ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar Support Us 
  • Home

216 Krasnoi (17 November 1812)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 5.00 (1 Vote)
 28 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  72 %
Total plays 25 - Last reported by proyce on 2017-08-04 22:23:03

Krasnoi - 17 November 1812

Historical Background
The march from Moscow to Smolensk was a nightmare. Napoleon’s army lost half of its remaining strength to a combination of starvation, exposure to harsh weather, Cossack and partisan raids and desertion. Smolensk did indeed contain supplies, but Russian advances threatened to surround Napoleon. The retreat had to continue and there was not sufficient transport to bring along the supplies. Not expecting an attack by the cautious Kutusov, Napoleon marched out of Smolensk one Corps at a time, resulting in a column some 40 miles long. Napoleon was attempting to regroup his forces at Krasnoi, when Kutuzov’s army did the unexpected, attacking and defeating Eugene’s IV Corps. Napoleon was in a dire position. His retreat path was blocked and prudence dictated retreat, but he desired to stand long enough to give Devout’s and Ney’s corps the opportunity join him. Davout’s corps did arrive, but was promptly bombarded and scattered. Ney’s retreat route was cut when the Russians occupied Uvarovo. Napoleon knew he was now heavily outnumbered, and if the Russians made a determined attack, all would be lost. He gambled. He sent his Old Guard forward into the jaws of the Russian Army to make an aggressive feint, while the Young Guard was to attack and retake Uvarovo. So great was the Guard’s reputation that Kutuzov canceled the planned attack and pulled back, choosing to bombard the Guard at long range. General Bennigsen, second in command to Kutusov, seeing the opportunity to destroy part of the French Guard, ordered Galitzin to re-take the village of Uvarovo. The Young Guard took heavy casualties from Russina artillery and repeated attacks, but held until nightfall. Napoleon, recalled the Guard and resumed the retreat, but the decision was not easy, for it meant leaving Ney’s III Corps to its fate.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

 

Set-Up Order

Forest 2
Hill 13
River 10
RiverBend 7
RiverBridge 1
RiverY_right 1
Town 4

 

Battle Notes

Russian Army
• Commander: Kutuzov
• 8 Command Cards*
• 4 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Cuirassier Heavy Cavalry Militia Cossack Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery Leader
7 4 4 1 1 1 2 3 1 2

French Army
• Commander: Napoleon
• 6 Command Cards
• 6 Tactician Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Young Guard Old Guard Infantry Light Cavalry Guard Heavy Cavalry Horse Artillery Guard Foot Artillery Leader
3 2 2 4 1 1 1 1 3

 

Victory
7 Banners

Special Rules
• The Russian player loses one Command card, selected at random, for each of Davout’s line units that exit the battlefield.

• Davout’s six line units, each start the battle with two blocks. The French player gains one Victory Banner when two of Davout’s line units exit the battlefield from the designated French baseline hex. An additional banner is gained for each line unit that exits after.

• The Russian player gains one Victory Banner for every two of Davout’s line units eliminated.

• The village of Uvarovo is a Temporary Victory Banner worth two banners for the side that occupies it at the start of the turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The Bridge is a Temporary Victory Banner worth one banner for the Russian player at the start of its turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• Both streams are fordable, but they do not have any battle restrictions.

• No Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll.

Tags: Expansion 2, Banners: 7, Army: French, Army: Russian, Special Rule: Exit VB, Special Rule: Temporary VB (Turn Start)

Print Email

Log in to comment


Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #4870 4 months 1 week ago
yeah, LGM has a way of breaking scenarios with Exit VP.
proyce's Avatar
proyce replied the topic: #4869 4 months 1 week ago
Just played this today. I had the Russians. Played LGM on second turn. French played counter attack. By the end of the third turn the French had 4 VPs and Russians only had 3 command cards. Final was French 7-3, but would have been 8-2 if we had finished the final turn.
Achtung-Panzer's Avatar
Achtung-Panzer replied the topic: #1105 4 years 7 months ago

Achtung Panzer wrote:

Bayernkini wrote: All other units, except the Special rules of the weak 2block French LN, counts as normal VP, if they are destroyed.


So does the Russian player not get the normal 1 VB if he destroys a 2 block French LI?


To clarify: Each 2 block French LI units are only worth half a banner each total - not in addition to the usual banners.

Sorted ;)
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1104 4 years 7 months ago
The scenario notes are clear:

The russian player get 1VP for every 2 destroyed French 2block LN:

Destroyed 1. AND 2. French LN = 1VP for russian
Destroyed 3. French LN = nothing (similar COS)
Destroyed 3. AND 4. French LN = 1VP for russian
Destroyed 5. French LN = nothing (similar COS)
Destroyed 5. AND 6. French LN = 1VP for russian

hope, this is clear now

But as i said, the important key is also, that the russian Player loose command cards.
This scenario note is also underrated as the COS general in russian games, because player play the COS simple wrong ;)
Achtung-Panzer's Avatar
Achtung-Panzer replied the topic: #1103 4 years 7 months ago

Bayernkini wrote: All other units, except the Special rules of the weak 2block French LN, counts as normal VP, if they are destroyed.


So does the Russian player not get the normal 1 VB if he destroys a 2 block French LI?
Achtung-Panzer's Avatar
Achtung-Panzer replied the topic: #1102 4 years 7 months ago

Mark McG wrote: so if the French get no Left cards, and no means to move that unit sitting on the exit hex, this scenario can go sour very quick.
In the reverse, an initial Bayonet Charge or a LGM card can really work well.

But the Russians could have 5 Victory Banners after their first move.


This is my point. Look at the two French LI on / near the bridge. 1 VB for destroying two LI (special rule) and 2 VB for each LI destroyed (normal rule) gives almost 50% of the total required and is easily done.
Mark-McG's Avatar
Mark-McG replied the topic: #1101 4 years 7 months ago
so if the French get no Left cards, and no means to move that unit sitting on the exit hex, this scenario can go sour very quick.
In the reverse, an initial Bayonet Charge or a LGM card can really work well.

But the Russians could have 5 Victory Banners after their first move.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1099 4 years 7 months ago
What do you mean exact (a example helps always a lot)?

All other units, except the Special rules of the weak 2block French LN, counts as normal VP, if they are destroyed.

And i noticed, that many players don´t see the key for a French victory ;)
Achtung-Panzer's Avatar
Achtung-Panzer replied the topic: #1098 4 years 7 months ago
Are Victory Banners awarded for destroying units as normal in addition to the Special Rules? If so, this can be a very quick scenario!

Random Quote

Remember , gentlemen, what a Roman emperor said: The corpse of an enemy always smells sweet.~Napoleon