• Home

203 Pultusk (26 December 1806)

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 4.00 (6 Votes)
 64 %
Record a victory for BOTTOM ARMY  36 %
Total plays 61 - Last reported by GG on 2022-01-25 23:19:24

Pultusk - 26 December 1806

Historical Background
Marshal Bennigsen disobeyed his orders and halted his retreat to give battle. He drew his divisions up in three lines between Pultusk and the Mostachin Woods. Lannes and his V Corps had orders from Napoleon to pursue and engage the Russians who were believed to be retreating. Unaware he was facing a much stronger Russian force, Lannes sent Claparede’s division forward against Pultusk, while Suchet moved against the Mostachin woods. Gazan drove the Russian cavalry force from Mosin Heights and good progress was being made on both flanks despite the weather and mud. A French foothold in Pultusk was short lived, as the Russian artillery superiority, soon forced the French back all along the line. The battle had turned against the French until the mid-afternoon arrival of a III Corps division. General d’Aultanne, on his own initiative, had marched to the sound of the guns and arrived on the endangered French left. The renewed French attack against the woods forced Barclay de Tolly to retire under pressure and Bennigsen ordered the Russian cavalry forward to stem the French advance. Dusk was falling and the battle died out. Both sides had suffered heavy losses. Lannes expected to renew the fighting the next day, but Bennigsen withdrew during the night.
The stage is set. The battle lines are drawn and you are in command. Can you change history?


Set-Up Order

Forest 6
Hill 14
River 2
RiverBridge 1
Town 4


Battle Notes

Russian Army
• Commander: Bennigsen
• 5 Command Cards
• Optional 4 Tactician Cards

Line Infantry Light Infantry Grenadier Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Guard Light Cavalry Militia Cossack Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery Leader
8 4 2 2 1 1 3 4 1 4

French Army
• Commander: Lannes
• 5 Command Cards
• Optional 5 Tactician Cards
• Move First

Line Infantry Light Infantry Light Cavalry Heavy Cavalry Foot Artillery Horse Artillery Leader
9 4 2 1 2 1 5


10 Banners

Special Rules
• The four Mostachin Woods hexes form a Temporary Majority Group Victory Banner Objective worth one banner to the side that occupies an absolute majority at the start of its turn (Temporary Majority Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The French player gains one Temporary Victory Banner for each hill hex occupied on the ridge behind Mosin Heights at the start of the turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The French player gains one Temporary Victory Banner for each town hex occupied at the start of the turn (Temporary Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The Bridge hex is a Permanent Victory Banner Objective worth one banner for the French player when occupied at the start of the turn (Permanent Victory Banner Turn Start)

• The Narew River is impassable.

• Pre-Battle Mother Russia Roll rule is in effect.

Tags: Expansion 2, Banners: 10, Army: French, Army: Russian, Special Rule: Mother Russia, Special Rule: Temporary VB, Special Rule: Permanent VB, Special Rule: Temporary Majority VB

Print Email

Log in to comment

LARS's Avatar
LARS replied the topic: #6880 1 year 4 months ago
A totally unexpected and bizarre game. French infantry assaults consistently faltered, but the Russians could not effectively counterblow. Block losses were almost even at about 20. But the French managed to take the ridge using an LGM card and the game ended French 10 Russians 1.
Major Poldark replied the topic: #5809 2 years 11 months ago
Just finished the Pultusk scenario. Outstanding gameplay! The Mosin Heights changed hands five times during the course of the battle. The French won in end, 10-8, by taking the Narew Bridge. Lots of fun.
javore replied the topic: #5264 4 years 2 weeks ago
In my experience a very unbalanced scenario. 10-2 for the Russians. I will have to play again. The Russians were very lucky, though.

Random Quote

It should not be believed that a march of three or four days in the wrong direction can be corrected by a countermarch. As a rule, this is to make two mistakes instead of one. ~Napoleon