205 Eylau Plateau Russian Rearguard (7 February 1807)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 2.50 (4 Votes)
 24 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  76 %
Total plays 72 - Last reported by airjudden on 2021-03-19 01:45:40

Eylau Plateau Russian Rearguard - 7 February 1807

Historical Background
Marshal Soult’s IV Corps, along with elements of Marshal Murat’s cavalry, reached the plateau before Eylau in the early afternoon on February 7th and immediately attacked. Prince Bagration’s rearguard put up a stiff resistance and repulsed the initial attack. Marshal Augereau and the French Guard came up during the afternoon to join Soult. In a second attack, under pressure of a superior force, Bagration’s Russian force was forced to retire in good order back through Barclay de Tolly’s troops who were defending the town of Eylau. The rearguard action had bought enough time to allow Bennigsen’s artillery to join the Russian Army and their defensive position on the heights beyond Eylau.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

 

Set-Up Order

Forest 1
Hill 10
Town 2
Church 1
Lake 4

 

Battle Notes

Russian Army
• Commander: Bagration
• 5 Command Cards
• Optional 4 Tactician Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Foot Artillery Leader
5 4 2 2 2 2

French Army
• Commander: Soult
• 5 Command Cards
• Optional 5 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Horse Artillery Leader
9 3 3 1 2 4

 

Victory
7 Banners

Special Rules
• The French win a Sudden Death Victory, if a French unit occupies any Eylau town hex at the start of its turn.

• The Lakes are Frozen.

• Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll rule is in effect.

Tags: Expansion 2, Banners: 7, Army: French, Army: Russian, Special Rule: Sudden Death, Special Rule: Mother Russia

Print Email

Log in to comment


LARS's Avatar
LARS replied the topic: #6882 3 months 3 weeks ago
The French had this scenario all but won and then got a bit overconfident leading 5-2. Trying to force their way forward in the center, the French played a LGM card to move 4 Line units in proximity of the Russian line... right into a bayonet charge by the Russian Grenadiers. That evened things up very quickly as the French center dissolved. French hung on to win 7-6 as both sides struggled to win the last banner without losing one.
castanos's Avatar
castanos replied the topic: #6187 1 year 3 months ago
Russian victory 7/6!. Although my first thoughts when playing the scenario were it was almost impossible for the Russian to win because the weakness of his left flank, it turned out to be gold mine in terms of VP. Russian light cavalry performed several hit and run maneuvers and at last they pinned two french squares on the plateau. The french tried to be patient and don't make mistakes, but the two squares result in a burden too heavy to deal with.
Michalxo's Avatar
Michalxo replied the topic: #2086 6 years 5 months ago
Viridovilas found out, that his print (I can't have a look at mine print now) lists 2 Russian LC and no militia units.
That means, this scenario has to be fixed in vassal - and here as well.
Russian MI -> LC (2 LC are next to each other).

Nicely spotted Viridovilas. Could you please fix it Bayernkini?
Thank you very much :)
nekengren's Avatar
nekengren replied the topic: #1391 7 years 2 weeks ago
I was intending to use this for the upcoming HMGS Recon Orlando April 2014 tournament.
The play balance report was roughly even.

However.........
after playing this with Ken 4 times the French won handily each time. Pretty strong French it seems to me.
Going to look through the other scenarios for something a little more balanced.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1127 7 years 11 months ago
The Website is official and we do nothing into FAQ here, if it is not official ;)
Epaminondas replied the topic: #1126 7 years 11 months ago
Is that a official statement from the designer? Because I would think the church doesn´t count. Three reasons: First tacticaly a church isn´t the same think as a town, because the roads used by the supply train go through the dwelling and not through the cemetery. Second the russian player has the ability to foster the defense of a city hex but not a church hex (or should a player with a saber mrr put a city plus field works tile in the place of the church). Third in both the other Eylau battles the buildup areas are labeled: Windmill,Eylau and Church suggesting that Windmill and Church are different from Eylau. Just my opinion. :huh:
alecrespi replied the topic: #1075 8 years 3 weeks ago
A: Yes, the church also counts since its effects are the same as a town.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1062 8 years 1 month ago

The French win a Sudden Death Victory, if a French unit occupies any Eylau town hex at the start of its turn


Q: Counts the church hex to the Sudden Death town hexes too?

Random Quote

There are certain things in war of which the commander alone comprehends the importance. Nothing but his superior firmness and ability can subdue and surmount all difficulties.~Napoleon