206 Eylau - 8AM to Noon (8 February 1807)
Eylau - 8 February 1807 (8AM to Noon)
Napoleon, although outnumbered, was determined to hold his position knowing that Ney was coming up on the left and Davout on the right. His plan was a double envelopment of the Russian Army. Bennigsen’s four Corps and cavalry were deployed on the heights in front of Eylau, but could not throw up field works because the ground was frozen solid.
Around 8:00 AM the Russian guns, positioned somewhat forward of the main line, opened fire and the French artillery replied with greater effect. Tutchkov countered a French probe on the Russian left, and Soult’s IV Corps was hard pressed to hold its ground. At the same time, the Russian cavalry attacked the advanced guard of Davout’s III Corps. To take the pressure off his flanks and allow Davout’s corps to advance against the Russian flank, Napoleon ordered his center forward. Augereau’s VII Corps advanced into a blinding snowstorm, lost their bearings, and veered left – directly into the line of fire of the massed 70 gun Russian grand battery. A massacre ensued as thousands of French soldiers were cut down within minutes. The survivors retreated to Eylau. The French center had ceased to exist. Bennigsen seized the opportunity to counterattack. Twenty thousand Russians advanced irresistibly across the valley, driving the French back to the town.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?
• Commander: Bennigsen
• 5 Command Cards
• 4 Tactician Cards
• Commander: Napoleon
• 6 Command Cards
• 6 Tactician Cards
• Move First
• The Russian player gains one Temporary Victory Banner for each town hex of Eylau occupied at the start of the turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)
• The French player gains one Temporary Victory Banner for each hill hex occupied on Russian side of battlefield (four hexes or closer to Russian baseline) at the start of the turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)
• The Lakes are Frozen.
• No Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll.
Tags: Expansion 2, Banners: 7, Army: French, Army: Russian, Special Rule: Temporary VB
If the French had a different hand I don't see how they could win.
It was fun, though.
After a excellent start of the Russian, with 2 Cavalry Charges and some other good cards and dice, which destroyed my 2 ART in first turns, weaked other units and forced 2 into square, an incredible coming back was following.
With a Bayonett Charge in my hand, i prepared my center INF (with the OG), to charge the center hills. The Russians moved 2 turns ago, 2 of their center ART
to the russian right flank, so i saw a Little last chance
Attacking then with the Bayonett Charge, the OG fight indeed as an Old Guard and killed one russian GR in 1 roll. The second GR was increased to 1 block.
The russian couldn´t counter this charge effective, so i occupied in my next turn 3 center hills, which gave me the last VP to win.
Vive le Emperor
File Attachment:File Name: railrodder.vlog
File Size:51 COM_KUNENA_USER_ATTACHMENT_FILE_WEIGHT
Final score, pretty devastating 7-3, which could easily be 9-3.
Q: Does the church hex counts for this voctory condition?
The Russian player gains one Temporary Victory Banner for each town hex of Eylau occupied at the start of the turn.
A: Yes, the church also counts since its effects are the same as a town.
and I was talking about Maloyaroslavets...
So don't take care of my answer.
but i need indeed an official answer, because in all 3 Eylau scenarios, the church hex is in the setup and the victory conditions speaking about "town" hexes.
Sorry, I'm not aware of napoleonic battles like you Guys and I was talking about Maloyaroslavets...
So don't take care of my answer.
I'd noticed that the victory hex are surrounded with green to show them on the forum, maybe the answer is there...
Sorry once again.