I previously asked a question about HC being able to move 3 hexes without moving into melee using the Cavalry Charge card. It was clear that this was permissable.
I now wonder about Infantry units moving 2 hexes but not going into melee using the Bayonet Charge card. I don't think that this is possible and that an Infantry unit can only be ordered if it moves into melee.
So the card can be used to simply move 4 Infantry units 2 hexes. No contact / melee is required (and range combat is not allowed). It can be a movement rather than combat card.
This may be technically correct but it seems strange to order a bayonet charge with no enemy in range. I guess it represents a charge to scare the enemy, as many units would run from a bayonet charge and not stand.
I may use a House Rule so only Infantry within 2 hexes of an enemy unit can be ordered by the Bayonet Charge card.