006 River Coa (24 July 1810)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 3.71 (7 Votes)
 54 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  46 %
Total plays 123 - Last reported by TheMP on 2021-04-28 19:20:44

River Coa - 24 July 1810

Historical Background
After eliminating the garrison at Ciudad Rodrigo, Marshal André Masséna ordered Marshal Ney’s 6th Corps to advance on the fortress of Almeida. Rather than retreat and cross the river as ordered by Wellington, Crauford courted disaster and chose to hold his bridgehead. Crauford and the French both wanted to control the narrow stone bridge which was the only way to cross the Côa for several miles.
In the early hours of July 24th, Ney pushed forward his entire force against Crauford’s outnumbered Anglo-Portuguese Light Division. The first French attacks by Loison’s Division were checked by intense musket and rifle fire. As the fight in the center raged, French light cavalry braved the fire of the guns of Almeida and charged forward, routing the left flank of Crauford’s line.
With his line in danger of being rolled up, Crauford ordered an immediate retreat to the bridge. The Portuguese Cacadores and guns were first to cross the bridge while several British battalions held the French at bay. Soon these British units also fell back in good order across the river. Desiring a complete victory, Ney launched three disastrous assaults across the stone bridge, but all attempts failed to dislodge the British. That night Crauford withdrew toward Pinhel, leaving Masséna to lay siege to Almeida.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?


Set-Up Order

Entrenchments 2
Forest 2
Hill 9
River 3
RiverBend 2
RiverBendBridge 1
Town 2
TownWindmill 1


Battle Notes

British Army
• Commander: Crauford
• 4 Command Cards
• Optional 4 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Rifle Infantry Light Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery Leader   Light Infantry
3 1 2 2 1 2 3   2

French Army
• Commander: Marshal Ney
• 4 Command Cards
• Optional 4 Tactician Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Foot Artillery Leader
6 3 1 3 2 1 3

6 Banners

Special Rules
Any ordered Anglo-Portuguese unit (regardless of strength) that exits the battlefield from the bridge hex will count as a Victory Banner for the British army. Exited leaders do not count for British Victory Banners.

Anglo-Portuguese units cannot exit off the bridge hex when forced to retreat due to ranged or melee combat. Units must halt or remain on the bridge hex and lose one block for each retreat hex that cannot be taken. If the unit is eliminated, the French player receives one Victory Banner.

The River Coa is impassable except at the bridge.

The Fortress of Almeida is treated as a town. In addition, Anglo-Portuguese units on a Fortress of Almeida hex may ignore one flag.

Tags: Base Game, Banners: 6, Army: British, Army: French, Army: Portuguese, Special Rule: Exit VB

Print Email

Log in to comment

RiverWanderer's Avatar
RiverWanderer replied the topic: #7144 1 month 4 days ago
The Vassal module, up to Version v3.42, has an error, turning the centre French LT (as shown in the official scenario and on this page) into an LN.
LARS's Avatar
LARS replied the topic: #6954 3 months 3 weeks ago
A bizarre scenario which ended with the British Horse Artillery chasing down the last block of Loison’s debacle of an attack. Only two Portuguese blocks made it off the board for 1 Banner and only 5 British infantry blocks were not eliminated, yet the British win 6-5.
Pevans's Avatar
Pevans replied the topic: #6714 6 months 3 weeks ago
For my latest day of games with nephew Tom we added in the Generals, Marshals & Tacticians expansion, so we could use the Tactics cards and the expanded Command deck. I drew the French for our first play. My initial move was to attack with the Light Cavalry on my right flank. The intention was to force some of the British infantry into square, reducing Tom's options (players lose a Command card for each unit in square). However, Tom declined to form square and the cavalry finished off two infantry units (including one of the rifles that I was particularly concerned about). Though this did leave them in front of the British artillery...
Tom decided that the way to win was to get units across the bridge and used a "Bayonet Charge" card to evacuate his first - and start a traffic jam on the approach to the bridge. I played "Forced March" to move up the main French force in the centre, starting to damage the British units even as they disappeared behind the hills towards the bridge.
The British cavalry moved up on my right, their Heavies taking out one of my Light Cavalry units. At the same time, Tom got another two units off the board - that's 4:2 to the Allies. A "Grande Manoeuvre" card let me shift several units onto the now empty hills overlooking the bridge. But Tom used a "Leadership" card to get two more units over the bridge to win 6:2. It felt closer than that scoreline suggests, though.
Re-playing as the other side saw my British manoeuvre with a "Bayonet Charge", shifting units closer to the bridge, while the French attacked on my right. I managed to get one unit off the board while my light infantry tried to hold up the French advance on the right, despite being forced into square by the French cavalry. They fell, but I was able to use "Grande Manoeuvre" to get the two Portuguese infantry off the board with British line infantry taking their place in the fortifications.
The French continued to advance, with a "Bayonet Charge" starting a pitched battle in front of the bridge. However, the score was still 3:1 to me at this point.
But the fighting went in favour of the French and they siezed the bridge before finishing off enough units to win 6:4. And that's 12:6 to Tom in total. Oops! (Full report - with photos - on BGG: boardgamegeek.com/blogpost/109906)
Napoleons Triumph's Avatar
Napoleons Triumph replied the topic: #4849 3 years 9 months ago
Here is a Battle Report
kirkoa replied the topic: #4067 4 years 4 months ago
Used this scenario to teach oldest daughter how to play the game. I was the British and my first card I fired the Rifles in the center at her light infantry, taking one down and forcing them to retreat. Her next move she moved a line inf over and fired at the RL, rolling 4 inf hits on the dice. Needless to say, I lost 6-2 but she liked the game. Lost the battle but won the war!
ozzie replied the topic: #3572 5 years 1 week ago
The French got a fantastic hand and rolled over the British lines without losing a unit. The British got one unit off the board whilst the rest just stood around or got beaten up. A terrible run of cards for the British whilst the French had a card to counter everything they played.
howlingfang replied the topic: #1381 7 years 1 month ago
Played solo today. British victory 6:2. Brits drew bayonet charge and forced march which allowed them to exit three units in two turns. I think I was surprised to hear the number of French victories reported as I felt it was unbalanced in favour of the Brits. I think I'm still not very good at attacking so this is probably why I felt it was a tough slog for the French.
knightfiend's Avatar
knightfiend replied the topic: #1282 7 years 4 months ago
played this on line last night on Vassal.
British victory 6-5 but very exciting. La Grand manoeuvre was the French downfall
along with a final British Cavalry charge - off the map to exit 2 units for the win!
David :)
General-Eble's Avatar
General-Eble replied the topic: #1226 7 years 6 months ago
Played it twice tonight, once as each side against the same opponent. 2 French victories, first won 6:3 the second 6:4.
The second game was much closer with the British ready to exit 2 units for victory when a French cavalry charge against one of the ready to exit units forced it into square and stopped it.
Brits could have exited the other unit to make the count 5:5 but used the move to try and force the cavalry off from the square. The plan worked but then the French had a card that kept the attack in the centre going and they took the last banner to win.
Seems pro French to me. In the 2 games LGM only came up once and that was for the French. They used it to surround the Rifles near the windmill and threaten Almeida.
An LGM for the British in the middle of the second game would certainly have given them victory early!

RovinJosh replied the topic: #1106 8 years 2 weeks ago
Played this last night, as the British, and was intrigued by scenario - unfortunately Le Grand Maneouvre Card spoiled what was looking like an interesting challenge - Brits won at a canter.

My advice - remove LGM, or make the Brits use the alternative use if they draw it.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #1001 8 years 2 months ago
Ladder #1 match
8 games played
5 French wins
3 Allied wins
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #762 8 years 11 months ago
Played this one this evening. British drew LGM is opening hand and had 3 units off map (i.e. 3 banners) before the French even played a card. LGM wins this scenario for the British, and enhances my view that withdrawing Exit VP don't work well in C&C.

Achtung-Panzer's Avatar
Achtung-Panzer replied the topic: #471 10 years 3 weeks ago
I played this scenario solo twice today. The first was a French victory (6:4) thanks to an attack on their left and then centre whcich forced 2 British generals to escape the battlefield!

The second was a British victory (6:3) where the centre HA units destroyed the advanced French infantry and two Cavalry Charge cards swept the French LC from the field.

Both games were great fun and I really like this scenario where the small hand of cards make squares very important.

Random Quote

The torment of precautions often exceeds the dangers to be avoided. It is sometimes better to abandon one's self to destiny.~Napoleon