If I discard a Scout card as my turn (I have no units in that section of the board that I can order) would I be correct that I only draw one card? That would seem to be similar to the "canceled by a Spanish guerrilla action" scenario.
The rules only state that if you play a card that allows you to order more units than you have available, the extra orders are lost. To me, this means if you play a scout card worth one order to a section without units, you lose the order. I do not see why this would prevent you gaining the benefit of the draw 2 and keep 1 card part of the card.
Grondeaux wrote: Hm, I'm kind of surprised by that. I thought that since I didn't play anything (no unit went on a scout) that I'd lose the benefit. Oh well, shows what I know! Thanks, guys!
The card name is often simply cosmetic. So you haven't really sent a scout out, but cautiously only ordered 1 unit - because you don't know enough about the enemy.
Alternatively your scouting produced no clear information.
A key component of C&C is the Fog of War of hand management. By issuing orders (i.e. playing a card) but choosing not to activate unit(s), or having no units to activate, is a representation of orders not getting through or being misunderstood.
My view is the draw 2 cards and choose 1 is the consolation prize for getting an otherwise poor card. It is a kind of balancing mechanism against drawing a series of dud cards, though some of us can overcome that challenge anyway.
So I think it has nothing to do with 'scouting' and is more to do with the deck management. Most likely one of RB's friends complaining about drawing 3 scout cards in a row!!
Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.