ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

213 Borodino - Raevski Redoubt (7 September 1812)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 4.20 (5 Votes)
 58 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  42 %
Total plays 66 - Last reported by Hawkmoon on 2019-10-08 19:57:38

Borodino - 7 September 1812
(Raevski Redoubt)

Historical Background
Despite Marshal Davout’s suggestion of a maneuver to outflank the weak Russian left, Napoleon instead ordered Davout to move forward toward the Russian fleches (small redoubts), while the flanking maneuver was left to Prince Poniatowski.
Three Russian Corps met Davout’s initial advance and even when part of Ney’s and Junot’s Corps were sent to his aid, the Russians refused to give ground. By late morning the fight for the fleches and Semyanovskaya had become a grinding struggle of attrition. A second French assault was being turned back, until Murat’s cavalry charged forward and took the fleches. The Russian right flank commander, Barclay, sent his reserves on his own initiative to retrieve the situation. A full-scale attack against the Raevski (Grand) redoubt was also launched around 2:00 PM, after Eugene had stabilized his right flank. The Russians squandered their advantage in artillery with fully half of their guns unengaged. The French, however, formed a grand battery that rained destruction upon massed Russian formations. Accounts by Russians advancing to counterattack spoke of walking into hell. The French infantry moved to engage the redoubt from the front, while the cavalry swung around to its rear. Kutusov counterattacked with his Guard reserves to stabilize the line, but they in turn were decimated. The Russians were spent, but Napoleon would not release the Imperial Guard infantry and cavalry to destroy the disorganized Russian left wing. With no fresh troops committed to decide the issue, both sides ceased fighting out of mutual exhaustion. In spite of losing some areas in the battlefield, the battered Russian army did not collapse. During the night, Kutusov ordered a retreat.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

 

Set-Up Order

Forest 10
Hill 6
HillEntrenchments2 2
HillEntrenchments 3
River 8
RiverBend 5
RiverEnd 1
Town 1

 

Battle Notes

Russian Army
• Commander: Kutuzov
• 5 Command Cards
• 4 Tactician Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry Guard Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Cuirassier Heavy Cavalry Guard Heavy Cavalry Foot Artillery Guard Foot Artillery Leader
5 4 1 1 3 1 1 4 1 3

French Army
• Commander: Napoleon
• 6 Command Cards
• 6 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Old Guard Infantry Light Cavalry Cuirassier Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Foot Artillery Guard Foot Artillery Leader
9 5 2 3 1 1 3 1 4

 

Victory
10 Banners

Special Rules
• Semyanovskaya is a Temporary Victory Banner worth one banner for the side that occupies it at the start of its turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The French gain one Temporary Victory Banner for each field works hex that the Russians do not occupied at the start of the French turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The Semenovka Stream is fordable stream. The stream does not stop infantry movement nor does it cause any battle restrictions for infantry units.

• Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll rule is in effect. Saber and cavalry rolls have no effect.

Tags: Expansion 2, Banners: 10, Army: French, Army: Russian, Special Rule: Mother Russia, Special Rule: Temporary VB (Turn Start)

Print Email

Log in to comment


Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #5580 10 months 3 weeks ago

The stream does not stop infantry movement nor does it cause any battle restrictions for infantry units."


The short and better understandable sentence/answer is
"Infantry treats the fordable stream as "open ground"
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #5579 10 months 3 weeks ago
I've understood "battle restrictions" to include die modifiers, but I grant it isn't actually defined.

The Ligny FAQ has a similar case, and whilst a battle restriction of taking ground is discussed (and allowed), die modifiers aren't referenced.

So in short, I don't know for sure.
Bangla's Avatar
Bangla replied the topic: #5578 10 months 3 weeks ago
Mark
"The Semenovka Stream is fordable stream. The stream does not stop infantry movement nor does it cause any battle restrictions for infantry units."

Does this mean that infantry still receive the -1 battle dice MODIFIERS for combat into/out of the stream, or is this also negated? We always played that the combat modifiers still held, but in Paris everyone was playing that there would be no minuses to the battle dice for infantry.

Methinks folks were getting their modifications and restrictions intertwined.
Achtung Panzer's Avatar
Achtung Panzer replied the topic: #3253 3 years 8 months ago
The new Tacticians cards can have quite an impact on this scenario
Hawkmoon-von-Köln's Avatar
Hawkmoon-von-Köln replied the topic: #1236 5 years 11 months ago
We've been plaing it last friday.
So the limitations (move and battle) occured for CAV and ART.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #1200 5 years 11 months ago
The Semenovka Stream is fordable stream. The stream does not stop infantry movement nor does it cause any battle restrictions for infantry units.

this should be carefully read as;

The Semenovka Stream is fordable RIVER. The Stream does not stop infantry movement nor does it cause any battle restrictions for infantry units.

Random Quote

The most important qualification of a soldier is fortitude under fatigue and privation. Courage is only second; hardship, poverty and want are the best school for a soldier.~Napoleon