean British/Allied units?
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #2828 2 years 4 months ago
This would be to much additional work.
Remember, all the official maps here are not a substitute for the original
scenarios in the expansion booklets, only an additional help/view,
to clarify rules/notes e.g.

And with the terrain list on the side and the maps labels, you should identify
at least 90% of the terrain, and if some terrain is still unclear then, you can always ask ;)
Waterloo-Simon's Avatar
Waterloo-Simon replied the topic: #2827 2 years 4 months ago
Is it possible to load maps with units not shown so that the underlying terrain can be seen clearly? Thanks
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #2826 2 years 4 months ago
TAG Search:
- Banners: 8
- Years: Seventh Coalition
- Army: French / Allies
- Game Box: Marshals&Tactician
- Special Rule:
Temporary Victory banner;

Random Quote

The basic principle that we must follow in directing the armies of the Republic is this: that they must feed themselves on war at the expense of the enemy territory. ~Napoleon