Scout

  • alecrespi
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 8 months ago #88 by alecrespi
Scout was created by alecrespi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • alecrespi
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 8 months ago #89 by alecrespi
Replied by alecrespi on topic Scout
test message linked to SCOUT cards...
From now on we can discuss tactics, usage and faq about these cards directly on its webpage.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #2345 by Grondeaux
Replied by Grondeaux on topic Scout
If I discard a Scout card as my turn (I have no units in that section of the board that I can order) would I be correct that I only draw one card? That would seem to be similar to the "canceled by a Spanish guerrilla action" scenario.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #2347 by Tarheel
Replied by Tarheel on topic Scout
The rules only state that if you play a card that allows you to order more units than you have available, the extra orders are lost. To me, this means if you play a scout card worth one order to a section without units, you lose the order. I do not see why this would prevent you gaining the benefit of the draw 2 and keep 1 card part of the card.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #2348 by Bayernkini
Replied by Bayernkini on topic Scout
Tarheel is right.
To order, move and battle is always voluntary. You have the same result, if you play
a card and do nothing, also you have unit in the section.

My dice are the hell!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grondeaux

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #2349 by Grondeaux
Replied by Grondeaux on topic Scout
Hm, I'm kind of surprised by that. I thought that since I didn't play anything (no unit went on a scout) that I'd lose the benefit. Oh well, shows what I know! Thanks, guys!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #2351 by Achtung-Panzer
Replied by Achtung-Panzer on topic Scout

Grondeaux wrote: Hm, I'm kind of surprised by that. I thought that since I didn't play anything (no unit went on a scout) that I'd lose the benefit. Oh well, shows what I know! Thanks, guys!


The card name is often simply cosmetic. So you haven't really sent a scout out, but cautiously only ordered 1 unit - because you don't know enough about the enemy.

Alternatively your scouting produced no clear information.

A key component of C&C is the Fog of War of hand management. By issuing orders (i.e. playing a card) but choosing not to activate unit(s), or having no units to activate, is a representation of orders not getting through or being misunderstood.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #2352 by Mark-McG
Replied by Mark-McG on topic Scout
My view is the draw 2 cards and choose 1 is the consolation prize for getting an otherwise poor card. It is a kind of balancing mechanism against drawing a series of dud cards, though some of us can overcome that challenge anyway.

So I think it has nothing to do with 'scouting' and is more to do with the deck management. Most likely one of RB's friends complaining about drawing 3 scout cards in a row!!

Glory is fleeting, but obscurity is forever.
[img]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.684 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:823
  • Latest Member:KryspinTrych
  • Total Posts:6660
  • Total Topics:751
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1103
Mark-McG 912
Tarheel 257
GG 180
TheMP 175

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 312
Mark-McG 81
GG 16
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13

Random Quote

In time of revolution, with perseverance and courage, a soldier should think nothing impossible.~Napoleon