Combined arms attacks with negative dice

More
6 years 4 months ago - 6 years 4 months ago #1639 by Mark-McG
Came across a novel situation today.

A 1 strength LT Inf attacking a enemy Infantry in a town using combined Arms with a Foot Artillery at range 2.

So the LT has 1d (1 block) -2d for Town terrain = -1d
The Art has 3d -1 Town = 2d.

So the combined arms attack is how many dice?
-1d +2d = 1d
OR
0d +2d = 2d

Something that isn't covered by the rules. Do attackes bottom out at 0d, or do you work out the actual dice?

If the ART alone fired, it would be 2d, BUT no hits on sabres.

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]
Last edit: 6 years 4 months ago by Mark-McG. Reason: spelling

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 4 months ago - 6 years 4 months ago #1640 by Bayernkini

The infantry or cavalry unit determines the number of battle dice
it will roll in the melee combat including any terrain reductions.
The artillery unit determines the number of battle dice it will roll
including any terrain reductions. The artillery’s battle dice are
added to the battle dice of the friendly unit making the melee
attack. All the dice are rolled together at the same time. There
may be an occasion where the infantry or cavalry unit battle dice
result is Zero. The artillery unit engaging in combined arms will
still roll its determined number of battle dice.

In a Combined Arms Combat, even though the


If you read the rules correct (bold):

The Initial attacker (INF or CAV) determine all his battle dice complete separat, including terrain reduction. If a unit have any "minus" result, this unit have simple 0 dice, no "minus" dice are offset against to other units "plus" dice.

+

the supporting dice of ART, determine also each battle dice for each single ART, complete separate,
thats the number of battle dice.

Indifferent of the These numbers, the ART only hits with XSW, if the Initial attacker would also hit with XSW, indifferent, if the Initial attacker have 0 or -2 or -4 dice ;)

So the correct battle dice in your example =

LT has 1d (1 block) -2d for Town terrain = -1d = 0 dice

+

Art (2 hex range) has 3d -1 Town = 2d.

complete = 2 dice and because the LT would General hit with XSW, the ART hits with his 2 dice also with XSW.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 6 years 4 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Michalxo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.585 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6655
  • Total Topics:749
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:1
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:3
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 911
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

It would be a joke if the conduct of the victor had to be justified to the vanquished. ~Napoleon