ancients  battlecry  napoleonics  samuraibattles  thegreatwar    tricorne  redalert  medieval Support Us

319 Wagram - Macdonald’s Square (6 July 1809)

More
5 years 4 months ago #1484 by Michalxo
Ok, that makes perfect sense now, after Mark's explanation. Exactly as I understood previously.
Thank you Mark and Bayernkini :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 3 months ago #2750 by Superman
Two questions came up during play concerning Macdonald's formation that I did not see addressed in this forum. 1) taking ground and 2) short supply.

1) Can units in the formation take ground after a successful battle? If so, do all the other units in the formation also get to move again at this time?

2) If Macdonald’s unit is short supplied is the entire formation also short supplied? If only Macdonald’s unit is sent back to the base line then I take it the formation no longer exists.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 3 months ago - 4 years 3 months ago #2751 by Bayernkini
1. Units may take ground only if the basic rules allow it, so only this unit, which battles a successful melee.
Scenario specific: The unit, which want take ground, may not break/leave the formation voluntary with this additional movement. So the unit may only take ground here, if it´s still in formation after that move.

2. Only one unit may short supplied. If MacDonalds own unit is short supplied, then the formation of the other units is broken, until MacDonald (and/or his unit) move again into formation.


And the complete MacDonald rule is indeed a unlucky one, makes to much troubles ;)

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 4 years 3 months ago by Bayernkini.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 3 months ago #2752 by Mark-McG

Superman wrote: 2) If Macdonald’s unit is short supplied is the entire formation also short supplied? If only Macdonald’s unit is sent back to the base line then I take it the formation no longer exists.


I concur with Bayernkini's post, with this addition;
MacDonald's square relies upon the existence of MacDonald, so if McDonald (and attached unit) are short supplied, then for the purposes of considering his Square, it is calculated from MacDonald's location.

So in this instance, if MacDonald moved to the base line, all other units might be detached, but other adjacent LN might join the new square. So the square still 'exists' as long as MacDonald does, even though it may have 0 units.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 2 weeks ago - 3 months 2 weeks ago #5818 by anaxam
The scenario says

Permanent Victory Banner Turn Startl

but the FAQ says

It´s a Temporary Victory Banner Objective Hex

.
Last edit: 3 months 2 weeks ago by anaxam.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 2 weeks ago #5821 by g1ul10
It's temporary, according to the FAQ.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 2 weeks ago #5822 by anaxam
of course but the scenario needs to be change.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 1 week ago #5824 by Bayernkini

of course but the scenario needs to be change.


Scenario notes fixed.

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.915 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:712
  • Latest Member:BrentS
  • Total Posts:5953
  • Total Topics:712
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:5

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1100
Mark-McG 765
Tarheel 257
TheMP 171
Achtung-Panzer 171

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 308
Mark-McG 74
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13
Barend 13

Random Quote

The most important qualification of a soldier is fortitude under fatigue and privation. Courage is only second; hardship, poverty and want are the best school for a soldier.~Napoleon