ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar   tricorne  medieval Support Us
  • Home

205 Eylau Plateau Russian Rearguard (7 February 1807)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 3.00 (1 Vote)
 24 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  76 %
Total plays 58 - Last reported by Hawkmoon on 2018-12-01 19:42:24

Eylau Plateau Russian Rearguard - 7 February 1807

Historical Background
Marshal Soult’s IV Corps, along with elements of Marshal Murat’s cavalry, reached the plateau before Eylau in the early afternoon on February 7th and immediately attacked. Prince Bagration’s rearguard put up a stiff resistance and repulsed the initial attack. Marshal Augereau and the French Guard came up during the afternoon to join Soult. In a second attack, under pressure of a superior force, Bagration’s Russian force was forced to retire in good order back through Barclay de Tolly’s troops who were defending the town of Eylau. The rearguard action had bought enough time to allow Bennigsen’s artillery to join the Russian Army and their defensive position on the heights beyond Eylau.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?

 

Set-Up Order

Forest 1
Hill 10
Town 2
Church 1
Lake 4

 

Battle Notes

Russian Army
• Commander: Bagration
• 5 Command Cards
• Optional 4 Tactician Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Foot Artillery Leader
5 4 2 2 2 2

French Army
• Commander: Soult
• 5 Command Cards
• Optional 5 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Horse Artillery Leader
9 3 3 1 2 4

 

Victory
7 Banners

Special Rules
• The French win a Sudden Death Victory, if a French unit occupies any Eylau town hex at the start of its turn.

• The Lakes are Frozen.

• Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll rule is in effect.

Tags: Expansion 2, Banners: 7, Army: French, Army: Russian, Special Rule: Sudden Death, Special Rule: Mother Russia

Print Email

Log in to comment


Michalxo's Avatar
Michalxo replied the topic: #2086 4 years 4 weeks ago
Viridovilas found out, that his print (I can't have a look at mine print now) lists 2 Russian LC and no militia units.
That means, this scenario has to be fixed in vassal - and here as well.
Russian MI -> LC (2 LC are next to each other).

Nicely spotted Viridovilas. Could you please fix it Bayernkini?
Thank you very much :)
nekengren's Avatar
nekengren replied the topic: #1391 4 years 8 months ago
I was intending to use this for the upcoming HMGS Recon Orlando April 2014 tournament.
The play balance report was roughly even.

However.........
after playing this with Ken 4 times the French won handily each time. Pretty strong French it seems to me.
Going to look through the other scenarios for something a little more balanced.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1127 5 years 6 months ago
The Website is official and we do nothing into FAQ here, if it is not official ;)
Epaminondas replied the topic: #1126 5 years 6 months ago
Is that a official statement from the designer? Because I would think the church doesn´t count. Three reasons: First tacticaly a church isn´t the same think as a town, because the roads used by the supply train go through the dwelling and not through the cemetery. Second the russian player has the ability to foster the defense of a city hex but not a church hex (or should a player with a saber mrr put a city plus field works tile in the place of the church). Third in both the other Eylau battles the buildup areas are labeled: Windmill,Eylau and Church suggesting that Windmill and Church are different from Eylau. Just my opinion. :huh:
alecrespi replied the topic: #1075 5 years 8 months ago
A: Yes, the church also counts since its effects are the same as a town.
Bayernkini's Avatar
Bayernkini replied the topic: #1062 5 years 8 months ago

The French win a Sudden Death Victory, if a French unit occupies any Eylau town hex at the start of its turn


Q: Counts the church hex to the Sudden Death town hexes too?

Random Quote

It would be a joke if the conduct of the victor had to be justified to the vanquished. ~Napoleon