Line of Sight - Collected Examples

More
7 years 6 months ago - 6 years 10 months ago #766 by Bayernkini




Well, i try to collect and show some LOS examples in CCNapo.
I will add new examples, which are coming up in future.

1. brit LN on first hill - fr LN on a lower open ground

2. brit on second hill of a hill plateau - fr LN on a lower open ground

3. brit and fr LN on same hill plateau

4. brit and fr LN on different hills - between hills open lower ground

5. brit and fr LN on same hill plateau - one side is blocked with a terrain (or unit), which blocks LOS.

6. brit LN on hill - fr LN on a lower open ground - between a terrain (or unit) which block LOS.

7. brit and LN on different hills - between a unit(or terrain) which block LOS.

8. fr FA on hill - brit LN on open lower ground - between a unit.
Attention: If FA fires no combined attack, FA have LOS to brit LN but
brit LN have no LOS to fr FA!

9. brit and fr FA on open lower ground. The small LOS is blocked on both sided with terrain (an/or units) which blocks LOS.

10. Brit FA on Hill, fr. LN and FA on open ground.
Brit FA have LOS to LN but not to fr. FA behind LN.

11. Brit FA on Hill, fr. LT on Hill on another plateau.
FA have no Los, because brit. FA is on "second" hill row on his plateau,
and the first hill row blocks the LOS to another hill plateau.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 6 years 10 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Achtung-Panzer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 6 months ago #767 by Achtung-Panzer
Can you clarify example 5 (top row):

5. brit and fr LN on same hill plateau - one side is blocked with a terrain (or unit), which blocks LOS.

So is there LOS or is it blocked. Text says No LOS but graphic says LOS. I thought that terrain on both sides of a hex edge means Blocked LOS but in your example both units are on a plateau so does this mean there is LOS?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 6 months ago #768 by Bayernkini
Yes, there is LOS, because both units are on same hill plateau, therefore, the "center" hill
dont blocks LOS.

My dice are the hell!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago - 6 years 10 months ago #904 by Empecinado

Hello. Does the line of sight artillery to light infantry?
Attachments:
Last edit: 6 years 10 months ago by Empecinado.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago - 6 years 10 months ago #905 by Achtung-Panzer
No I do not think so as the artillery cannot see over the edge of the hill. I think this is also true with C&C: Ancients.
Last edit: 6 years 10 months ago by Achtung-Panzer.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Empecinado

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago - 6 years 10 months ago #907 by Bayernkini
Bad perspective, a topview shot (best with a simple setup of a vassal module)
whould be much clear.

But the ART on "second" hill row have no LOS over there 1st hill row to the LT, which is not on same hill plateau.

Added new examples, look above, example 11 should be yours.

My dice are the hell!
Last edit: 6 years 10 months ago by Bayernkini.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Empecinado

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago #908 by Freeloading-Phill
No LOS.

A line drawn from the centre of the artillery hex to the centre of the Light infantry hex crosses the hill in front of the artillery.
As they are not on the same set of hills that hill hex will block the LOS.

Phill
The following user(s) said Thank You: Empecinado

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago #909 by Empecinado
Thank you for all.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago #910 by Achtung-Panzer
Here is another question - not about Line of Sight but the die modifiers.

The rules say -1 die for "Hill to Hill" range combat. For artillery, does this apply when firing from one hill to another, seperated by a clear hex?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago #911 by Empecinado
I think not. Only apply to shooting infantry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.624 seconds

Forum Statistics

  • Total Users:728
  • Latest Member:z2ugame
  • Total Posts:6097
  • Total Topics:711
  • Total Sections:2
  • Total Categories:14
  • Today Open:0
  • Yesterday Open:0
  • Today Answer:1
  • Yesterday Answer:0

Top Posters

Top Posters Posts
Bayernkini 1101
Mark-McG 800
Tarheel 257
TheMP 171
Achtung-Panzer 171

Top Thanks

Top Thanks Thanks
Bayernkini 308
Mark-McG 74
Grambo589 14
Grondeaux 13
Barend 13

Random Quote

You do not get peace by shouting: Peace. Peace is a meaningless word; what we need is a glorious peace. ~Napoleon