WO01 Fuentes de Oñoro (3 May 1811)


Fuentes de Oñoro - 3rd to 5th May 1811
Historical Background
Following the winter of 1810 which Marshal Massena’s Army of Portugal spent before the lines of Torres Vedras, the French retreated into Spain leaving a garrison in the Portuguese border fortress of Almeida. Wellington followed up with his British Portuguese army and laid siege to Almeida, which had to be taken before he continued his advance into Spain. He was joined there by Spanish guerrillas.
In April 1811 Massena advanced from Ciudad Rodrigo to relieve Almeida, the move Wellington hoped Massena would make, although earlier than he had expected. Wellington took position on the ridge above Fuentes de Oñoro, ready to fight the form of defensive battle he fought so effectively on many occasions.
Immediately before the battle, Marshal Bessières brought up a force of 1,700 Guard Cavalry. There was consequently a wide range of cavalry in the French army, Cuirassiers, Dragoons, Hussars, Chasseurs à Cheval and Lancers.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?
Thank you to the author for sharing this scenario. HERE you can find the link to the original webpage.
|
Set-Up Order
|
Battle Notes
British Army
Commander : Wellington
6 Command Cards
6 Tactics Cards
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
3 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
French Army
Commander : Massena
5 Command Cards
5 Tactics Cards
Move First
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
6 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
Victory
6 Banners
Special Rules
Capturing Poco Velho is one banner for the French, as is Fuentes de Oñoro (Temporary Victory Banners)
Tags: Banners: 6, Army: Allies, Army: British, Army: French, Army: Portuguese, Special Rule: Temporary VB, Unofficial
Vilar Formoso (frontier between Spain and Portugal on the portuguese side) and Poço Velho (Old Well)
The default for rivers is impassable.pmatthews57 wrote: What are the terrain effects of the Dos Casas River?
That does tighten up this scenario though. I'd be inclined to play it as fordable when my group plays it.
Phill
Yes, I can see that I was not explicit enough and I apologize for the misunderstanding. My intention was to control either town hex for the victory flag.
Walt
One more question though. For the French to get the Fuentes de Oñoro Victory Banner, do they need to occupy both town hexes, just one or a Majority?
Thanks.
this has been another "vassal-ization" error by me.

The original author confirmed that corrected VP for this scenario is 6.
I've updated scenario picture (refresh webpage) and also VSAV file in download section.
Enjoy playing.