ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 
  • Home

DP02 Bunker Hill (17 June 1775)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 0.00 (0 Votes)
 38 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  63 %
Total plays 8 - Last reported by Fencer on 2017-12-06 11:33:27

Bunker Hill (17 June 1775)

Historical Background
The battle is named after the adjacent Bunker Hill, which was involved in the battle and was the original objective of both colonial and British troops, and is occasionally referred to as the "Battle of Breed's Hill."
The fence on the east flank was built huriedly to fend off a flank attack.
The works on Breed's Hill did not go unnoticed by the British.
General Clinton, out on reconnaissance that night, was aware of them, and tried to convince Gage and Howe that they needed to prepare to attack the position at daylight. British sentries were also aware of the fortifications, but apparently did not think them cause for alarm. Then, in the early predawn, around 4:00 am, a sentry on board HMS Lively spotted the new fortification, and notified her captain which promptly opened fired.
General Gage then ordered all 128 guns in the harbor, as well as batteries atop Copp's Hill in Boston, to fire on the colonial position, which had relatively little effect. Also, the city of Charlestown was set ablaze by the British to deal with the militia harrassment there.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

Set-Up Order

Entrenchments 3
Forest 2
Hill 24
Town 3

 

 

Battle Notes

American Army
Leader - General Artemus Ward and Israel Putnam
4 Command Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Militia Infantry General
15 1 1 3

British Army
Leader - Major General Howe and General Gage
5 Command Cards
Moves First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry General
11 2 3 3

 

Victory
8 Banners

Special RulesAmericans follow all rules for Spanish except.
1. American Line Infantry Standing fire is +1 die.
2. The American player always makes a Leader Casualty check against the opponent using one die as if the unit was destroyed. This reflects the
American propensity to pick off leaders.
3. American Militia units may retreat through friendly units.

Spanish Guerilla Action rule is NOT in effect.

British ships may fire on a Bombard, Leadership or Fire & Hold Card. They get 4 dice regardless of which card is played and at all ranges. LOS is needed but friendly units may be fired over provided they are not adjacent to the target.

British ships may not be fired on by any American Units.

The coast hexes are impassable. Units that start the game on these spaces may move out  of them normally, but no unit may re-enter these spaces.

The five hills marked in white are permanent Victory Banners for the British, if a British unit occupies the space at the beginning of his turn.

The three fieldworks marked in red in the American left flank are temporary Victory Banners for the British, if occupied at the start their turn. If the unit is eliminated or moves out of the hex, the banner is lost.

Tags: Banners: 8, Army: British, Special Rule: Temporary VB (Turn Start), Special Rule: Permanent VB (Turn Start), Unofficial, Army: American

Print Email

Log in to comment


Barronmore's Avatar
Barronmore replied the topic: #3724 1 year 5 months ago
Played this yesterday for the 4th of July...what a game...what a scenario. Had the wrong rules for ships and that could have made the whole difference, but the Brittish (me) lost a very contested game where I should have easily lost (down four flags at one point). Ended up losing by litterally one die roll.

Thanks for these scenarios. I love the American Revolution AND C&C!
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #1833 3 years 3 months ago

Jones wrote: Thank you Grondeaux, i will check the expansion #1 here.
my doubt rose up because i dont know if there are particular restrictions using French army instead of Spanish one or if French army units are more strong than Spanish ones.


The Spanish are definitely weaker than the French B)
The Americans in this scenario are stronger than the Spanish.

My recollection is that Expansion #1 is still readily available, and quite cheap. It complements the base game quite well, and opens up the Peninsular war with some good Anglo-Spanish battles. So if you just want to play Bunker Hill, use substitutes (even figures), but I think it is a good expansion, particularly for variants armies (like Bavarians, Saxons, Poles & Americans) when appropriately modified.
Jones's Avatar
Jones replied the topic: #1832 3 years 3 months ago

Grondeaux wrote: I would think you could use the French blocks. What you will need, though, is a copy of the Quick Reference Card that came with the Spanish expansion set to give you the combat and morale stats for the Spanish. You could also use the data listed here under Expansion 1 to give you those numbers.

Thank you Grondeaux, i will check the expansion #1 here.
my doubt rose up because i dont know if there are particular restrictions using French army instead of Spanish one or if French army units are more strong than Spanish ones.
Grondeaux's Avatar
Grondeaux replied the topic: #1831 3 years 3 months ago
I would think you could use the French blocks. What you will need, though, is a copy of the Quick Reference Card that came with the Spanish expansion set to give you the combat and morale stats for the Spanish. You could also use the data listed here under Expansion 1 to give you those numbers.
Jones's Avatar
Jones replied the topic: #1830 3 years 3 months ago
Hi all guys.
i would like to know if the American war's scenarios(and this one also) are playable with the components of the base game only.
in other words, are French/Portoguese armies good enough to play these scenarios instead of Spanish one?
Thank You very much for your support!
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1753 3 years 5 months ago
Fire & Hold allows 4 or fewer units to fire. When the Fire & Hold Card is played by the British, the 3 ships would be able to fire, plus one infantry unit to make a total of 4 units.

Leadership Card allows ALL Leaders to fire. When the Leadership Card is played by the British, the 3 ships would be able to fire (the ship captain counts as a leader for this card), plus the infantry leaders (and attached units) would be able to activate. That means it would be possible to activate 6 units - the 3 ships and 3 Leaders (and attached units). The 3 ships would not get the +1 dice, and thus would still get only 4 dice on the Leadership Card. But hey, it's still 4 dice!

Yes the ships are treated as artillery fire for the purposes of any applicable terrain modifiers.

Hope this helps...sorry it took me a while to respond. Work has had me busy the past couple of weeks.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #1711 3 years 5 months ago
"British ships may fire on a Bombard, Leadership or Fire & Hold Card. They get 4 dice regardless of which card is played and at all ranges. LOS is needed but friendly units may be fired over provided they are not adjacent to the target."

It isn't clear whether the card can be used to activate units as well as the British ships firing.

So for example;
Leadership - the ships can fire and the leaders (and attached units) are ordered?
Fire & Hold - the ships can fire and up to 4 British units.

Presumably the ship fire is treated as artillery fire for the purposes of terrain modification (if terrain applies at all).
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1708 3 years 5 months ago
Let me know how it goes. I'd love to hear you feedback.
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1707 3 years 5 months ago
I hear you. Good luck...
Grondeaux's Avatar
Grondeaux replied the topic: #1702 3 years 5 months ago
Thanks! When I'm the Americans, I sincerely hope the British don't get the cards they need to use the ships.
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1701 3 years 5 months ago
Hi,

Oh, and by the way, I noticed we didn't actually say anything about ship movement. The British ships may not move. The graphic representation merely show you where they were located.

So, consider the British ships to be anchored in the hexes where they begin the scenario.
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1700 3 years 5 months ago
Hi,
The naval artillery (ship borne) had range to fire pretty much anywhere on the battlefield. So, we designed the range to be unlimited so long as the ship could see. They wouldn't have been able to coordinate with the ground troops well enough to use the Combined Arms rule, which is why we chose to use the rules we did.

So, any hex on the board within LOS and not adjacent to friendlies is a valid target. And yes, it is 4 dice at all ranges.

Hope this clears it up. Also, we hope you enjoy the game as much as we have. My son and I have played it many times during testing. It's challenging for each side, but a lot of fun. It's pretty satisfying for the Brits to get some good Naval support when you get the right cards and frightening for the Yanks.
Grondeaux's Avatar
Grondeaux replied the topic: #1699 3 years 5 months ago
What is the range for the British ships? Is it any hex on the board in LOS and not adjacent to friendlies, or the same as artillery (5 hexes) but with 4 dice at all ranges?
Tanris's Avatar
Tanris replied the topic: #1696 3 years 5 months ago

Mark McG wrote:

Gimli52 wrote: HI,

Count the hill/town hex as a town when it comes to terrain modifiers.


Designer has spoken.. town it is.

I suppose artillery in the hill town can still fire over an adjacent friendly unit on a lower terrain.



Okay, thanks for clearing that up!
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #1694 3 years 5 months ago

Gimli52 wrote: HI,

Count the hill/town hex as a town when it comes to terrain modifiers.


Designer has spoken.. town it is.

I suppose artillery in the hill town can still fire over an adjacent friendly unit on a lower terrain.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1693 3 years 5 months ago
Can only answered by the scenario designer or the MT chief (Mark McG) ;)
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1692 3 years 5 months ago
HI,

Count the hill/town hex as a town when it comes to terrain modifiers.
Tanris's Avatar
Tanris replied the topic: #1674 3 years 5 months ago
Looks like it will be a fun scenario for me to play in this tournament. Out of curiosity, I do have one question. Does the hex to the upper left of the militia on the British side of the map count as a hill or a town when it comes to the terrain modifiers?
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1635 3 years 6 months ago
So far i have only low res pics for Vassal, these can you extract from the Vassal module :)

If i find time, i can create some high res pics with unit type letters, but this will not happen next, because i am very busy with a lot of other projects (new prussian update next for example) ;)
Grambo589's Avatar
Grambo589 replied the topic: #1634 3 years 6 months ago
Those look excellent! Are they just for Vassal or can they be made available to sticker blocks for games on the board?

Great graphics.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1633 3 years 6 months ago

I just wish there was some unofficial block stickers for these AWI games, at least until we see the GMT Tricorn version. I'd feel much happier playing them then


You mean similar such? ;)

www.ccnapoleonics.net/index.php?option=c...d=9&id=948&Itemid=56
Grambo589's Avatar
Grambo589 replied the topic: #1632 3 years 6 months ago
This looks like a great scenario with some nice little twists built in - I like the frequent officer casualty rolls for example.

I just wish there was some unofficial block stickers for these AWI games, at least until we see the GMT Tricorn version. I'd feel much happier playing them then :-)
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1631 3 years 6 months ago
Hi,

It is admittedly hard to get the Americans just right. They were inconsistent at times. (Looking forward to seeing how Mr. Borg will handle it someday) The British took heavy casualties and learned that they had to take the colonists more seriously as an opponent.

The shooting from the Americans is on par with the British but the skill in battle drills and formations is reflected by less skill from the Americans at a move and shoot.

As for killing officers, well the Americans intentionally targeted officers and were usually quite effective at it. The British took an unusually high toll in officers at Bunker Hill.
Achtung-Panzer's Avatar
Achtung-Panzer replied the topic: #1577 3 years 7 months ago
I played this yesterday with a friend and we enjoyed it. But are the US Inf too powerful with their +1 die (standing) and roll to hit an officer? The +1 roll puts them on a par with British INF - is this historical?

I'm no expert in the AWI and was just wondering.
Gimli52's Avatar
Gimli52 replied the topic: #1516 3 years 7 months ago
Hi,
Yes, I believe I have the Fanscenario Extension installed. Hopefully, with the Fanscenario Extension installed it will open correctly.

Random Quote

If the art of war were nothing but the art of avoiding risks, glory would become the prey of mediocre minds. I have made all the calculations, fate will do the rest.~Napoleon