When the two French Swiss blocks are removed due to the first two being eliminated, is the French Swiss leader removed as well? I'm saying no by strict reading of the scen special rules, but it feels like it should be removed.
Spanish win 7-2 with great tactics cards. The French attack on the Spanish Left failed. The Spanish used a bayonet charge to stop momentum on the French Left. There followed some CAV attack by both on the French Left. Both sides had squares. In the end the Spanish Swiss had the upper hand. One vp for the Spanish was a French leader. At the end of the game, the French Swiss also broke.
Played this twice yesterday. In the first encounter, the French Swiss destroyed the Spanish Swiss and went on to destroy the Spanish right and centre for a 7-2 victory. In the return, the Spanish Swiss destroyed the French Swiss and went on to destroy the French left and centre, chasing the French militia off the board. They also won 7-2. In neither battle did anything significant happen on the opposite flank. In both games, the victorious side used the winning tactic of combined infantry and cavalry assaults, decimating the opposing infantry. This is a good scenario.
Played this again. This time, the battle opened with a French attack on the right flank. Spanish artillery and musketry decimated one French line unit and eliminated another. A Spanish cavalry charge was lucky enough to eliminate both French cavalry units on that flank, with the result that it looked rather weak. Meanwhile, on the left, the French launched another attack, the Swiss leading the way. Stout resistance by the Spanish Swiss and the cavalry charge referred to above, which was not met by squares for fear of a subsequent infantry attack, resulted in the loss of two French Swiss units and the consequent fleeing of the other two. Dupont's left resembled his right. With 6 banners to 2, the French position looked grim. The Spanish Swiss advanced, and skillful (read lucky) musketry eliminated the French cuirassiers for a 7-2 victory.
NB, we chose to remove Schramm when the Swiss fled. However, in the actual battle he refused to surrender, but he was wounded and captured, so perhaps we got this wrong. I suppose we were influenced by the fact that his block is red.